We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the FH chain of hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #195 of 422 Hotels in Florence
MAryland/D.C. area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the FH chain of hotels”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I just returned from a tour across Italy that included this hotel and it's sister hotel in Rome, the Grand Palantino. Having completed this tour a few years ago, I returned with my daughter to find both hotels renovated and glowing.
I was pleased with the rooms, service, and breakfast. As travelers we must include the hotel as part of the experience and adjust our expectations from the large environments Americans are used to. After all, we spent minimal time in the room. We took in as much of Italy that we could before crashing, spent, into bed. My only negative comment is that the walls are thin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theladyswannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    749
    531
    192
    118
See reviews for
459
706
66
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The positives are that the hotel looks modern from the outside and has a fancy foyer. The breakfast is fabulous, lots of variety and good quality food. It just seems ridiculous that this can be rated 4 star based on the standard of the rooms. They're small and just extremely basic, tired looking, view overlooking the car park. It's be a solid 3 star in the uk any day of the week, I don't know who decides these ratings.

Don't get me wrong, it's adequate but when you're paying 80 euros a night for 4 star, you expect it to be a bit above adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theengelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here while on a Trafagaler European Whril Tour, the hotel was lovely while we were there they were doing some remodeling, which did not effect our stay,The rooms were nice also the bathroom and we had a wonderful breakfast. We stayed in mid March and our room was warm so I opened the windows,for the night little did I know I woke up with mosquitos buzzing around me while I was sleeping, so that was the only negative thing having mosquito bites

Room Tip: Close the windows at night so no mosquitos can come in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Modern hotel quite nearby city. The room itself was big, clean and whad free wifi which is great. Nice and friendly staff. It was i bit to walk to centrum do not miss going through Plazza Sante Croce on the way to the center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedishfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our group of 7 had a very nice experience here.

The hotel has modern decor and the rooms are a good size, especially when you consider the usual size of European hotels. The rooms are very neat and clean and the bathroom facilities are modern and immaculate. There is free wifi and it worked reasonably well in the room. The staff were very friendly and professional and made our stay enjoyable. The breakfast they provided was plentiful and tasty (I particularly liked the seasoned stewed tomatoes). The location of the hotel is great too! It is across the street from a beautiful park right on the Arno. The hotel is within walking distance (about 15-20 min) to the Piazza del Signoria.

There were a few concerns, however. First, in the bar/restaurant the many desserts on the menu were not available, save for 3 pre-packaged ice-cream options. Second, due to the time of year, the air conditioning unit was disabled and the only way to cool off the room was to open the windows, which let in mosquitoes. And 3rd, there was an extensive room-service menu but when we called to order, we were told that there was no room service available. Despite these, our stay was very pleasant and I would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Compared to our hotel in Rome (Fortyseven), this hotel fell short. The room itself was not bad and had free wifi which is great but the walls were paper thin. The staff was not very friendly, the breakfast was not very good. The location was ok although it was a bit of a walk to the center (1.2 miles from Ponte Vecchio). In short I wasn't impressed but it wasn't terrible. Get yourself the trip advisor ap for your phone...I do t know what I would have done without on this trip...it has recommended itineraries, restaurant reviews etc. but the best part is the maps and the "point me there" option!!!! You follow that arrow and it will take you where you want to go...best part, you don't need wifi, it works with the phone's location service...Excellent Ap, highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clausthal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hotel rooms were nice and clean, with a modern bathroom with a tub. The location is great along the river only a few minutes walk from the city center. During the time we were there, they were renovating the lobby, and it was quite loud and crowded with big tour groups. The really bad thing you can say about the hotel is the breakfast -- serving an instant coffee from a instant coffee dispensing machine at breakfast should be outlawed in a 4* hotel in Italy. The choice of food for breakfast was also very limited.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_clz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#92 of 422 in Florence
831 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#204 of 422 in Florence
1,218 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#101 of 422 in Florence
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#238 of 422 in Florence
668 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#139 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#84 of 422 in Florence
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing