We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Ranked #55 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I want to give the Plaza Lucchesi the highest compliments in every category, as its service far exceeded our expectations. Or room was clean and very adequate ( it was a triple room) with a large bathroom with all amenities. The breakfast service in the morning was excellent ( better than any breakfast service with other hotels) and we especially enjoyed the service and friendliness of their concierge, Michelle. He was delightful and obviously enjoys his job very much. The location of the hotel is wonderful, directly on the Main Street that borders the Arno and has great access to everything by foot. It's a great find for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    399
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
321
650
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

HOTEL REVIEW # 206

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences. We stayed at this hotel to be with our friends.

LOCATION: Good. I liked being on the river making for a great view and the hotel easier to find. A bit on one end of the tourist area but still feels like close to everything.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We took an official taxi from the airport.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Water View. Our room was much bigger than the other room we say that had a balcony and view of a church/tower.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was OK, nothing special and sheets were fine (not luxurious) and the pillows were lumpy and a bit thick for us.

LIGHTING: Fine throughout room.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom was very basic and shower had good pressure and consistent temperature. One room had a shower in the middle of the bathtub facing the curtain (on the long wall) which our friends didn’t like. Ours was setup with the shower on the short wall in the shower area to make more room in the bathtub.

TOILETRIES: Seemed fine but nothing special.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel was very clean but needed some touch up paint and some freshening up.

A/C: Worked well.

STYLE OF ROOM: Basic but comfortable.

COMMON AREA: The common area was OK. Definitely does not seem to be very new. There is a bar hidden in the back of the lobby (we didn’t see it at first).

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Water view room is less quiet than the other side but closing the window made the room quiet. The morning sunlight could be blocked by closing the curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast was included and had eggs, meats, and cereals. Food was mediocre quality and one employee was a bit rude on several occasions.

TV/INTERNET: TV was incredibly small and internet was at no charge with OK reception in the room.

SERVICE: Staff were all very helpful and nice.

SUMMARY: Enjoyable stay at a fairly basic 4* hotel. Probably a good deal for the price but I would prefer staying somewhere a bit nicer that costs a little more.

Room Tip: River view is nice but can be a bit loud with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I read the reviews here and decided to give this hotel a try and in my opinion, it's great. I enjoyed my stay at Lucchesi. We put up for one night and travel to Venice the next day before returning to Florence again the day after for another 3 nights. We left our big luggages with the front desk.

If you arrived Florence by train, just take a cab to Lucchesi. It will take only about 8 min drive and cost below 15 Euro.

The hotel is located along the Arno River, right across Piazzale Michaelangelo which is on the other side of the river. Lucchesi is also within15 min walk to Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. Other than these mentioned attractions, we walked to other places of interests too. Because just like any part of Europe, you are able to reach these historical attractions as long as you have a map in your hand and a pair of good walking shoes, really.

The rooms that we had were spacious, clean and over-looking the Arno River. It's an old-styled hotel and its just what I wanted. The staffs were helpful, polite and sincere. Breakfast is quite about the same for most hotels in Europe so don't expect a wide spread. Having said that, the scramble eggs were one of the best we had and they could serve omelette upon request.

Some may not fancy the bathroom because of the narrow bathtubs. To take a shower, you have got to stand inside the tub (for the rooms I have, unsure of other rooms). Water likely to splash outside of the tub cos the glass shower screen is only half of its length.

Overall, I would recommend Lucchesi to fellow travelers who are planning their trip to Florence. I'm not picky and this is not W. Hence I didn't expect extraordinary services and so there weren't any disappointments. Staffs were not extremely friendly but everything was just right. If the staffs weren't attentive enough for you, just ask for what you need or want, they are a friendly bunch.
IMO, the price is reasonable and good value for money. I love it that the hotel is along the river. To walk back to Lucchesi at night along the river was simply great. It made me fell in love with Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I'm frankly stunned this hotel is not in the top 10 in Florence. We stayed at the Hotel Casci #12 the last time in Florence and the Lucchesi is superior in every way. This is a fabulous hotel in a fabulous city. The location is spectacular right next to the Arno and Basilica of Santa Croce.
I picked up a new car in Germany and was a little concerned about parking in Florence for 4 days. The hotel has a safe parking garage under the building for a reasonable daily charge. The rooms were great and the staff was super friendly. It has that old world charm without feeling like you’re staying at your grandmother’s house. The breakfast was a very respectable European breakfast. This hotel is a great value and would be my first choice for my next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here with a friend last weekend for 4 nights. The staff were very helpful, making restaurant reservations, booking taxis etc. Our room didn't have a view - it faced into a small yard. At first we were disappointed but the advantage was that the room was very quiet - no noise from outside & we slept really well. It has a traditional classic Italian feel - good quality everywhere. The price was very reasonable & the breakfast was good, fruit salad with lovely blood oranges, bacon & eggs, ham & cheeses, small fresh rolls but toast & cappucinos available on demand and reasonable English tea. The hotel is well-positioned, the dining room overlooks the Arno and the Uffizi is very nearby. We made the mistake of walking there from the station, 25 mins, but it was very hot that Friday so we got the taxi back to the station when we left - about 10 euros. The staff were very well trained, smiley & helpful, would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjuliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Staff unfriendly and unhelpful! There is no room service! In the shower there is only a trickle of water! When I had read the good reviews on trip advisor I choose to stay there only to regret it later! Unless you enjoy staying in a hotel that is old with unfriendly staff and in shower where you have to dance around to get wet! I would then recommend this hotel for you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Msmishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Plaza Lucchesi Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor User,

We are sorry to learn you did not like your stay at the Plaza Lucchesi.

I am very surprised your main concerns were on our staff courtesy which has always been considered (with the views) the must of the hotel.

Our company took the management of the hotel only last january and the property will have a massive renovation next winter. I will investigate on the problem with the shower but I have to say I do not have any details for a further investigation.

Best regards

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duleek, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

A lovely hotel, great spacious room with a really good shower. Didn't get a river view but our window looked out on the church and the duomo. Breakfast was nice. There is no restaurant here but its not a problem as we were in Florence!! The staff were amazing and so friendly and helpful, recommending restaurant, making bookings, helping with bags etc. Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Lucchesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Property: Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Address: 38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
#41 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Lucchesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Lucchesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Lucchesi Florence
Hotel Plaza Lucchesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing