We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but terrible breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“ok but terrible breakfast”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed four nights at Bernini during pitti oumo fair.

Location: Really cental location in middle of florence.

Lobby: Very nice cozy design with a bar.

The Bar: hotell dont take care of the bar, its a dead area with "radio disco music"

Room: are ok in classic/rustic design, dont match with the lobby interior. climat is fine.

Breakfast: what a joke! bread was old and and tasted bad, proscutto and mozzarella tasted bad, worst of all was the boilde egg, it was "old" and the middlerpart was green instead of yellow. Scrambled eggs was swimming around in water and bacon tasted old.

I will not stay at this place again, i can recomend NH porta rossa instead., 100 times better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EugenStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback, it's very precious for us, because it helps us to improve our services. We have shared your review with our Restaurant Department. I am really surprised because our American breakfast buffet is usually very appreciated by our guest because everything is daily fresh, including our bread; anyway we sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your stay with us, I would have liked to have had the opportunity to discuss about it while you were with us. Dear Mr. EugenStockholm we really hope you will give us the opportunity to have you again at the Bernini Palace Hotel to show our best attention as we normally do and make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Elena Antonini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    265
    56
    29
    14
See reviews for
214
644
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel have a very nice lobby, but unfourtualy the rest of the hotel is not as nice. Rooms are ok, but since the price is very high you want something more. Breakfast was not good at all. The quality of the food was not ok, you except more of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Firenze one of the top "visiting" cities in the world with an unparalleld mix of old-world charm, art, architecture, history and cuisine...and Hotel Bernini Palace is right in the thick of it. As a modernized do-over of an old palace, it may lack some of the physical features of contemporary 5-star lodging....but, so what.....that's not what you're there for. At the concierge's suggestion, we hired a private guide to show us the Uffizi and l'Academia ("David", of course) and all other highlights we could cover in 6 hours. Luca was a brilliant font of art history/appreciation knowledge and brought it to life in a way that only really good college-level professors can. At 300 Euros....quite expensive (about $71/hr + tip)...but we thought it was worth it.

Room Tip: Our run of house room was palatial !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim1946no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We arrived on a saturday with no reservation and had to walk around town for about an hour before we found a room available at Bernini. It ended up being the best value for what we got. it was 280 euros for a sweet with two rooms (closed door in between), with one bathroom. As I was travelling with my parents this was ideal. It was very clean, the beds were comfy, there was no noise, and the breakfast was nice. The staff was also very helpful. My dad ( who usually only takes 5 star hotels ) kept saying how much he enjoyed this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

To start off the location of this hotel could not have been any better! You are at the end of Piazza del Signorio and a five minute walk to the Duomo or a five minute walk in the other direction to the Orno river.

The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We were very comfortable for the 3 nights we were there. Lobby of the hotel was modern and stylish. Breakfast was amazing! Lots of selection and the breakfast room itself was stunning!

All of the staff at the Bernini were pleasant and very helpful.

Our favourite meal of our entire Italian vacation was at Nataliano which the hotel recommended. We are still dreaming of the food there!

If we are lucky to go back to Florence we would not hesitate to stay here again! We will recommend this hotel to anyone else we know travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Yes, the location is good, but for the price, stay somewhere else.
Staff - not that friendly, but the concierge was excellent and very friendly. Otherwise, the staff did a very good job of making me believe they do not like their jobs. Our shower had a leak that covered half the bathroom floor. We called the front desk, and someone came to look and said they would have it serviced the next day. A maid was sent up to clean up the water before the next shower remade the same mess. The next day, nobody came to fix it. The day after, same problem, no service.
Rooms - They look good at first glance, but our bathroom had signs of deferred maintenance. There was obvious evidence of work on the leaky shower, but it was not repaired properly, and it looked bad. Other parts of the hotel had some minor paint peeling. The rest of the bathroom was nice, as was the bedroom.
Food - the breakfast was good, but not exceptional. The room it was in is cool, but again, paint peeling and obvious deferred maintenance...

All in all, I felt like I got ripped off at this hotel. The location is good, but it's not worth the price if you are able to walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJShirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed at the Bernini Palace in May 2011. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was perfectly situated. The rooms were a little outdated with a 'running toilet' but it was very clean. The breakfast was great with many options. The internet connection was incredibly slow, but we found this to be true all over Italy. Definitely recommend staying at this hotel while in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaStumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Madame,
thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comments.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It's my pleasure to inform you that from next July the free wi-fi service will cover all the hotel's areas!
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

My warmest regards,

Elena Antonini
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,187 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
961 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,243 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing