We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B4 Astoria Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B4 Astoria Firenze
Ranked #148 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Webster City, IA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations! 5 minutes or less from the train station. When you first walk into this hotel, it is just grand in every way from the authentic Italian decor, the friendliness of staff and just the comfortable feel you get. We had a room with a little balcony and the view of Florence and the Duomo was beautiful. Our room was very nicely sized, decorated, clean and so quiet. The breakfast room was amazing. To be honest, I spent more time just taking in the beauty than actually eating. The reception staff was so helpful and always asking if there was anything else they could do or help with. A tip: no matter what floor you are on, take the stairs-you will see so much more of the hotel and decor. It was a perfect stay and if we are ever fortunate enough again to go to Florence, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    346
    184
    83
    67
See reviews for
139
394
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was going to be arriving in Florence by train & liked that this hotel was near the station. I know that areas around train stations are not always the best, but the photos of the hotel looked appealing. Upon arriving, the hotel was easy to find & only a 5 minute walk from the station. I was not disappointed in my choice of hotel, in fact, I felt I had found a gem. Great price & wow, for the view of the Duomo on the rooftop! Really enjoyed going up there at night & having a glass of wine & looking at the Duomo.
The breakfast room was absolutely beautiful & a great selection of breakfast foods ~ meats, cheeses & so much more!
My room was #312 & looked out onto a terrace. I stayed here alone for four nights & slept like a baby every night, the hotel was very quiet. My room was clean & the bathroom spacious.
I cannot say enough for this lovely boutique hotel & the location was perfect. The decor really made you feel you were in Italy with its arched columns, statues & art work. Can't wait to return here with my husband & enjoy a glass of wine with him on the rooftop overlooking the Duomo at night!

Room Tip: 502 probably has the best view of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Upon entry the lobby area is quite stunning. Very convenient location, close to the main train station, which was a plus as it was convenient when taking a day trip to Pisa. Also within walking distance to the town centre, Duomo, Ponte del Vecchio and other main attractions. Classic design with original Frescos, that although as some have stated is worn in places, im not sure what else you would expect from such an old building.you cant have all modernity and retain classic charm, so ill take the charm anyday. Staff were very friendly, even recommending their own personal favorite restaurants for us. Room itself was spacious and comfortable, so all in all a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We wanted authentic Italian not you regular travel hotel. The Boscolo Hotel Astoria is truly authentic! The decor, atmosphere all of it! Truly beautiful!!! The staff are so nice, the breakfast is wonderful! Loved it! Great location to Duomo, train.....you name it! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

It has a good location situated very near the train station and tour departure points (saw a few tour groups including mine near the train station) which was very convenient. I basically covered most major parts of florence city by walking. The room was quiet, acceptable and clean. The staffs were friendly and helpful.

The negative part is there were some wear and tear which was also highlighted by others. I am not a very particular person and i could live with it. The shower door in my room was broken and could not close, there were water stains near the air condition vents, the hair dryer was working but part of it was broken and there is no wifi in the rooms (i would prefer a hotel with wifi in this era) however i bought a sim card with data and sorted my problems. There is wifi in the lobby. Notwithstanding the negatives i could live with it.

Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the central area of Florence, a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the Duomo, so it is pretty much ideally located.

Some of the rooms have a view of the Duomo, such as the low 400s and 500s. There is also a roof terrace bar with a great view.

However I would not stay here again, and here's why:

The hotel is very much a 'faded splendour' place, with musty carpets and a general feeling of wear and tear. The breakfast room is truly magnificent with a huge painted ceiling. However in there, as in reception and on the roof, they play a local radio station all day long, pumping out pop music. There is something very incongruous about checking into a hotel in a marbled lobby to a backing track by Michael Jackson.

The lobby is the only place in the hotel where wifi is available. It is free, but quite patchy, and only works in the main part of the lobby by the reception desks. As a result, the three sofas are usually full of people checking their email and to use it you often have to stand there.

There is no, repeat NO wifi available in the rooms.

The glass shelf in my bathroom came crashing off the wall when I put something on it, and I was lucky that it didn't smash. One of my towels, goodness knows how old it was, literally tore in two when I used it. The bath was incredibly narrow, and I am of average build.

In the bedroom, there was only one power socket and that was not by the bed, so having your phone charge beside you overnight is not an option. The drawers in my wardrobe could not be used as the doors would not open fully, as they were blocked by the bed. And I can't remember being in a hotel that houses such an extensive population of mosquitos.

Unable to recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

In May we spent three nights at the Hotel Astoria which is perfectly located near the historic district in Florence. It is only a few minutes walk to the Duomo, the train station in the opposite direction, and about a ten minute walk to the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio. The hotel itself is comprised of two historic palazzos, the Gaddi and the Arrighetti that belonged to noble Florentine families. The palazzos retain their baroque style. We stayed on the top floor in a large quiet corner room with at least six large windows overlooking the Duomo. Also on the floor is a rooftop patio serving drinks at night. It affords a gorgeous view of Florence. The breakfast room is ornate, quite dark and offered a rather ordinary breakfast. The location and the roomview made this hotel ideal for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#193 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Astoria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Astoria Firenze

Property: B4 Astoria Firenze
Address: Via del Giglio 9, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Astoria Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is the ideal choice for your stay: you'll be accommodated in the rooms of the Palazzo Gaddi and Palazzo Arrighetti, historic buildings belonging to noble Florentine families, where art recounts the passage of centuries every step of the way. Indeed, it was while living at Palazzo Gaddi that the great English author John Milton found inspiration for his masterpiece, Paradise Lost, and in these very rooms that he wrote it. The noble past of Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is also reflected in its location: the church of Santa Maria Novella, abounding in great art, is right nearby (as is the convenient railway station with the same name), and a short stroll will take you directly to Florence's historic centre. An undeniable advantage that puts the most beautiful areas of the city right at your fingertips. The prestigious salons of the luxury Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze, decorated in original Florentine Baroque style, are the perfect backdrop for important events. The restaurant will pamper you with typical Tuscany and Mediterranean dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B4 Astoria Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing