We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Ranked #52 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Plaza Lucchesi for the last few nights of our honeymoon and found it to be beautiful, clean, and in an ideal location. It was a quiet location but very close to all of the sites you might want to visit while staying in Florence. The staff was very kind to send us a bottle of champagne to congratulate and welcome us. Our room overlooked the river and had a great view. The rooftop pool/bar offers spectacular views as well. The breakfast was very nice as well. Most of the staff was friendly. The biggest exception was the head concierge. We did not get his name and although he was thorough and informative, I would not call him friendly. He did give us a map and circled places we should see and gave us directions but another time when I approached him to ask a question, he answered but did not look up from his computer. He never made eye contact and then took a phone call in the middle of our conversation and simply dismissed me. Another drawback is that the walls are paper thin. We could hear every footstep, toilet flush, door slam, and conversation of our neighbors. Aside from that, the room was beautifully decorated and clean. We would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCamarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    420
    123
    45
    25
See reviews for
352
724
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Absolutely perfect hotel in Florence, just hundred steps from all major tourist attractions like ponte vecchio, duomo, piazza signoria, santa croce, pitti palace. And from the rooftop you will see the marvelous beauty of Florence at 360 degrees. Amazingly panoramic and romantic hotel in Florence. Friendly staffs and great food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigsDeManille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Plaza Lucchesi Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share his experience at the Plaza Hotel Lucchesi. Your kind words are a great help to our staff as it means we are doing a good job.

Hoping to have you again soon our guest

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in one of the few riverside rooms. It was clean and spacious for two people. We had plenty of closet/drawer space for our belongings and luggage. The bed and pillows were comfortable, linens were soft, the bathroom was larger than I expected but the shower stall itself was tiny. My husband ordered flowers, wine and a cheese platter ahead of time for me - they hit the mark on all three! As if all this wasn't enough, we had a large walkout balcony, overlooking the Arno River and Tuscan countryside. This is where my romance with Florence begins...

The staff was friendly, eager to help whenever had a need. There is no A/C - only the elevator and hallways suffered higher temps. We were out of the room most of the time but in the evenings we were always cool enough. We left the door to the balcony open, the river below provided the perfect lullaby each night.

The Lucchesi's close proximity to the nearby sites is ideal, especially for first time tourists. We walked everywhere! We enjoyed our stay, would definitely recommend. I hope to return one day!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Plaza Lucchesi Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

I want to thank you for sharing your opinion with the readers of tripadvisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed the cleaning of the room and the friendliness of our staff wich is always ready and attentive to the needs of the customer.

I'm sorry that there was a problem with the air conditioning in your room and if our staff had been warned of this lack we would have done everything possible to remedy since during your stay I can assure you that our system of AC was on in all the hotel.

In any case I feel good when thanks to this little problem you said that the river sound opening your window was kind of lullaby to give you a nice night!!!!

Hoping to give you soon again our welcome in Plaza Hotel Lucchesi ,

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here in July/August 2012, but could not go back that long. Our room was splendid. It was extremely spacious with 1 room and a sitting area that accomodated a small sofa for our son to sleep in. The view from our room was Santa Croce's bell tower, and was amazing. The hotel is about a 15 min. walk to Ponte Vecchio and the surrounding areas. Right across the river is Piazza Michaelangelo; which is a must do at night. It is very lively, and a nice place to dine and experience the Italian culture. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and nice. Eventhough, the hotel is walking distance to the "bustle" of Florence, we would take cabs to the train station and back. We never had issues getting a cab. Our stay included the breakfast which was outstanding with eggs, bacon, toast, potatoes etc. It was a great way to fill up before beginning our sightseeing. This hotel is clean, comfortable, and far away enough from all the hustle yet close enough to it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: room with a view of Santa Croce
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Plaza Lucchesi Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear user of TA,

First of all thanks for your kind review. We hope to have you and your family soon our guests so you can see our improvements as our Empireo Bar and Pool in our roof from wich you will have a really nice view of all the highlights of Florence as you never seen.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. They upgraded us without even asking to a two level river view room which was perfect for my husband and I and out teenage son. The river view was great. Even better was the view from the roof top pool. It was nice having the pool to come back to for a quick cool off between sites. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly and accommodating. I liked being out of the main tourist area but close enough to be walking distance. If I come back to Florence I would definitely stay at Plaza hotel Lucchesi!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaNJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed in Florence for 4 nights at the Hotel Plaza Lucchesi with our two teenage chidlren. We had requested interconnecting rooms when we made the reservations back in Janurary. When I went to confirm a week prior to our stay I was told they would try their best to accommodate our request. After a few email confirmations back and forth they finally committed to guaranteeing our rooms to be interconnecting. We arranged for transportation from the train station and were met by the taxi driver as scheduled at the end of the platform. Our rooms were ready upon arrival. We had upgraded to Superior but they were small in comarison to the Superior updgrades we had in other hotels in Venice and Rome. The hotel itself is "quaint" but a bit dated in carpeting/furnishings/ interior. The bathrooms were very small compared to other hotel bathrooms we had at our other hotels and there was not a shower curtain or door on the end of ths shower so we alway had water spray out onto the floor. When we checked in we were not offered a map or suggesetions on where to go we had to ask for a walking map of Florence. The staff was pleasant but not the friendliest we encounterd during our stay in Italy. Had alot of problems with the free Wifi. The positive things about this hotel- we had a nice bottle of red wine in the room upon check in, we had a wonderful river view, the rooftop bar had wonderful views of Florence, the breakfast was one of the best ones offered at the hotels we stayed at: best selection of fresh fruit, always stocked, hot food was hot and cold food was cold. The croissants were amazing. Within walking distance of many main attractions. Rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: River view is a wonderful view. Upgrade to Superior for the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

In our travels, the staff here was the friendliest. Romano, the concierge, was amazing and worked his magic to get us booked on a last minute tour to Pisa. He also recommended an excellent restaurant for our first lunch in Florence. There was another concierge but I never got his name(he wore wire rimmed reading glasses in a reddish hue). Anyway, he was extremely helpful also. Beautiful rooftop pool with amazing views!

Room Tip: Rms 125 and 225 were at the top of the staircase. Both are triples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela Christop... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,930 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
779 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,629 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Lucchesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Property: Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Address: 38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
#41 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Lucchesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Plaza Lucchesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Lucchesi Florence
Hotel Plaza Lucchesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing