We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality and price balance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #189 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality and price balance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very good location if you are in Firenze by car because you don't need to drive to Zona Traffico Limitato. Near Santa Croce, not far to / from Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio and Ponte Vecchio. Hop on hop off bus ( line A ) stops 100 m from the hotel. Modern, renovated hall, cozy 6th floor and rooms with terrace. Convenient parking, pleasant staff.

Room Tip: 6th floor deluxe with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vytis2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    713
    506
    180
    111
See reviews for
439
674
61
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We managed to get two adjoining rooms with a small living area between them which suited our family of five perfectly. The location is nice, very close to the river and within a short travel time to most of the locations. Food (breakfast only) was great, staff helpful. Only minor negative is that the lifts are very small, very slow/sometimes not working and some of them didn't go to our floor. But the room made up for it, with slightly restricted views of the cathedrals and the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view as some rooms face the less interesting part of the city, and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjungBaraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with the hotel location: close to museum,III Duomo and more sites. The #14 bus stop is around the back side of hotel. The staff are top notched; very pleasant, very helpful in arranging our reservations to the museums, providing bus and walking directions. The room was 5 stars: very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was 5 stars!...so much variety and top quality. The lobby was spacious and always secure and clean. WiFi is free in the lobby area. I would recommend this hotel for others to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jclouie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a busy hotel on a busy street, but traffic and noise are to be expected in a central location. As many reviewers stated, the main sights are all within walking distance. We stayed here for 2 nights on our Trafalgar tour, and we were out a lot, so I can't say that I remember much about our room. The lobby is large, and there were always people at the chairs and at the reception desk. Breakfast buffet was good, but as it got later the dining room became so crowded that sometimes it was hard to find a place for two people to sit together. Perhaps it was because other tour groups were staying here at the same time we were. There was a good variety of choices at the buffet but when some of the food got low the staff was slow to refill the items. There is a park across the street that borders the Arno, and it was nice to take an evening stroll.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beader88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a great stay here with the location being pretty central to most of the tourist locations. It's across the river from the Palazzo Vecchio. There are eateries and convenience stores close by as well.

The only "hassle" I had was that the concierge wasn't able to help deliver a postcard for me which I was more than willing to pay the necessaries. Good breakfast spread and overall good stay!

Room Tip: As it is right at the corner of a busy street, try avoiding the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loi_joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised about how upscale this hotel felt. The bathroom was the biggest and best that we had in Italy, and everything very clean and up to date. The location is about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio and Il Duomo, so not too bad. The beds were very comfortable, and the room itself was spacious.

It is not close to the train station so you will need to take a taxi or bus to the hotel if arriving by train. The 14C bus will take you to within one block of the hotel for 1.50 euro per person or a taxi will cost 15 euro. There is a tourist information office across the street from the train station that can help with a map and good directions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days during a business trip. I would not remember this hotel for anything out of the ordinary for a hotel of this category in the centre of Florence. Rooms are quite small, but location is close to the centre. Morning buffet is standard, the roasted ham is the best I have ever tasted, but the coffee was expected to be better. This is a safe choice if you decide to stay in Florence for your vacation or business trip. I liked the open and bright atmosphere in the lobby with everything (bar, reception, breakfast) co-located.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marquart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#219 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#101 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing