We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good overall!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B4 Astoria Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B4 Astoria Firenze
Ranked #144 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Heacham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a small but quiet room (211) with a good bathroom. We heard nothing of the neighbours, just the odd earth shattering rattle from above (some sort of luggage or laundry trolley we guessed).

The breakfast was varied and fine for me, but we ate elsewhere other times. If you want an English or American breakfast, remember you are in ITALY and so you will not get one!

Ditto to those who say the rooms are dated, this is an ancient Italian palazzo, and just what I would expect. (Even better, as we had a frescoe on our wall!)

The rooftop terrace was incredible - take your camera!

Good overall, but not wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a small but quiet room (211). We heard nothing of the neighbours, just the odd earth shatteri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyseasidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    339
    183
    82
    65
See reviews for
134
389
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Beautifully appointed hotel, with unique plaster ceiling moldings. Only complaint was lack of ice. Although the staff at front desk and housekeeping were helpful and very friendly, some of the staff in the rooftop Bar were rude and less than helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room which does not overlook via del Giglio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is a real reflection of the city. It is architecturally beautiful, friendly and clean, just like the city itself. The bedroom was well appointed and the hotel is very conveniently situated. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping spot on.The station, the Duomo and good restaurants and bars are all a few steps away. The only negative I have is the breakfast which was unimaginative and not worth leaving my comfortable bed for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conqueror17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here and had a perfect experience except for one thing. The maid stole one set of earphones from the room. They had already been in there for the day and then we checked in and left and they were gone when we came back. They denied it but were very nice about it. Besides that, it was a gorgeous hotel...the best one we stayed at in Italy. It is an old castle and is just gorgeous. No breakfast included, but that is ok. Perfect location, huge room, huge bathroom with double sinks, a safe to lock things up (do it!) and wonderfully nice staff. I am sure the stealing was a fluke but still I wanted to warn. Only wifi in the lobby. No AC this time of year so the window has to be left open. It was fine except there was a sewer smell. Otherwise good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyLover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in Europe which included several days at the Boscolo Astoria in Florence. This is a beautiful hotel, very close to the train station, just a couple of blocks from the Duomo, and restaurants and shopping right out the front door. Also a convenient laundromat within walking distance. Sabina at reception was so gracious and helpful, we felt welcome the moment we arrived. We would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I travelled to the beautiful city of Florence in April 2014 and stayed for a week at the Astoria in Florence. I was initially concerned because of some of the reviews on here but quite frankly people must do nothing but moan! It was beautiful, the staff amazing and completely looked after me! I travelled on my own and they really looked after me. I ate out every night but had breakfast and that too was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough. My room was clean and fresh linen on my bed everyday…bathroom was lovely and tidy for me too. Honestly, can't grumble at all plus a beautiful view of the Duomo!…..literally around the corner from the hotel. Stunning views and I shall be returning.

Room Tip: I had a double deluxe room on the 5th floor….stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely hotel. The cleaning staff are to be commended for the condition of the rooms every day. The staff were helpful and pleasant and it is a great location for the railway and the city centre. The beds were a little hard for us but it didn't stop us getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#193 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#106 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Astoria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Astoria Firenze

Property: B4 Astoria Firenze
Address: Via del Giglio 9, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Astoria Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is the ideal choice for your stay: you'll be accommodated in the rooms of the Palazzo Gaddi and Palazzo Arrighetti, historic buildings belonging to noble Florentine families, where art recounts the passage of centuries every step of the way. Indeed, it was while living at Palazzo Gaddi that the great English author John Milton found inspiration for his masterpiece, Paradise Lost, and in these very rooms that he wrote it. The noble past of Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is also reflected in its location: the church of Santa Maria Novella, abounding in great art, is right nearby (as is the convenient railway station with the same name), and a short stroll will take you directly to Florence's historic centre. An undeniable advantage that puts the most beautiful areas of the city right at your fingertips. The prestigious salons of the luxury Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze, decorated in original Florentine Baroque style, are the perfect backdrop for important events. The restaurant will pamper you with typical Tuscany and Mediterranean dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B4 Astoria Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing