We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, rooms very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #196 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed her as part of a group tour. Lobby and entrance were very nice, modern and clean. Room was just average, ours looked out onto a noisey parking area. It was only for one night, thank goodness! It was close to the Tuscan Hills where we had an amazing meal and wonderful experience in the countryside...that nmade up for the poor room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is modern, clean and close to the city's famous historic sites. Located along the river the view from the front of the hotel is spectacular. Just a 10 minute walk, 15 minute stroll to the Pointe Vecchio and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Got this hotel through Hotwire. It's a bit of a walk from the heart of the city, but the walk is definitely manageable (15-20 minute walk). The hotel looks very nice from the outside. The rooms are small. Only channel with English was CNN. Slept with the TV on because the walls were very thin. Could hear a baby crying. Requested to switch rooms due to the crying baby and the fact the wifi didn't reach our room, but were told we could only change if we wanted to downgrade our room. Since the room was already small, we were worried about downgrading so stayed in the same room. The breakfast was great. Had a large array of cold cuts and cheese, plus eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, pastries, and a few other goodies. The shower is extremely small. Tip: take a blow dryer, the one they have is like a hand dryer!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnyssaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a poor choice for many reasons. First, the location is removed from Florence's historic center. The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the Duomo, Uffizi and other major attractions. The hotel neighborhood itself is uninteresting. I would recommend something closer to the center. Second, the hotel lacks charm. It is geared towards large groups. If seeing tour buses disgorging large package tour groups at the main entrance is your thing, you'll have a blast. I would recommend something with more charms. Third, the rooms are old and dingy. Fourth, my room was infested with mosquitoes. All in all a poor choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueJaysFan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Web Manager at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Readers,

We are very sorry about this comment and we apologize if the clients did not like the room assigned, normally we use to change it if the clients come at the reception and ask another kind of the room;

For the rest of the points 1and 2, absolutely we have to inform all the readers about out right location of the hotel:

Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is located in front of historical walls of Florence, is at 1,5 km (20 minutes walking) from Uffizzi, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria e Piazza Duomo.

Moreover our location is a pleasant and romantic walk because you will come across the beautiful historical buildings along the Arno river and his green gardens where starts also bicycle path till the center of the town.

Our hotel has 331 rooms, from classic to deluxe room type, so when the clients reserve, They know that the hotel is a big hotel and it is possible to find leisure groups, business group for conferences (we have two congress centre) and individual people, for leasure or business.

We thanks again for all the opinion we receive.

Kind regards

Alessio Maggi
Web Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel's lobby would make you feel like it's a very new hotel but the rooms show differently. The hallways and the rooms looked old compared to the lobby. Nevertheless, it was still clean and well kept. No bad odors. I was able to sleep comfortably in the bed. However, the shower was so small. It was boxed by 2 dividers in the corner of the bathroom. Big built people would have a hard time taking a bath in it, seriously. I would advise those planning to stay here to request for a room with a bigger shower area.

As for location, we were able to walk to the cathedral and city centre of Florence. It took us around 15 minutes of walking to get to the beautiful churches and statues of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wasabi416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel was situated at a good and quiet location from the old center of Florence (approximately 15 minutes walk). It needs a little better room soundproofing. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast, polite staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thrafto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Alessio Maggi Web Manager at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, our best result is your best satisfaction!
Taking care of your consideration about room, we catch the opportunity for our regards hoping to welcome you soon again at Grand Hotel Mediterraneo.
Regards
Alessio Maggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel was very busy since it was New Year's Eve. Stayed 2 nights. Upscale, beautiful lobby. Small rooms, especially with 3 people in a room with luggage. Location was fine for our tour group but breakfast area was very crowded since it had so many groups staying there. Good variety of food offered. We were within walking distance of our restaurant for a New Year's Eve dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaTech1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
819 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#262 of 410 in Florence
716 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#105 of 410 in Florence
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 410 in Florence
1,098 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#197 of 410 in Florence
1,300 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £72 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing