We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of B4 Astoria Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B4 Astoria Firenze
Ranked #142 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at Boscolo Hotel Astoria Florence for two nights in August. Hotel is just a 5 min walk from the train station, and in a good position to explore Florence. We were greeted with a very warm welcome by the hotels receptionist. Checking in was quick and efficient. Our room was beautiful, bed was comfortable and bathroom large. The only thing that let the hotel down was the very, very poor breakfast, I have thrown away better bread than they served for breakfast. This was the worst breakfast of all the hotels we stayed in during our stay in Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debsie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Location is perfect for Florence sightseeing. Check –in reception was very pleasant and efficient. The pleasant disposition of all of the staff that we encountered during our short stay was continuous through every level. We took a deluxe room which was nicely decorated in traditional style. It showed some signs of wear but clean and adequate nonetheless. It had fantastic view over the rooftops and of the Duomo. Our bed was gigantic and very comfortable. The bathroom was large with Jacuzzi bath. Air conditioning was good. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening; it was good value and quite good in quality. The rooftop bar is lovely place to relax with a great view over the city; it would benefit from a professional design makeover and is greatly underutilised. Wifi service is VERY poor and requires upgrading. I would recommend staying here if you can get it at the right price.

Room Tip: Dont pay too much but higher floors have better view and less street noise. Rooms have no wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeosamhOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations! 5 minutes or less from the train station. When you first walk into this hotel, it is just grand in every way from the authentic Italian decor, the friendliness of staff and just the comfortable feel you get. We had a room with a little balcony and the view of Florence and the Duomo was beautiful. Our room was very nicely sized, decorated, clean and so quiet. The breakfast room was amazing. To be honest, I spent more time just taking in the beauty than actually eating. The reception staff was so helpful and always asking if there was anything else they could do or help with. A tip: no matter what floor you are on, take the stairs-you will see so much more of the hotel and decor. It was a perfect stay and if we are ever fortunate enough again to go to Florence, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was going to be arriving in Florence by train & liked that this hotel was near the station. I know that areas around train stations are not always the best, but the photos of the hotel looked appealing. Upon arriving, the hotel was easy to find & only a 5 minute walk from the station. I was not disappointed in my choice of hotel, in fact, I felt I had found a gem. Great price & wow, for the view of the Duomo on the rooftop! Really enjoyed going up there at night & having a glass of wine & looking at the Duomo.
The breakfast room was absolutely beautiful & a great selection of breakfast foods ~ meats, cheeses & so much more!
My room was #312 & looked out onto a terrace. I stayed here alone for four nights & slept like a baby every night, the hotel was very quiet. My room was clean & the bathroom spacious.
I cannot say enough for this lovely boutique hotel & the location was perfect. The decor really made you feel you were in Italy with its arched columns, statues & art work. Can't wait to return here with my husband & enjoy a glass of wine with him on the rooftop overlooking the Duomo at night!

Room Tip: 502 probably has the best view of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Upon entry the lobby area is quite stunning. Very convenient location, close to the main train station, which was a plus as it was convenient when taking a day trip to Pisa. Also within walking distance to the town centre, Duomo, Ponte del Vecchio and other main attractions. Classic design with original Frescos, that although as some have stated is worn in places, im not sure what else you would expect from such an old building.you cant have all modernity and retain classic charm, so ill take the charm anyday. Staff were very friendly, even recommending their own personal favorite restaurants for us. Room itself was spacious and comfortable, so all in all a great stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We wanted authentic Italian not you regular travel hotel. The Boscolo Hotel Astoria is truly authentic! The decor, atmosphere all of it! Truly beautiful!!! The staff are so nice, the breakfast is wonderful! Loved it! Great location to Duomo, train.....you name it! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

It has a good location situated very near the train station and tour departure points (saw a few tour groups including mine near the train station) which was very convenient. I basically covered most major parts of florence city by walking. The room was quiet, acceptable and clean. The staffs were friendly and helpful.

The negative part is there were some wear and tear which was also highlighted by others. I am not a very particular person and i could live with it. The shower door in my room was broken and could not close, there were water stains near the air condition vents, the hair dryer was working but part of it was broken and there is no wifi in the rooms (i would prefer a hotel with wifi in this era) however i bought a sim card with data and sorted my problems. There is wifi in the lobby. Notwithstanding the negatives i could live with it.

Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#122 of 409 in Florence
445 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#120 of 409 in Florence
1,578 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#133 of 409 in Florence
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#42 of 409 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#117 of 409 in Florence
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Astoria Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Astoria Firenze

Address: Via del Giglio 9, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £73 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Astoria Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is the ideal choice for your stay: you'll be accommodated in the rooms of the Palazzo Gaddi and Palazzo Arrighetti, historic buildings belonging to noble Florentine families, where art recounts the passage of centuries every step of the way. Indeed, it was while living at Palazzo Gaddi that the great English author John Milton found inspiration for his masterpiece, Paradise Lost, and in these very rooms that he wrote it. The noble past of Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze is also reflected in its location: the church of Santa Maria Novella, abounding in great art, is right nearby (as is the convenient railway station with the same name), and a short stroll will take you directly to Florence's historic centre. An undeniable advantage that puts the most beautiful areas of the city right at your fingertips. The prestigious salons of the luxury Hotel Boscolo Astoria Firenze, decorated in original Florentine Baroque style, are the perfect backdrop for important events. The restaurant will pamper you with typical Tuscany and Mediterranean dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B4 Astoria Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing