We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FH Calzaiuoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
Ranked #60 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I spent four nights here traveling by myself. The room was spacious, clean and very nice. The staff, especially the housekeepers and breakfast servers were cheerful and helpful. The location could not be any better, a very short stroll from the Duomo,the Uffizi, Piazza Republicana, and the Bargello- in other words, in the center of everything. I will definitely stay here again when i return with my wife. Compared to my hotel in Rome, which is nice, Hotel Calzaiuoli is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    468
    86
    33
    18
See reviews for
265
627
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

2 nights in Florence and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. This hotel was in the perfect spot!! So close to all of the city center and train station. We loved exploring the beautiful city of Florence as Calzaiuoli as our home base.
The breakfast was so amazing--probably one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. And it was complimentary! Three whole tables with different fruits, yogurts, meats, eggs, and pastries. The staff gave you coffee and tea as soon as you sat down at the table. Really just lovely.
Calzaiuoli was not at all expensive by any standards, you definitely get the bang for your buck!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at Calzaiuoli Hotel during my recent vacation with my two teens. Location was perfect - everything was close by - walking distance - even to the train station. Staff was very accommodating, rooms very comfortable, internet (I do have teens) good. Breakfast was excellent - many choices and the room was large enough for the guests. Was there for San Giovanni or Saint John Feast Day - parades came right by the hotel and the festivities nearby. Got to enjoy city living in Florence - a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Triple room was very spacious - very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_Chris_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

4 days in Florence and stayed at this hotel. Couldn't really fault it, excellent location in the centre of Florence, good room (we had the superior) at 160 Euros per night.The staff were all friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from an extraordinary vacation in Italy. In Florence, based on Trip Advisor reviews, we stayed at the Hotel Calzaiulo. It was perfect. The location was right in the middle of restaurants, cafes, stores, gelato, etc. Our room was upgraded without extra charge, the breakfasts were exceptional, and I'd recommend this hotel 100%. Hopefully we'll return to Florence one day, and when we do, we'll return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was lovely. It is really central so you walk out of the hotel doors and many sightseeing features are a few blocks away. The hotel was very clean and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good with a lot of choice. Just don't wait to be seated as they leave you to it which is fine so long as you know. Overall would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which is probably better as the hotel is situated on a busy street and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Calzaiuoli Hotel is located about as centrally in Florence as it gets. The minute you step out of the hotel you're in the middle of all the action and just minutes from the Duomo, the Uffizi, restaurants, shopping, and the train station. Of course, if you're looking for a calmer setting, this might not be your place - the area around the hotel is pretty crowded from early morning until late at night.

The hotel itself is fairly modern and clean. The front desk staff are friendly and all speak English. You are given breakfast each morning which is nothing to write home about but is a nice feature.

The only warning I'd give, and the reason I didn't give the hotel five stars, is to avoid rooms on the first floor. They are all on the path between the kitchen and the dining room and breakfast preparations begin around 6AM. We stayed in room 103 and were woken up at 6:15 or so by the sounds of crashing dishes and people talking in the hall. We asked the hotel staff to move us and they did without a problem. The second night on the second floor was much better.

Overall a great place to stay if you're visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#12 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#113 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Calzaiuoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Calzaiuoli Hotel

Property: FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 6, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#76 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Calzaiuoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calzaiuoli is a 4 stars hotel in the historical centre of Florence, 2 minutes walk from Uffizi Gallery and from Cathedral and 10 minutes walk from train station.53 Rooms, wifi connection free, continental buffett breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your FH Calzaiuoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calzaiuoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing