We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #197 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Landenberg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location & good service”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Not to mention decent location to a lot that Florence has to offer. We were with a tour group & found the hotel to be the 4 stars that was stated. The service was great, the rooms were decent and the food was good. I'd stay here again when returning to Firenze!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    753
    537
    195
    118
See reviews for
461
713
67
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Very well appointed hotel within walking distance to fantastic shopping, dining and sightseeing areas. Very much enjoyed the continental breakfast and the staff was very accommodating in every way. Rooms were clean and comfortable with King Sized beds available.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank samuraiwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel stay was very enjoyable - a nice level of comfort and quality with a really great location.

I stayed in October during a spell of great weather and it made the visit to Florence really memorable; the hotel is a short walk to the main city centre attractions. The rooms themselves were nicely appointed with air conditioning, a bath and separate shower, toilet, bidet and nice quality towels and blankets. The breakfast was excellent with a full buffet offering the usual cooked and continental offerings. The restaurant food was enjoyable and the bar stayed open quite late into the evening - the only problem was the bar did not accept card payments so you need to charge it to your room - or if you complained enough, they would allow you to go and pay at the main reception!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrEDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This property is well within walking distance to the city centre of Florence. The food is not too bad but could do with some more variety especially for breakfast.

The rooms (once you find them) are quite spacious and offer everything you would expect in the rooms.

The reception staff are very helpful and professional.

Overall definitely a worthwhile property to visit for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located to the old city but still far enough from downtown to be very quiet. It has a very comfortable, open, and reasonable bar area including some outside seating. The staff was great and very good at getting us set with transportation and information. Others have complained about the breakfast, but I thought it was plentiful, nourishing (included Tuscan beans), and hearty enough to carry us through lunch even though we walked all morning. The coffee was very good once you learn how to use the self service espresso machines. There is a very good and reasonable restaurant immediately next door if you are too tired at day's end to walk back to the city center for dinner. The area immediately around the hotel includes a very inviting green space with short walking paths.

Room Tip: Our room at the end of the hall had low wifi reception. I have found this to be the case in many ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capeguy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Firenze was our first stop off in Italy as part of our 10 year anniversary holiday series. We arrived following an all day train ride from Paris at 21:00. After taking the bus routes to the hotel (I loved how Google Maps was integrated with the bus routes and times) it was a welcome sight to see the majestic hotel frontage.

The hotel certainly presents very well and has an open, airy lobby area. Check-in was quick and efficient and the friendly receptionist provided us with maps for touring.

There were only two issues we had with this hotel: the very thin walls between each room (very audible conversations from outside your room) and, albeit very welcome, the breakfast buffet scrambled egg offering (not sure how it was made but reminded me of boarding school powdered egg offering).

Apart from this, the hotel is very easily accessible on public transport routes, has a great view of the river and is very close to many convenience stores just a walk away.

We walked to all the sites, with the Duomo not very far away as well as the shopping district. The hotel does have a restaurant just outside, which caters for room service, but on holiday here makes that a wasted opportunity to eat amongst the locals.

On the whole, this hotel hosted us well and is certainly one to keep on your good list.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vuyo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is walk distance from all of the main things you might want to do in Florence, the food is great, although I recommend you eat in the local restaurants. The hotel rooms are proper but the bathrooms might be a little be too small. Coffee from the machine in the breakfast is HORRIBLE, but i came here to work and enjoy not to drink coffee after all. Internet signal might be poor in some rooms. The staff is nice and helpful with foreigners. They dont have an ironing machine which i find strange since this hotel gets a lot of business people on it. Drinks on the fridge are ridiculously expensive so go to the local small shops to get your drinks.
I was in this hotel during an event so i dint get to choose the hotel so I'm sure you can find other hotels in the area with same quality at a lower price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#206 of 411 in Florence
1,234 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#95 of 411 in Florence
857 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#102 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#242 of 411 in Florence
677 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 411 in Florence
794 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#115 of 411 in Florence
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing