We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights could not fault one thing, how anyone could is beyond me. Fab room, lovely and clean. Breakfast what you would expect in Europe. Would definitely stay again. Great location and a lovely place to come back to after walking miles during the day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriswolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your post, It is always a pleasure to receive such great comments from our guests here at the Bernini and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you’ll visit us soon.
With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    265
    54
    29
    14
See reviews for
212
632
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I'm straining my vocabulary to try to describe the Bernini, and really can't find the right description. It prides itself on its old fashioned style, I expect, deeply rooted in local Florentine tradition. Our room ( shown to us personally by the Head of Reception who chatted away warmly despite being tired after a busy summer), upgraded on arrival from Superior to Deluxe, drew a gasp from my wife, the hawkish of all critics, and had her taking photographs of every angle to show her friends back home. The room has everything including spaciousness, one could ask for; we were tired on our first night and ordered room service; succulent lamp chops which hit the spot. Breakfast is good. I can see where other reviewers who have given a critical rating on this might be coming from. The cooked option did not look appetising, and the cereal dispenser was blocked. Equally, the coffee was great, the bread rolls fresh and tasty, and the plentiful meats quite sufficient to launch a good start to the day, all served in a beautiful setting. So, one finds the this which delight, which shade out things which might detract. The location is remarkable it had me swivelling on my footstep on alighting from the taxi, just a ten minute stroll to the Il Duomo further up the Via del Pro Consolo. So, we're glad we forked out the money for this hotel, it is worth it, for a comfortable and stylish stay in Florence. One tip, not specifically linked to the hotel; watch out for the money exchange rates, I was charged 15per cent plus fixed fee on my withdrawal, which is just plain extortion. Using money in the wall machines I am sure would be better, but I haven't seen many of those in m path so far. A small shrug in what otherwise has been a lovely return to Florence after twenty five years when I was slumming it in a tent as a student !

Room Tip: I imagine there will be rooms looking out on the Square below which would afford a great view and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your words. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Bernini Palace. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Nicely decorated, comfortable rooms and great location. Lobby and bar are nicely decorated as well. Very helpful front desk, especially Valentina, who went out of her way to assist us. Also has knowledgable and talented bartenders. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Belletieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for you kind words. Our location is second to none, the hotel is right in the heart of Florence. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and our service. I'll share with pleasure your comments with my staff,
we hope to welcome you again,
best regards,
David Foschi,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It would appear from other reviews that some people will just nit pick about anything. We stayed at this hotel in celebration of our silver wedding anniversary. Hotel reception were not informed prior to arrival why we were there. We were warmly greeted upon arrival at reception, shown to our beautiful room and given details of the hotel and local tours.
Our room was kept spotlessly clean and the bed was turned down each evening and a token gift welcomed us on return to the room.
I am reasonably well travelled, but I have to say that the bed in our room was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom with his and hers sinks, bidet, bath and shower was huge.
Breakfast was included during our stay. Previous reviewers have complained of lack of variety. This is not the case. A selection of fresh juices, cereals, yogurt, pastries, bacon, scrambled eggs, cold meats vegetables and fruit are on offer. All served in the most beautiful room with frescoes on the ceiling. The staff were courteous and friendly. What more can you ask for?
Staff throughout the hotel were courteous and kind without being intrusive. Free wifi was provided for up to 3 devices.
The hotel is centrally located for all of the 'must see' attractions that you visit Florence for.
This hotel is beautiful, in a gorgeous location. Perfect for a romantic break or just sightseeing. I was personally devastated to check out. I still have things left to do in Florence and if I have the opportunity to return, it would be to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was quiet not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herbiemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your post. It is always a pleasure to receive such great comments from our dear guests here at the Bernini and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary! We look forward to welcome you soon,

With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The best part about the Bernini is its wonderful location. It is a short walking distance to the majority of the Florence must see sites. The rooms are very nice but are becoming a bit dated........still very decent.
The biggest issue in my opinion at this hotel is the customer service is lacking. The concierge services leaves a lot to be desired once compared to some other hotels I have experience in Italy. The front desk is sort of indifferent to the guests and their knowledge of local dining spots is pretty thin. Daily maid service is spotty at best. Times for room cleaning and servicing are inconsistent which makes trips back tot he hotel during your touring inconvenient.

If you are independent and do not rely on these services, the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigzMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your post. I'm really disappointed regarding our bad services and I'll try to understand what's happened with you, usually our concierge and the staff are very helpful with all our clients, Regarding the rooms, during the last two years the hotel has benn renovated and we are going to go ahead with the refurbishing with the respect of the original and preciuos style of this wonderful property. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit at the Bernini.
With my best regards,
David Foschi,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. Breakfast a bit average (paying 6 euros for overdone poached eggs in a 5* hotel is pretty poor) , but made up for by the incredible room (we had the Tuscan deluxe and it was lovely).

If would have been nice to have the concierge acknowledge it was our honeymoon with a token gesture or something.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your post. I'm sorry we didn't know you were in honeymoon, of course we use to dedicate special care to honeymooners. Thank you very much for choosing the Bernini for your special occasion,
I remain at your disposal for any further visit in Florence and at the Bernini,
with my best regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last time I was in Florence was in 2005 and stayed at the Bernini Palace Hotel for 1 week. The rooms are so elegant that you never want to leave. The location is perfect and in walking distance to many sights, shopping & restaurant's plus it is very quiet. There is a large room where you have breakfast with many assorted items which are all fresh. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel and will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaninPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice post! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back again,
with my best regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing