We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #50 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location (literally a 5 minute walk from the train station) and because it was one of few in Florence having a pool. We booked a junior suite which was pretty much as depicted on the website, although there wasn't a balcony. It did have a wonderful view of SMN church.

The bed was very, very comfortable (a pleasant surprise since I had heard stories of uncomfortable beds in Italy). The room itself was bright, very clean and reasonably spacious. The bathroom was somewhat small, but the jacuzzi made up for the size of the bathroom.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful and made us feel quite welcomed.

The view from the pool area was spectacular. The pool itself was somewhat on the small side, as was the surrounding area, and was fairly crowded as it was 104 degrees when we visited.

I would highly recommend this hotel and certainly will return if I have occasion to visit Florence again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the hall, they are quieter, room 326 has a lovely view and is quite sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was a fantastic hotel. The room were large, clean and the ac was great. The rooftop pool was amazing and very welcome in the heat of August. The breakfast was super and varied, and very organised. The staff were exceptionally helpful, arranging tickets for the Academia, recommending good restaurants and bars. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldw34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here in the middle of July. The location is perfect especially if you are arriving or departing by train. Its only a block from the train station and only a short walk to the Duomo.

The room was clean and a good size - but a standard room isn't really depicted in the Hotel Photos. We did have a room with a view of the Piazza though. Other reviewers have complained about the noise but it didn't really cause us any problems.

Breakfast was included in the price and was quite reasonable - not overwhelmingly good or bad either, however staff were very efficient.

The hotel gets an extra point not only for its location and reasonable price but for the really great rooftop pool area with fabulous views.

All in all, its a pretty good hotel at a good price - if I returned to Florence, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the piazza - lovely for when the sun goes down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_debruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We chose this place largely for the pool and the brilliant location. Walking distance from the train station. We emailed ahead as we were staying here for 5 nights prior to our wedding. We were given a stunning room which had a lovely double balcony over looking the square and the Duomo each morning. Beds were super comfortable. Breakfast was really good and the pool was a great place to chill out with our daughter. Highly recommend and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square was stunning. A balcony is worth the extra as the views were amazing. Would d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPJBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights.
The location is amazing - it is close to the station and any site you want to go to. The staff were excellent - we arranged a late check in and we walked through the door to be met by staff knowing our name and everything was arranged. The pool is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJT456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We arrived by train and walked only about 3 blocks to the Grand Hotel Minerva, grandly situated on the piazza of Santa Maria Novella. The hotel was fabulous : Cheerful, happy, helpful staff; Reliable recommendations for area restaurants; Quick response in calling taxis; Roof garden and pool for late afternoon relaxing and refreshments; good sized, modern, clean rooms; Local and international papers in a very nice sitting area; and a great breakfast. What more could one ask ?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bub50Westport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 3 nights here and thought the hotel was great. The pool on the roof was so welcome after a day walking around the city. Staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast was lovely and the room was spacious. The location was fantastic too, it was a few minutes from the station and you could walk comfortably to any of the tourist attractions from the hotel.
A few people on trip advisor have complained about the pool being busy with children etc., but really the fact that the hotel even had a pool was a big bonus for us. There were limited spaces for sunbathing and possibly there could have been some more umbrellas for shade but I guess it depends where you priorities lie in coming to a hotel in the heart of Florence, if you want a big swimming pool, go to a resort!
The only criticism I did have was with the air conditioning that didn't go below 24 degrees. When we asked at reception we were given a fan in a room which was great, but I think others that complained later in the week weren't so lucky! Also the hotel bar never seemed to be open and the bar by the swimming pool didn't do coffee after 10pm, iit would have been nice to have drinks up there in the evening.
Overall, however, a lovely hotel, great service and fantastic pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabyOboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,705 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,891 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,635 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £117 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 97 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing