We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Ranked #54 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a few days in April and were very pleased with everything about it. The hotel is in a great location,on the bank of the Arno and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Florence. It has a charming faded elegance about it and our room was perfect for a few days stay. The Chandelier was magnificent and the bathroom enormous.The dining room is at the front of the building so breakfast was taken overlooking the river and up to the Piazzale Michelangelo. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, both hot and cold. All in all we had a lovely time here and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view across The Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Plaza Lucchesi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your positive review with all the readers of Tripadvisor.

We are truly pleased that your expectations were satisfied and that you loved your room with its spacious bathroom and our breakfast room/restaurant facing the river.

We are very glad you recommend our Hotel Plaza Lucchesi to all people who decide to spend their time for the next travel in Florence!!

Kind regards.

Hope see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a classical building overlooking the River Arno. There are four floors and at they are just finishing the process of building a pool and roof terrace bar. The rooms either overlook the river or the Dome and city. Some have small balconies. Both sides are good but there is traffic on the river side and, if you leave the windows open, mosquitoes both sides at this time of the year!!!!! Our room was on the fourth floor and had been newly decorated with large flatscreen tv on the wall. It was always cleaned thoroughly and sheets changed daily. A turndown service was also available. There is a vey pleasant sitting area and bar downstairs. The hotel restaurant also served an excellent buffet breakfast and the dinner menu (we dined there twice) was varied and good. Their risottos and steak were especially good and tables overlook the River Arno. The reception staff - in fact all the staff in the hotel - we're very pleasant and helpful. It is a short walk to all the museums and for sightseeing it is in an ideal location. All in all a good boutique hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Member888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a room with no light as the only windows looked out onto a light shaft full of scaffolding and the kitchen exhaust. The air conditioning only ram on fan so circulated air but did not cool the room. Informed reception but they merely looked at it and did nothing. The hair dryer did not work properly as it was a relic from the 1960's as is the hotel with all the staff in white jackets.

The staff were friendly enough and from the other reviews the rooms overlloking the river seem fine just do not stay in their Classic rooms

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I can not say enough great things about this hotel and their staff. I have already made my reservations for when I go back to Florence next spring. The hotel is just gorgeous, the view was stunning and the room had just been refurbished, so it was just perfect! The staff did EVERYTHING they could to assist us - getting cabs, giving directions and recommendations and everyone was extremely friendly every single time we walked in the door. The bar was also quite nice, but the real gem is the restaurant and wait staff in the hotel. We had dinner there 3x because the service was just impeccable and the food was perfect from the first bite to the last. I can not say enough about our Maitre d - he is from another generation where service and class are the way things are done. Just a perfect trip from the beginning to end - I get misty eyed just wishing I was back there right now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are one of those picky American families who did a lot of research before booking our hotels. Didn't want too small, didn't want too old, wanted clean and convenient and definitely wanted a nice helpful and friendly staff......we got ALL of that at Plaza Lucchesi Hotel. We had 4 in our room and booked the duplex. After being in smaller rooms for 8 days this was such a joy to spread out onto 2 floors. WORTH EVERY DIME if you are traveling as a family. My kids were thrilled to have the extra space and chill time w/ the free wifi. The room was VERY nice and clean. The views from our room were incredible, and we loved coming back at the end of the day to open the big double windows to look at the Arno River and views (don't keep the windows open @ night bc of bugs). The staff was BEYOND helpful & nice! They communicated with us before our stay on various questions.....their replies were always immediate. Their breakfast (included in the rate) was one of the best we had at any of our hotels. I'm not sure why there are some poor reviews about this hotel......I realize that not everyone has the same experience...just wondering if it's people that aren't used to European hotels or if there are different room types that don't afford the space and views we had because we were 2 families who had the same room type and were very happy. Bottom line: Loved this hotel and their staff!

It's very easy to walk/navigate around Florence/Firenze. We recommend an excellent guide company Miles & Miles....they only do private tours though. They are family owned, have nice/big mercedes vans, excellent guides (I will list their contact info @ the bottom...I have 0 connection
w/ them other then using them to see the sites in Florence & Rome). Mario & Fabio were our guides. Fabio is very fun if you have any age kids.....he joked around and had fun with 5 teenagers that were together (we had 3 families touring together).

There are 2 fantastic restaurants in the square right by the hotel. One for Florence's famous T-bone steak (you share a 2+ pound steak.....was the most fun my kids had for dinner), and the other for great appetizers & pasta

Few extra tips:
-Taxi from hotel to train station 10-15 euro
-Accademia and Basilica offer discounts for children under 18. I'm sure others do as well.
-BEWARE of the gypsies ...especially at the train station Do not let anyone help you with your bags if you are taking the train. You may even have to yell at them. It's a huge issue in Venice, Florence, Rome etc. But, you don't need to be scared only stay away from them. They look like regular people "just trying to help"
-If you go to a restaurant that you order the T-bone they say not to eat anything else such as appetizers, side dishes etc.
-If you are also going to Rome I can give info on that...been there 3x just private message me. It is a HUGE city and you need a plan before you go. Don't try and pack too much into 1 day is my best advice!! Exhausting, but amazing as well!
-If you are taking the train reserve in advance. I recommend 1st or Business class for the luggage space. Book seats that have a table in between if you are more then 2 ppl. You can play cards, spread out etc (book direct through Italian Rail Trenitalia http://www.trenitalia.com/cms/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=4ddd1a035296f310VgnVCM1000005817f90aRCRD)


Miles & Miles Tour Guide Contact Info
Via Carlo Tincani 2b,
00166 Rome, Italia
Cell +39.331.466.4900
Cell. +39.340.240.5540
Cell. +39.335.663.8184
www.milesandmiles.net
info@milesandmiles.net
Miles&Miles - PRIVATE TOURS - Tours of Rome, Florence, Naples and Venice
www.milesandmiles.net

Have fun!!

Room Tip: Deluxe 2 Floor Suites are on the 1st floor. On the street side. We didn't have any issue with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank georgiapeache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel was very nice and we had a large room with windows that opened right to the river. We were on the second floor, which is the 3rd floor in USA, as the first floor in Italy is labeled 0. Recommend you get the superior room with river view.

The rooms could probably use a little updating before too long, but everything was clean and functional.

They had a nice bottle of wine and 2 glasses on the table in our room when we arrived. The staff was velry accomodating and courteous to us. This hotel is bigger than the other two boutique hotels we stayed in while in Italy, so sometimes we had to wait a little for help with questions we had from staff. But we were in no hurry. They gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. One restaurant we ended up eating at twice!
e.
The breakfast is included with the room price and was a very nice (American style) buffet with lots of room for the guests to sit down and eat.

We would recommend this as a good value proposition in Florenc

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room might be small, but the service is huge. The hotel is 10minutes from the Ponte Vecchio, but a short walk to all of the major attractions. The staff was warm and helpful, always ready to offer suggestions and make the stay memorable.
Firenze is one of my favorite cities and it never fails to amaze me with its beauty. This hotel is a gem of a find.

Room Tip: The interior rooms are quieter, so don't be afraid to turn down a room with a view of the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auntielbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,539 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#56 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 410 in Florence
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Lucchesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Address: 38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#41 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £108 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Lucchesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Lucchesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Lucchesi Florence
Hotel Plaza Lucchesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing