We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #196 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a family in Jan 30 for 3 nights. The hotel looks modern from the outside and has a fancy foyer. The location is great along the river only a ten minutes walk from the city center. The breakfast was fabulous, lots of variety and good quality food. The hotel is convenient for groups.The rooms were nice and big and free wifi which is great for travellers. There are some missing points at the breakfast especially servants were not helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable and was warm enough in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adnanmordeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel in Florence. It was a perfect location for us - quiet, but within walking distance to all the sights in the centre of Florence. The rooms are small - by North American standards, but perfectly adequate. The bed was firm. Hotel staff were helpful and polite, though not particularly friendly.
Breakfast is included, so we weren't expecting much beyond the typical continental breakfast, so we were totally blown away by the fabulous spread! There were juices, coffees, eggs, breakfast meats, fruit, cereal, yogurts, cheeses, etc etc. It was a wonderful buffet, which we thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence. It is clean, comfortable, well-appointed and in a great location for both sleeping and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingsooncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Well, this is a large big hotel with many rooms but lack a feel of its own. I failed to put it under any categories ..neither leisure nor business hotel..It has many rooms, with some strange lay-out of rooms,.... With banquet rooms thrown in between,...You will encounter some oddly-placed lifts....One might gets lost in this maze !!
1. This hotel is in a very good location facing a large green park. it is also not far from city centre..Some 20-25 mnts from city center or Piazza De Signora. The walk is along river Armo and very beautiful, enjoyable & romantice. We even went for a late-night stroll along this river nearby. its well-lit and very refreshing.
2. All the rooms were not ready when we arrived. We were tired from our road journey from Rome. The staff who attended us first was new trainee & was a bit-slow But he was immediately taken over by one Ms. Guilia, a very effcient hotel staff. She made check-in ( as well our check-out experiance lwhen leaving hotel) very smooth. Thanks Ms. Guilia.
3. The hotel is large, bright and has many rooms. Probably Hotel with the highest no. of rooms in Florence. It offers free Wi-Fi in entire hotel. Works good.
4. Rooms are compact, with very small bathroom. No in-room Kettle for Tea / Coffee. Rooms are not very properly lit. The room wall are very thin. you can hear all the noise happening outside corridor !..This is very annoying during night time sleep.
5. The breakfast is good. Lots to offer...Juices, Cereals, Boiled Eggs, Scrambled Egg, Bacon, Sausages, Fruits, Bread, Croissants etc.
6. There are nearby good options to eat. The very next door "The Brito" offeres very good Italian cuisine at a reasonable orice and has a very good wide selections of Pastas, Pizzas, Risotos, fine Wine with good services.
7. So overall it is a large, modern hotel with many rooms , Free Wi-Fi , good efficient staff, good breakfast ...but rooms are compact with thin walls that can disturb your night sleep with outside noise in corridor. No swimming pool , No Spa..So maybe a 3 star hotel & may not be 4-Star as mentioned in their website.

Room Tip: Request for rooms in higher floor, with Balcony. You can have a quiet, romantic late night sitting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shailendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Location: If you enjoy walking, this hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk to the Florence city centre, or a 12 minute bus ride away. The walk is right along the Arno River, and quite enjoyable.

Hotel Comfort: Comfortable rooms, air-conditioned, free wi-fi and bf included. This is a very generic (>100 room) hotel, and has no vibe to it, like a B&B or boutique hotels. Staff was quite unfriendly. The shower was extremely tiny. No gym, pool, spa etc. in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonpais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I just returned from a tour across Italy that included this hotel and it's sister hotel in Rome, the Grand Palantino. Having completed this tour a few years ago, I returned with my daughter to find both hotels renovated and glowing.
I was pleased with the rooms, service, and breakfast. As travelers we must include the hotel as part of the experience and adjust our expectations from the large environments Americans are used to. After all, we spent minimal time in the room. We took in as much of Italy that we could before crashing, spent, into bed. My only negative comment is that the walls are thin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theladyswannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The positives are that the hotel looks modern from the outside and has a fancy foyer. The breakfast is fabulous, lots of variety and good quality food. It just seems ridiculous that this can be rated 4 star based on the standard of the rooms. They're small and just extremely basic, tired looking, view overlooking the car park. It's be a solid 3 star in the uk any day of the week, I don't know who decides these ratings.

Don't get me wrong, it's adequate but when you're paying 80 euros a night for 4 star, you expect it to be a bit above adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theengelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here while on a Trafagaler European Whril Tour, the hotel was lovely while we were there they were doing some remodeling, which did not effect our stay,The rooms were nice also the bathroom and we had a wonderful breakfast. We stayed in mid March and our room was warm so I opened the windows,for the night little did I know I woke up with mosquitos buzzing around me while I was sleeping, so that was the only negative thing having mosquito bites

Room Tip: Close the windows at night so no mosquitos can come in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
819 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#262 of 410 in Florence
716 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#105 of 410 in Florence
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 410 in Florence
1,097 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#197 of 410 in Florence
1,300 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £72 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing