We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #35 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed for four nights and had a great stay. The hotel is situated in the centre of Florence about 20 min walk from the station. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful advising on directions, organising taxis etc. The rooms we had were pleasantly spacious and were kept very clean. We would stay here again if we ever re-vist.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank river21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Went to Florence for my girlfriends birthday and stopped at the Bernini Palace, after recently coming back from Dubai. The room was not ready when we arrived and so we ventured out into the city.

Great location for all of the sights, and very walkablew to all.

We returned to the hotel a couple of hours later, the foyer very impressive with bar and attentive staff. The room that we had was similar to a room under the stairs, with a gally bathroom (only one person could get in there at one time). We did speak to reception but nothing was sorted. Shower leaked and so each morning the bathroom was like a swimming pool. Iron and iron board (mini one) were available if requested, but you had to return them each night.

We wanted to try a restaurant as recommended on trip advisor and left the details with the conceirage, but he failed to reserve us a table, and even after badgering him whilst we were sat in the bar, he made no calls and then said that the restaurant was full !

There is a hot tub on the 5th floor, which has some nice views from.

Overall, a good short break, but we would probably of liked to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Look at room before committing to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymax7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

While the interior photos of Bernini Palace Hotel show the calm and classy decor alas the same adjectives cannot be used for the staff.
At this price range some things are a given- a cool calm interior to retreat to after a day in the city, sizeable rooms and dare I write it, courteous staff. For me, the last point is the most important. While I appreciate that it may not be easy dealing with tourists all day long I expect a level of professionalism, even at the end of the day, which I found lacking at the Bernini palace.

In a city like Florence, with so many good hotels to choose from, I would find it hard to go back to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I cannot speak highly enough of the Bernini Palace. The room was very well decorated with a large bathroom (including two sinks). Breakfast was served in a ballroom and the servers greeted us each morning as we walked in the door, immediately asking what we wanted to drink. The food at breakfast was fairly standard, but included better quality meats and cheeses than I've seen in other similarly-priced hotels. Our room was very quiet, and the hotel itself is located in a great area of the city. The free wi-fi worked well in our room and the concierge was helpful when we asked where to go to dinner at night. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoyaTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed 2 nights at the Bernini Palace as part of a Tauck tour of Italy and we were quite happy with our stay. The hotel is walking distance to all the major sights and just steps away from the Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizzi Gallery. Our room and bathroom were both very large & our room was air conditioned which was nice as it was 96-98 F during our stay so returning to our room each afternoon for a nap was wonderful. There were several great restaurants nearby as well. We enjoyed the bar at the Bernini as well, it was really pretty and the bartender was very nice. Again, as we found throughout the rest of trip, everyone spoke english (very helpful as we don't speak Italian.) It was a great stay and if we are ever in Florence again we know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank need2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel is very pretty. Dark colors decorate the lobby and and it looks very club like but very pretty. We stayed on second floor and asked for ajoining rooms for our girls and were given a great spot with a private hallway that we could lock so if they woke up the y could not get out. We had a wonderful view right over the entrace the hotel.
Breakfast was ok but not the best. Our room was large and the bathroom was an ok size as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was a real good find for us in Florence. The room was clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. We also enjoyed the breakfast room decor and friendly service.

Even better was the location: one block away from piazza signori, uffizi And ponte vecchio. It is a five minute walk to the duomo and San Lorenzo. This really adds value to the trip, especially in the summer as we were able to stop back into the room to drop bags, change or cool off.

One thing to note though is if you are handicapped avoid the third floor as the elevator brings you to 3-4 so we had to walk up a few steps. This was not a concern for us at all but just something to consider.

I also didnt know about the jacuzzi and rooftop terrace. Had I known, my wife and I would have taken advantage of it. I would consider leaving a place card in the room specifying it like hotels usually do with in room breakfasts.

Overall an excellent hotel in a perfect location. Next time we are in florence, we know where we are going to stay

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfest19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 409 in Florence
1,328 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 409 in Florence
1,306 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#10 of 409 in Florence
1,271 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £199 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing