We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious oasis in central Florence, only one issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #30 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Luxurious oasis in central Florence, only one issue”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a "Superior Room"

We were delighted with our choice of hotel in Florence. It is in a brilliant location only 2 minutes walk from the Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi.

The public areas of the hotel are elegant and the staff of very friendly and highly efficient. The service at the bar and in the breakfast room was fantastic - friendly and prompt.

The room was wonderful, large with plenty of room for a small table and two chairs at the foot of the large bed, The bedlinen was worth note, real, soft linen. The window only looked out onto a lightwell area but there was plenty of light in the room. The bathroom was fantastic, a large vanity area with plenty of bench space, separated by a door from the bathroom. A nice large bath and shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, etc all supplied. The towels were plushy and thick.

There were slippers and bathrobes provided and turn down service each evening with sweets left on the pillow.

We ordered room service one evening, delicious platters of antipasti and breads and Prosecco which came very promptly.

The Wifi was free and had an excellent strength signal.

The breakfast buffet is served in a gorgeous room that looks like a ballroom. Delicious cappucino and espresso offered on arrival. As well as the usual fruits, pastries, breads, cold meats and cheeses - there were scrambled eggs and bacon and fresh juices. Even sparkling wine!

We only had one issue. On checkout, the clerk converted our bill to Aussie dollars without asking if that was what we wanted ( as they are required to do) My husband didn't notice and so we ended up paying a high conversion rate, and he was not very happy about it when checking the bill later. That is the only reason that I've given the hotel 4 stars instead of 5

Room Tip: I'd recommend a Superior room for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    267
    57
    29
    14
See reviews for
221
654
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If nothing else the location itself is amazing. It is right next to the Uffizi and most of Florence is very easily accessible. The hotel itself is very nice. Luxurious and the rooms are very large and comfortable, especially for European standards. The concierge very helpful and nice, as is the rest of the staff. The lobby bar is perfect for a nightcap if you want a change from one of the many squares of Florence.
The only drawback is the breakfast - it is surprising that a hotel of this standard charges extra for omelletes, fried eggs, etc and only boiled and scrambled are included.
We booked through hotels.com and got a great pay for 3 nights stay for 4 offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirbhay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, UT
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved our 3 night stay at Bernini Palace in October and would recommend it to all friends and family! The staff throughout the hotel were all helpful and very pleasant. Check in was prompt and efficient. Our room was a simple standard room furnished with high thread count linens and lovely bath soaps and lotions. Very comfortable beds and sleep quality was excellent. The breakfast was terrific with hot eggs, and cold juices, meats, cheese was all fresh and nice quality. The location is exactly perfect for this city. The ambience and decor is spot on. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked through Expedia for 4 nights from 6th-10th Oct, flying by Jet2 from Manchester, UK.

Flights were spot on, no frills but on time and hassle free. We boarded the Terravision bus from the airport, having bought the ticket in Arrivals. There's also a stall outside in the car park who can tell you where to wait. Bus takes around 70-75 minutes and drops off outside Santa Maria Novello train station.

We walked to the hotel which took around 20 minutes at an amble. It has a fantastic location just through Piazza Della Signoria with all its sculptures, and nestles in the south end of Piazza San Firenze.

Lobby and reception very good. Check in with Massimo was great. Friendly, cracked a few jokes, made us feel like long lost friends. We'd requested a high room with a view in advance and were not disappointed. Room 508 on the top floor - views all the way down the piazza to the Duomo!

Lovely spacious room. Furniture was in keeping with the tradition of the hotel - looked possibly antique but in very good order. Excellent bathroom and vanity area with 2 sinks. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Only thing missing were tea/coffee making facilities, which we knew in advance but as the stay wore on we missed more and more, despite the multitude of cafes in the area.

The Breakfast Room 'Sala Parlamento' is a magnificent room, with a fresco ceiling and portraits of the rich and famous on the walls. We weren't all that impressed with the breakfast offering despite the numerous reviews on here which suggest it is excellent. The only thing that changed in 4 days was the colour of the gel holding the orchids on the table decorations. The scrambled eggs and grey pancetta bacon didn't do it for me, so I filled up on bread, croissants and cake each morning while I waited the 10 minutes for the toaster to do half a job on the toast.

We didn't try the restaurant. Florence is so full of trattorias and eateries it seemed a shame to miss them.

There was work going on in the hotel. Due to current legislations in Italy it appears that all doorways need to be widened. Probably due to the amount of people like me on a carb frenzy at breakfast. Work started around 9am and finished around 6pm. It did not affect us but I guess it's not something you want to see happening.

To be honest, we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel as there is too much to see. Despite the rain on Days 1 and 2, we wandered around Florence, soaking up the atmosphere (and the rain), and trying out cafes. Queues for the museums and churches were huge due to the weather.

I would recommend a trip to Lucca if you have time. This walled town is absolutely beautiful and riding round the walls on a rented bike is a perfect way to spend an afternoon.

In summary, the Bernini Palace is a fine hotel in an excellent location. The staff are friendly and accommodating, and would make an excellent base from which to explore Florence/Firenze.

Room Tip: Double Deluxe Room 508 has a great view of Piazza San Firenze and the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautiful fresco ceilings and trim. Wonderful comfortable beds and bedding. Rooms are comfortable size with nice marble bathrooms. Bathrobes and slippers. Complimentary proseco on arrival. The concierge is wonderful, friendly, made all our reservations and arrangements prior to our arrival. We skipped every museum entrance line. He also arranged a driver to take us to Pisa and a walled village The breakfast room is absolutely amazing and the breakfast is incomparable for Europe. I did not want to leave this beautiful hotel. Conveniently located within easy walking distance of all the attractions. Literally around the corner from the Uffizi. We cannot walk very well and easily walked back from the Accademia stopping along the way to see the Duomo and other things. I will return to Florence some day and I will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelsla1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Florence this September. The location was absolutely fantastic, just a block away from the Piazza Signoria. The hotel has a beautiful lobby, wonderful breakfast, great wifi, nice rooms and bathroom. The concierges were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a slight problem that was dealt with and rectified. I would definitely come back to this hotel and stay here again. Very clean and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent 4 nights last August at this hotel. The location is superb, walking distance to many of Florence's wonderful sites and museums.
We had one superior room and one double and both rooms were beautifully furnished. The superior room is truly magnificent: large, spacious, gorgeous. Modern bathrooms in both, only annoyance is the glass pane which allows a lot of water to spill out during a shower (quite common in Italy).
Breakfast was very, very good, served in a former ballroom with beautiful traditional decor. In addition to fruit, pastries, eggs, juice, bread, cheese, coffee and so on, all top quality, they had a bottle of chilled sparkling wine available, for preparing mimosas or just for toasting a lovely vacation. The breakfast staff is very attentive, after the first morning they remembered how many in our party and that my kids liked hot chocolate. Very courteous and efficient.
The front desk staff is helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.

Our one problem was that we booked through Hotelsclick.com, and the site/agency had changed our request of a double with an extra bed to a double, assuming a child can share a bed with his parents. Although we had confirmed our request directly with the hotel, it took almost our entire stay of messages to the manager to clarify that we had NOT intended to cheat the hotel by sneaking in an extra child, and that we were not responsible for paying extra, which every day we were told we would have to. This was annoying as we never got to speak to the manager, and apparently he didn't bother seeing our printed copies of the emails from the hotel's staff confirming our arrangements. Very annoying. He just assumed we were trying to cheat our way into a bigger room. Fortunately, it was clarifyed and resolved to our satisfaction.

Our advice: STAY HERE!!!! but DO NOT book through hotelsclick.com, and always confirm directly with the hotel if you book through a website.

IMPORTANT INFO ON TRAIN TRAVEL IN FLORENCE:: (Unrelated to hotel choice) BEWARE of luggage thieves in the SMN train station, particularly in the confusion of getting on and off trains. Thiefs pretend to help with loading luggage, then walk off with your bags as you are seated and train is about to take off. STAY with your luggage until train is well on its way. We were spared, others were not.

Room Tip: If it's within your budget, get a Superior! GORGEOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 412 in Florence
1,008 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing