We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly - Dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #191 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed as part of a tour during a hot summer period. The room was old, tired and stained. The smell from the bathroom was terrible. The house keeping attempted to cover the smell with deoderant, which didn't help. While the beds were very comfortable and the shutters were a welcome relief from the late night sun, the air conditioner was noisy and the was room small. The American bar had great food and we enjoyed a meal out the front. The breakfast had the usual italian choices and we were not sure what the scrambled eggs actually were. The staff were friendly and shopping was close by. You must take a walk up to the lookout not 5mins walk away.

Room Tip: Go high and overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is very well placed in Florence, just along the Arno and only a few minutes' walk to the historic district. A walk to the Duomo will take 15-20 minutes. Cabs to and from the airport are easy to get and will cost a flat rate of 20 euros (plus 1 euro per bag).

I was at the Mediterraneo for a conference. Everything was quite average. The bed in the room was quite hard and the linen a bit stiff. The bathroom was not very large and there was only 1 towel available. A bathrobe and slippers are provided. With this in mind, however, I was indeed able to get good rest for the four nights that I was there.

The internet in the conference centre was hit and miss. The first day I was there, it was deplorable and made working very difficult. By the last day, it worked impeccably. The photocopying and printing facilities all run through the front desk. Though the staff is helpful, they may need a bit of training with the equipment.

The food is average to good, but avoid the coffee at all costs. If you want a decent cup of coffee, you will need to order it at the American Bar in the lobby. The breakfast is the least appetizing of the meals. The lunch buffet was hit and miss, but generally good.

For another business trip, I would be fine staying in this hotel again, so long as they fix the technical issues with the internet. If it were for vacation, however, I would definitely be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Large hotel with many rooms. Has elevators (small ones). Roman shutters outside windows block out light well. Room had a stocked mini fridge, TV, hair dryer, and universal charging station for electronics - a nice bonus! Breakfasts and dinners in the hotel restaurant are buffet-style, but the food at dinner is excellent. Breakfast spread is good, but I don't recommend the eggs. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location is pretty good. We were able to walk to the city center from the hotel. Bathrooms seemed very updated, but our shower floor was quite slippery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was one of 4 hotels we stayed at during our 8 day tour of Italy, and it was our favorite. The location is very good, as it is close to the city center, It's 15 - 20 minutes walk to Ponte Vecchio. The front desk service was excellent. The breakfast was very good, the buffet was huge. The room and the bathroom was clean and large enough
In general it was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manolis_popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was one of 6 hotels we stayed at during our 10 day tour of Italy, and it was our least favorite. Very busy, lots of teenagers constantly hanging out in the lobby and outside the hotel entrance who were partying all hours of the night and loudly roaming the halls, which made sleep difficult. The location is very good, as it is close to the city center, and the rooms were adequate, it was just the general mayhem over the 2 days and nights that we were there that made our stay less than pleasurable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTS-KBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We picked this hotel because of 4+ star rating at Expedia. This hotel is located at north bank of Arno River that runs through Florence. It's 20 minutes walk to the famous Ponte Vecchio. The bus 14 also brings passengers from the train station to the back of the hotel.

It's a big hotel, out of tourist area and relatively modern, per European standard.The hotel was very busy with lots of groups of tourist. So if the timing is wrong, the check-in and check-out could take sometime. Because it's too big, I felt the staff is relatively less friendly than the other hotels we stayed in Italy. However, they were very professional. For example, I discovered one water bottle in the mini bar was opened by someone else than us. I reported it to the front desk. They took notes and didn't charge me.

We had a quadruple room with four twin beds. The room was big and had plenty space for the four of us moving around. The furniture was modern and we all had our own light that would disturb other's sleep. It also had enough storage for clothes. The bathroom was modern but small. The only problem was that the shower water came out of the shower stall and formulated outside of the shower stall. We had to mop water off after each shower. Like all other Italian hotel, it didn't provide conditioner for hair wash.

The hotel has a restaurant. Next to the hotel, there is a modern restaurant, as well as several food shacks. You can buy Italian fast food and beers. Some of them are at the riverside so you can buy food, sit next to river and enjoy the scenery. Cross the river, there was a cafe where we had our breakfast like the Italians by drinking our coffee and eating our pastries by the counter. There was also a caterer where we bought one night our food there and ate at our room (good food and 1/4 of the restaurant price).

Internet was at extra charge. The free internet access at lobby was always busy and occupied by someone.

For the price we paid, it was a bit below what I expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We travelled by car to Florence from Germany and were reluctant about driving in Florence due to car restrictions. The hotel was easily accessable from the highway and had onsite underground parking. The hotel is located accross from the riverfront and is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre. This hotel is more typical to a downtown North American hotel . The front desk service was excellent. The buffet breakfast had a great choice of food including eggs and bacon. Both public transit and city hop on hop off tour buses stop literally at your doorstep.
I would definately recommend taking the Hop on Hop off tour of the city if you have never been to Florence beforel. There is a Red route and Blue Route and they do overlap quite a bit but definitely take the route into the hillside town. If you get a deal definitely go to this hotel. We decided to stay an extra night and could not get a very discounted rate but overall with the savings of the first night it balanced itself out.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,324 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#119 of 410 in Florence
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#177 of 410 in Florence
1,315 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#275 of 410 in Florence
134 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#106 of 410 in Florence
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £62 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing