We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel but let down by 'hidden' charge on check-out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #193 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but let down by 'hidden' charge on check-out”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here last week. Is about 25 mins from the Duomo so could be closer but was nice and quiet for us, plus a lovely walk in. Breakfast was a real bonus (don't normally find a decent breakfast in Europe, esp if included) - altho the same every day, it was filling, tasty and you weren't ushered out dead on 10am which made a nice change. Room was a bit small to be truthful and there were no drinks making facilities but it was clean and comfortable which I'd say were more important.

HOWEVER, my biggest gripe was being asked for a 32 Euro 'local tax' charge on departure. We were heading back to Pisa to take a quick look at the Leaning Tower and catch the plane home just after midday so the 100 Euro's in my pocket I thought would see out the trip nicely. But then I'm asked for this 'local tax' charge. Now I know this is quite common in Europe BUT I've looked again just now at the Otel website and the price DEFINITELY says 'including all taxes and fees'. I did argue the case and considered not paying but you're a bit caught when you think if they call the police you'll miss your flight - and that will cost more than the 32 Euro's.

So real pity and I would advise them (Otel and the Mediterranao) to sort it out and you to be wary. Not sure about European law but I know you wouldn't be able to get away with this in the UK. Left a very SOUR TASTE, shame!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Web manager at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Client and Readers ,
We would like to thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your views on the Hotel. We are sorry to hear that the confusion regarding the council tax has ruined your experience at our Hotel. In this particular case the booking was made through a less commonly used website not managed by us. Therefore, we cannot take responsibility for any incorrect advertisement on this site. We have agreements with a lot of agencies that sell online and offline which all mention that the City tax is not included in the rate. If you would like to check our own website, you will find that when booking any room, it states ‘The City local Tax from 01.07.11 euro 4,00 per person and per night is not included in the price.’
I hope this makes things more clear.
Thanks again,
Kind regards,
Alessio Maggi
Web Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    726
    510
    184
    114
See reviews for
446
682
63
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here even though it wasn't close to the sites because we thought we'd get a better stay at a 4 star hotel VS. a 3 star close to the sites, and we don't mind walking. Unfortunately we did NOT enjoy our stay, it was 75 degrees outside but the hotel refused to turn on the A/C because it was only mid-April... but who cares what the date is, if it's over 70 degrees outside then it should be available, the first floor and lobby area felt great, but we were on the top floor (5th) and it was way to hot, we couldn't sleep so we opened out windows and then got eaten alive by mosquito bites, i had 6 on my arms and 2 on my neck, and unfortunately we had to do the same thing for our second night, if we had to stay a 3rd night i wouldn't lost my mind. Another bad point of this hotel is that hardly anyone who worked there could speak english so it was very hard to talk with anyone. I know i'm in Italy so they shouldn't HAVE to speak english but many of the hotels employ people who do, which is better for tourists. The breakfast buffet was good though, best we've had in Italy. When i looked under the bed to make sure we didn't forget anything it was so disgusting, there were huge dust bunnies, it made me sick to think we slept in that room for 2 nights and it was so dirty. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: stay on the first or second floor if you must stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpope84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, web manager at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Readers and Dear Clients,

first of all we thank you for your opinion; we are sorry for your experience in our Hotel. We get note of the negative points and we will report them to our staff to check what happened; normally the service and the cleaning are our strengths.

We need to say something about the weather during your stay.

April, unfortunately is a crazy month regarding the temperature, some days are hot some days are cold, for this reason the aircondition is still off .

In a big hotel like the Grand Hotel Mediterraneo the change from winter to summer of the air condition system is not possible for one or two day only, Just for the information today ( April 17th) some clients ask hot air! This is one of the reasons because we can turn on the air condition only in May.

We thank you again.
Kind regards
Alessio Maggi
Web Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Located on the river Arno, on the way coming from Rome and Michelangelo Square. There are very good connections to the center and the train station (there are many bus stations nearby). There are about 30 minutes walking to the center (Ponte Vecchio).

Staff at reception was ok, but with a slightly superior attitude. Many groups, so often waiting time at reception is high.

Breakfast was good but could be better for the category /price of this hotel. Private underground parking (20 EUR/day). The city tax is 4 EUR/day/person. Very poor quality for WiFi, better in the lobby . Wire Internet is not free . Safe is free.

Rooms are ok, very clean, with hardwood floors (noisy if you have someone with high heels in the room above) and new furniture. Door soundproofing is not good. Corner rooms are slightly larger (there is a third bed available), writing desk, but TV is positioned so that it can’t be watched from the bed (but who comes to Florence to watch TV ???) . The bathroom is very large with bathtub, shower cabin, bidet and two sinks. For a 4 * hotel the glasses in the room could have been made of glass and not plastic :(.

There is only one small restaurant close (it belongs to hotel, so you have some discount, with must be mentioned before ordering), but the food is not so great, prices are high and the staff is not very polite. Better to eat in town.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, but you cannot watch TV from bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A bit more upscale, elegant lobby, helpful staff, a little out of the center of town where most attractions are but easily walkable in about 30 min. The bathroom was nice, with a tub and shower. There is only one electric outlet- seemed to be common in Italy. Can have a power converter on request. There is a free breakfast although we never had it- we were always to busy :) Overall a nice sized room and comfy bed. Staff is helpful although it is a pretty big and bust place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is nice but it is a bit of a walk to everything. Also the wall are very thin, you can hear everything. We first had a room on the 2nd floor near a stair case and had to move. The next room was on the 5th. It was better not being near the stair case but could still hear anyone talking that walked by. Also the wifi didn't work well in the room and had to use it in the lobby. Other then that the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo as part of a Trafalgar tour. Although the hotel is clean and reception is swift and quick to assist where needed, one tends to feel overwhelmed by the sheer volume of people staying at this hotel. Every time we arrived at the entrance, massive groups were either meeting in the lobby or checking in / out.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, but I feel that a 4 star hotel should at least have coffee / tea making facilities in the room as complimentary. The shower in the bathroom is a complete disaster! It is simply a curtained off corner with floor tiles that floods when you take a shower. Also the shower curtain clings to your body while taking a shower, making the process a utter mess. I also think there is a huge risk of one slipping and falling in the bathroom.

For disabled people the bathroom is however very accessible since it has grab rails at the toilet, bath, shower and bidet.

The airconditioning does not function in spring (a trend throughout Italy) and one has to open a window when things get stuffy. Remember some insect repellent for the mosquitoes!

The breakfast is a mass production affair. Avoid the powder instant scrambled eggs floating in water! But seeing that the hotel has to cater for huge groups, I think breakfast is acceptable otherwise.

The hotel’s close proximity to the centre of Florence is its only trump card and makes it acceptable, but far from great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
351 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here in mid-March while traveling with a group with Gate 1 Travel. We welcomed the larger and more modern room (#506) we were assigned. After just visiting Venice for several days, the space was very much appreciated! The lobby with its revolving entrance door was very spacious and the large chandelier was beautiful! Our room was more or less like for a "handicapped person" and had the extra space and fixtures accordingly. We enjoyed the large bathroom with large tub and shower...nice!! The beds were firm but very comfortable and had a large closet with a safe in the corner. The hotel is across the street from the Arno River and a nice walk to points of interest like the Ponte Vecchio, known as the "Old Bridge."
The breakfast buffet was included in our tour and was delicious and plentiful. The eggs and bacon are "soft cooked", but plenty of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, cereals, juices and delicious coffee to satisfy everyone.
The heat was on low in our room so we opened our window each night. There was a lot of traffic noise with cars and sirens each night along with the talking noise coming from the room next door. A great restaurant to check out is called La Taverna which is right around the corner and one block behind the hotel..worth checking out. We got there ahead of our tour group and glad we did...small but intimate place to dine!

Room Tip: If you get the chance, choose a room away from the traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 421 in Florence
1,172 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#93 of 421 in Florence
786 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#223 of 421 in Florence
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#125 of 421 in Florence
773 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#97 of 421 in Florence
694 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#85 of 421 in Florence
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing