We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for visit to Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #53 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
rochester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for visit to Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Centrally located in a lively and interesting square, this is a very comfortable and friendly hotel. Food is excellent and we enjoyed watching the activity in the square - some guests called it scary but that's unfair - it is full of Florentines as much as anything else, so not just tourists and "people like us". Spent two very good evenings watching a man exercising his spaniel, lots of children playing and the local busker playing his selection of acoustic ballads. Only low point was the 5 minutes when he was frowned out by evangelical christians, but they soon moved on, thankfully.
Service is friendly and helpful, though it would be nice to have the downstairs bar open to sit inside in the cool when returning from plodding the pavements. However, overall, great hotel with great location - thanks to all the staff, especially the maitre d', for very attentive service.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite with a ,lovely view over Santa Maria Novella - good air con and large co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    572
    138
    51
    26
See reviews for
515
752
69
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and really loved it! We had a superior room with a view over the square and the room really was lovely. Very big for an Italian hotel room, light & airy, jacuzzi bath in the ensuite. The location is excellent, 4 minutes walk from the train station, in a lovely big square and you walk out the door and 5 minutes walk straight ahead you get to the duomo. The icing on the cake though is the roof top pool! Sitting by the pool with a view of the Duomo really was heaven! The breakfast was also lovely, great selection of fruit cheese, meats etc & fresh breads.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolooney81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights. I'm not sure if every room overlooks the piazza, but ours did and it was beautiful to open the windows and just take it all in! Hotel is only about 4-5 blocks from the Duomo, and an easy 2 minute walk from the train station. The train station in Florence is much smaller and less confusing than the station in Rome, so no need to leave extra early. Breakfast was ok, but I wouldn't expect much from any hotel that offers free breakfast, however we did have dinner at the hotel one night and it was very good. They also had the USA Today available on the tables outside of the breakfast room, which was a nice surprise. Our room was very spacious, and the rooftop terrace offers happy hour in the evenings with some nice snacks. Only negative was that the elevators were slow, but besides that this is a neat place to stay!

Room Tip: You'll want a room that overlooks the piazza. The higher the better so you can get a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing us for your stay and for so benevolently reviewing us. An extra special thanks (also from our chef!) for mentioning our restaurant: we have invested lots of energies and resources in our food & beverage department and I am truly happy this is appreciated. I just would like to take the opportunity to inform our TA users that we recently opened a gorgeous al fresco terrace on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella: dining with the church’s façade as a backdrop is a real delight.

I hope to have you back here in the near future!

Filippo Burroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Great location, very good size rooms considering european hotels, good buffet breakfast (also by european standards...), would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLINA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The desk staff were wonderfully helpful to us when a critical problem arose. My husband's wallet and passport were stolen by a pickpocket near the Uffizzi. The Manager called the consulate for us, and we were able to set up an appointment to get an emergency passport. The manager also gave us good advice on how to proceed. But then the following day someone called the hotel after finding my husband's passport and wallet (without the money of course) in the street. My husband had a MInerva receipt in his wallet, so the finder called the hotel inquiring. Another young man on the staff, Guilio, kindly called and set up an appointment with the finder, and drew us a map on how to get to the location to pick up my husband's passport. We are grateful and thankful for their help!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda47Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing (and reviewing) us again! A special thanks for mentioning my collaborator Giulio and myself. I sincerely think nothing special was done on our side: doing anything possible for our guests to enjoy their holidays or helping them solving inconveniences when they arise is our priority and it is our greatest satisfaction when we succeed at it. Well, in this case a stroke of luck helped out…
A small note on safety in Florence for TA users: the city is very safe, you can walk around downtown at any time without facing any danger. As in every tourist city, pickpockets may be around and our suggestion is to leave your valuables in your room’s the safe deposit box.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel,
Stefano Fusaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very good location- 5 min walk from train station
Spacious 3 people room
The rooftop pool and night view were great!
Receptionists were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RelenaShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nervous because we booked some while ago through Booking.com, then shortly before we were due to arrive we received notice that our booking could not be honoured because we had booked with a debit rather than a credit card ! Never happened before on the many times we have used Booking.com. We got round this by letting the hotel have my sisters credit card details (having never had a credit card ourselves). Our intention in any case was to settle our bill with cash.When the time came we were informed that there was a cash payment limit of 999 euros. Doh !! Our bill was over 1000 euros but fortunately we were allowed to pay the difference with yep, our debit card !
Having got that off my chest, let me say that we couldn't have picked a better hotel in Florence. The location was ideal, close to the station but in an almost traffic free square, the beautiful piazza Santa Maria Novella. All the major sights were within strolling distance as were shops, bars, and restaurants. The room ( a suite at the rear with a view over the rooftops to the facade of the church ) was comfortable, clean with a comfortable bed and seating. The breakfast was excellent ( loved the bacon, sausage and scrambled egg ) with plenty of choice. The staff were very helpful and cheerful and a real bonus was the rooftop pool, we had children in our party and the promise of the pool after all the culture kept them sweet. In conclusion, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caro103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your preference and for your very generous review. I just would like to point out a couple of things regarding credit cards and payment.
Whenever you book online you are requested a credit card as a guarantee for payment. This basically guarantees the hotel for late cancellations or no shows and hoteliers need to be able to charge it without having it in their hands. That is why we test credit cards a couple of weeks prior to arrival. Some debit cards do not allow this kind of remote operation and I think this was your case. When credit card tests fail, we contact our guests in order to allow them to check with their bank or credit card company, but never cancel the reservations without notice.
As to the cash limit, this is a recent regulation: hotels (as well as other activities) are not allowed to accept more than 999,99€ for the same service (stay) by the same guests. Debit cards (as well as Bancomats) are more then welcome, but, as I was saying, they need to be physically in our hands to be charged.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Florence,

Filippo Burroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#67 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#26 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Property: Grand Hotel Minerva
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing