We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Location In Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Ranked #52 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Perfect Location In Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

On our first trip to Florence for two nights (01/22-24/14), we hit it out of the park with our choice of the Plaza Lucchesi. The location is perfect for seeing Florence. Located on right on the river, the views from the front of the hotel overlooking the Tuscan scenery and buildings of Florence are beyond picturesque. Everything is a short 5-15 minute walk from the hotel, from the Ponte Vecchio to the Duomo, you don't need to stay any where else.

The hotel is classic in its decor, with a very comfortable and traditional lobby, restaurant and bar. The staff is courteous, professional and more than happy to assist with directions or recommendations for dining or tours. Also, the hotel is very quiet, and we could not hear any noise from the streets from our room or the lobby.

Our room was a suite on the 1st, technically 2nd floor, at the front of the hotel overlooking the river, and it was almost too big for the two of us! The downstairs sitting room was a nice rest spot in between trips to the city, the two bathrooms (one up one down) were also a nice and unexpected convenience. The decor was traditional Italian, with a tall opening window looking out onto the river. The bedroom and bed upstairs was perfect and very comfortable.

All in all, I could not find a fault with this hotel. We were extremely satisfied and very happy with our choice. If we ever visit Florence again, I would not hesitate to book another stay at the Lucchesi.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor, room 108, was a two story suite with fantastic views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atlmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    405
    116
    43
    25
See reviews for
330
671
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend in February and, as I was hoping to propose, I wanted somewhere both nice and geographically convenient! Happily this ticked both boxes!

Florence isn't a large city so being situated right in the centre and on top of the Arno was awesome and allows you to easily find all the main attractions by foot.

The hotel staff were really welcoming on our arrival and spoke English without making me feel especially stupid after my attempt at Italian! Our room was large and clean and, whilst we didn't get a view of the Arno, we did get one of the Santa Croce Church. In fact this may have worked in our favour as it puts you at the back of the hotel and means you're away from the main road which has a pretty constant flow of traffic. I'm not sure how noisy it is if you're overlooking the river but we certainly never heard anything from our room!

All in all it was exactly what we were after. A very friendly hotel with nice rooms, a great location and tasty food.

Oh, and she said yes so that was an added bonus! I highly recommend the Ponte Vecchio for evening proposals if you can find a moment when the bridge is empty (which we did). Thanks Florence!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January 2014. The hotel is located across the road from the river and we were lucky enough to have a room with a view over the river. The hotel is within walking distance to all major sites in Florence and we were able to shop, visit sites, walk back and rest at the hotel then walk back into the main shopping area - very convenient. We had a lovely breakfast with a choice of continental, hot food, fruits and breads/cheeses etc. The hotel itself. was beautiful and clean. The staff were outstanding, lots of information on arrival and lots of assistance when needed. The rooms are large and very comfortable. There are a great choice of restaurants close by and at a reasonable price. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough and would certainly stay again on return to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was walking distance to all major sites in Florence. We got a room for 3 people, and it was pretty big, with 2 TVs and a view of Santa Croce Church. The breakfast had a good variety of hot food and the breakfast room had a nice view of the river. We didn't face any problems at all :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted with a double upgrade giving us a 2 level suite overlooking the Arno River. At first we thought this was an out of the way location because it is not in the central business district but we soon found it was perfect. From this location you can easily visit the Michael Angelo statue overlooking all of Florence. Within 1/2 hour walk you can see all of the key sites and visit many excellent eateries. The room was very clean. The staff was outstanding. We had a problem with our in room vault and quickly had 3 people assisting us to open it. That was followed by a complementary bottle of champaign in the hotel bar with nicely entertainment . We will insist on staying here once again if we return to florencr

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent nine days in late November/early December at the Plaza Lucchesi Hotel in Florence. We have stayed there numerous times, most recently two years ago, also in November. We reviewed the hotel previously, but wanted to provide an updated review for anyone seeking lodging in Florence.

The location is perfect-right on the Arno, with wonderful views of sunrises and sunsets for those who request a river view. We were three this time and reserved one of the duplex rooms. This type of room has a half bath on the main floor and a full bath with tub and shower off the bedroom in the loft area. Plenty of closet space both above and below, a safe, and a mini-bar that we used to refrigerate items. We often left the huge window slightly ajar at night as the hotel tends to be toasty warm and we like things a bit cooler. There can be noise from the street below and people leaving watering holes in the early morning hours, but this can be mitigated completely with ear plugs. The beds are deliciously comfortable, even the cot that was made up in the main level for our third person. Upstairs beds are twins that can be made up as twins or a king. We each had a luxurious terry bathrobe. Plenty of plush towels and excellent maid service. The main level has a television, love seat, chair, desk and chair, and coffee table, so it is quite comfortable for relaxing, reading, etc. And there is a television on the loft level as well. Even though we were out much of the time exploring Florence and environs, the room was welcoming and spacious enough that we never felt closed in.

The Lucchesi recently underwent a change of ownership and we felt the changes were quite positive from a guest perspective. The emphasis on customer service seems to be quite intense. We have always enjoyed our encounters with the staff there, but this time they appeared to have a renewed focus on customer care. They were very kind when I attempted to communicate in my clumsy Italian. (You will have no problem if you do not speak a word of Italian, as everyone speaks English and often several other languages as well. I just wanted to practice my Italian.)

As an aside, one thing Americans need to consider when traveling abroad for the first time is that culturally Americans tend to be friendly to everyone, while Europeans are a bit more reserved and this holds true for people you encounter in every walk of life and every European country I have ever visited.

The staff at the Lucchesi are business-like but wonderful. Lots of humor and a sincere desire to help. They also handled a very demanding and unpleasant guest beautifully. Michele, the chief concierge, arranged a driver for us for a day visit to San Gimignano and Siena (we couldn't take the bus tour for a variety of reasons). The driver was wonderful and we were able to design the day exactly as we wanted it. Better than renting a car and dealing with Florence traffic and the Autostrada. And although expensive, a pretty good value if you consider the cost for three for a standard bus tour.

The hotel restaurant, La Serra, is open from 7 am to 10:30 am with a reinvigorated buffet. Scrambled eggs, quiche, sausage, bacon, a variety of rolls, croissants, fresh fruits, juice, coffee, vegetables, cheeses, deli type meats, and desserts will please the most discerning of diners. The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner, but we did not eat there this time except for breakfast. Our experience in the past, though, has been that these meals are wonderful. And the restaurant itself is lovely, with river views.

The hotel lobby is beautiful as well, and spacious, although we rarely spend any time there because of the seating area in our room. There is free wi-fi in the rooms, which is a big plus.

It is about a ten-minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi and the heart of the city. The hotel is in the Santa Croce neighborhood, three blocks from the church of Santa Croce and its piazza. There are many wonderful restaurants within a few blocks, several small convenience stores where you can purchase drinks, snacks, etc. and a take out pizza place (pizza to die for) is just two blocks from the hotel near an ATM. Stores abound, both off the piazza and in the streets leading away from the piazza going towards the Ponte Vecchio. Our favorite is a gift shop just steps from the hotel which offers a variety of items. This store is owned by a wonderful couple. You can wend your way from Piazza Santa Croce to Piazza della Signoria and then to Piazza della Repubblica.

Florence is definitely a walking city. Advise excellent walking shoes for the cobblestones (I like Merrills best) and a plan that allows you to start at the farthest point and work your way back to the hotel. We took a taxi one day to the farthest point and then walked back, stopping at our other points along the way. A wonderful feature in Florence is stone benches at each of the major piazzas, which can be quite helpful if your back or feet need a rest. Taxis can be found at a few points in the city, mostly near piazzas, but you cannot hail a cab as you can in many U.S. cities. Your hotel and restaurants can call for taxis for you, as well.

We were there again for the German Christmas Market in Piazza Santa Croce. This market features vendors from a variety of European countries offering food, drink and products for purchase. There is music and Florentines gather to eat and enjoy the scene. I particularly enjoyed the jazz trio one afternoon-set up just in front of the church on a cloudless sunny day playing wonderful music against the backdrop of the market, the church and the statue of Dante. Divine.

We are already planning a return trip to our favorite city in the world. That return trip will definitely include the Plaza Lucchesi.

Room Tip: River view rooms can be noisy (advise bringing earplugs if you sleep with window ajar) but the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OHRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My friend and I traveled to Florence early in November 2013 on our first ever "abroad" trip. Our travel agent suggested Plaza Lucchesi because of it's location. She was "spot on"! Not only was the hotel on the Arno but we were upgraded to a beautiful 2-story room with a beautiful view and a huge double window that opened to the street below. We felt like royalty and were treated as such. The breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations and we were greeted with a smile every morning by Argjeno, one of the young servers in the beautiful restaurant. The location was perfect for walking everywhere we needed to go. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Florence!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Lucchesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Property: Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Address: 38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
#41 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Lucchesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Lucchesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Lucchesi Florence
Hotel Plaza Lucchesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing