We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand it is not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #195 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thankfully we only had to spend one night in this awful hotel. Room was tiny and stank of mildew and urine. Carpet was stained and frankly, it looked more like a hotel that is hired by the hour! Doors for example were covered in old carpet! Hallways were dark. Breakfast was okay. Location is good in that it is just a 10 minute walk to the main areas of Florence. But there are far better hotels in the area than this.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AWBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, web manager at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Clients
We thank you for the opinion!
In our reports we did not have any complaint regarding a room with the problem indicated.
We want inform all that the all our rooms respect standard in cleaning, in quality and requested for a 4 stars Hotel.
One last thing: …… “hotel that is hired by the hour” !!! We don’t know how are these kind of the hotels!!!
Regards
Alessio Maggi
Web Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We can't usually afford to stay in large fancy hotels, so for us this was a taste of luxury we rarely experience. It was wonderful to be treated with such thoughtful courtesy, to indulge in the fantastic breakfast, be fascinated by the mirrors and bidet in the gleaming bathroom, to spread out on the enormous bed. And all within a comfortable walk to the centre of one of the most beautiful cities in the world! The number 14 bus from the station drops you at the rear entrance of the hotel - the stop is named after the hotel, and the driver tells you where to get off. How could anyone complain?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarbonzoBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Thought location was good as ten minute walk into town and the hussle and bussle that goes with it.
Rooms were good we had 3rd floor with french doors that opened onto front of hotel where you had views of river across the busy road. Not too noisy at night though considering traffic flow, except few sirens etc.
We went with Riviera Travel and were impressed with the room size, due to earlier concerns with other trips with same company.
Shower pressure in room was very good and could noy complain about rooms at all.
Breakfast was a little concern though as all Riviera guests were placed in a room on their own with just two waiters who could not cope with replenishment of breakfast items and could not raise a smile between them. Breakfast was not much to write home about in any case ans the cooked breakfast they offered was just scrambled egg and srange tasting bacon that was mixed with spicy sliced sausage.

All in all for price on Riviera trip it was a good deal but think they need to package breakfast deals more in line with UK customers especially as on trips like this we all need to be ready for coach outings fairly early morning and hotel needs to supply staff to cope with the rush!

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooks river, but remember there is also a road between hotel and river that some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnBsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A good hotel jist off the high traffic area, but close enough to walk into the city. Rooms were largest in Italy we stayed in. Bathroom was also largest with tub and shower. Breakfast was typical of all Italian hotels. Staff was helpful and they have a nice restarant just next door that was good.

Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour, we were in the newly furnished found them incredibly noisy. Walls are paper thin,so bad that we even heard the neighbours alarm go off at 4.30pm. Timber floors were also very noisy. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel would be worthy of a better than average rating but for the noise problem experienced by many people. The hotel takes a number of tour groups, some only staying for one night, so through put at the hotel seems to be rapid.
Sound insulation through room walls, & to a lesser extent the doors, is very poor. Inparticular through walls where we, & others experienced, noise problems from an english speaking tour group who gathered in an adjoining room between 12 & 1am, may be because some of their rooms were small. Unfortunately the some accents can sound loud to others but the overall fault was not wholly that. It became clear in the morning when the maids were in their room, which by then had been vacated, that the maids also could be heard. The noise was actually coming through the electical fittings which must have been located back to back resulting in no solid material inbetween & probably no sould insulation at all. The space between the metal plates of the fittings seemed to have the effect of amplifying the noise.
Otherwise the hotel was fine, location was within walking distance of the centre, our room size was good, breakfast was OK but we did not use the restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJN7404NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was HUGE. Our room was so far away from the main entrance and you had to zig zag and use one elevator and then switch to another elevator in another section to get to our room. The hotel restaurant was NOT open to the public for dinner the evening we arrived. We were exhausted and wanted to get a decent meal without having to walk elsewhere to get our dinner. The good thing about this place was it was in a nice location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, web manager at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Clients and Readers of tripadvisor,
we thank you for the comment we will use the information to improve our service.

We just need to give some information about the Hotel.
The hotel has 331 rooms on six floors whit four elevators, so it is possible that the rooms can be assigned close the elevators or at the corner of the building!

About the dinner we have many solutions for it also during the night.
The hotel has restaurant inside (open till 10.00 pm in the evening) and another outside, very close just 5 meters away and it’s open till 2.00 am.
Moreover we have easymeal service 24 hours with some tasty dishes.
We thanking you again all for your attention, best regards .

Alessio Maggi
Web Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
831 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#106 of 409 in Florence
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#121 of 409 in Florence
263 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#100 of 409 in Florence
939 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £65 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing