We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #53 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Location is fabulous, few blocks from the Doumo. Really friendly Staff, Roberta was very kind and profesional but above all I noticed she is really sweet and playful with kids. The pool on the roof is a very nice treat after long walks on summer days. Breakfast is very good and thres plenty options for every taste, would gladly go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    572
    138
    51
    26
See reviews for
515
752
69
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We just returned from a trip to Italy and stayed at the Grand Hotel Minerva for 3 nights. The location is perfect. As we arrived and departed by train, the 5 minute walk from the train station made it unnecessary to hire a taxi. You can't miss the hotel when you come around the corner of the church as it is well marked.The short walk was pleasant, even with the heat and luggage. This hotel is also within walking distance of all of the tourist sites. One of our tours left from "all the way across town" and it was a pleasant 20 minute walk. The staff was helpful wth maps, directions, etc.

We had three in our party, including a teenager. On arrival, we were taken to a family room on the 5th floor that overlooked the piazza and I must say it exceeded our expectations. The views out the windows included the entire piazza, the Santa Maria Novella church and the Duomo in the distance. Some reviews have complained about the noise in the piazza, but it didn't bother us at all. If you close the windows and the shutters it blocks out the light and most of the noise. The room had a king bed (OK actually two twins pushed together) plus a sofa bed that already had linens on it so it appeard to be a bed. Beds were all comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE with abundant marble, a nice walk in shower and separate tub with updated fixtures. Bathrobes and slippers were a nice finishing touch. The room had enough electrical outlets for us to re-charge all of our electronic devices at the same time (we found that rare in Italy!). The breakfast buffet was handy with a good selection of hot and cold foods. Plenty of space to eat and you could get in and out quickly.

I know many have mentioned the rooftop pool and bar, but there are also many small courtyards tucked away throughout the hotel that are accessible to guests if you are looking for something more private. There is a really nice one just off of the elevators (I think on the 4th floor). Complete with lounge chairs and an umbrella with views of rooftops.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We wanted to have a Florence hotel as a base for visiting Tuscany. It needed to be close to the centre of the old town so that all the visits to the Florence museums and churches could all be done within a few minutes walk. It needed to be in a quiet location away from traffic noise but also close to the railway/bus station to access the airport at Pisa and for visiting other notable Tuscan towns. It needed to outside or close to the edge of the controlled traffic zone so we could hire and garage a car without incurring extra charges and having to wind through tiny streets barely wide enough for a horse and cart. It needed to be clean, comfortable and ideally have a pool to cool down in the hot July afternoons. The Grand Hotel Minerva more than satisfied all these requirements. Evening visits to the pool on the roof terrace was a huge hit with our 12 year old daughter following sightseeing visits in Florence and further afield. The breakfast buffet was varied enough to suit all our various tastes and included in our stay. The bar next to the pool and the restaurant were expensive but I guess this is a quality hotel so you would expect that. There are so many places to eat and drink locally that this is not a problem. The Piazza Santa Maria Novella in a large but generally quiet square both day and night but is so close to the heart of Florence that it really is the perfect location.
We really enjoyed our week in Florence and this is in large part because we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Went for the announced panoramic terrace summer aperitivos promoted in the summer in Florence. The place is beautiful and view of the city from Santa Maria Novella, but got there within the time frame of the aperitivo and there was not any food left, they called for more and brought enough for two people, we were almost 10. Service was very nice and kind but also the cocktails left much to desire.... so thirst was not quenched nor hunger tamed! Would not go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilySu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear LilySu2013,
Let me first of all thank you for having chosen our Sky Bar and for having dedicated your time to reviewing it.
A special thank for pointing out the service and attitude of our staff.
I am really sorry that our Aperitif did not meet your expectations.
I would like to inform our mutual readers that every day our bar on the roof toop is open till midnight and from 7.00 pm to 9.00 pm serves an Aperitif accompanied by small snacks.
As reservations are not accepted, in case of small groups of friends, we recommend to inform the hotel in advance.

Filippo Burroni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent 5 days, 4 nights, at the Grand Hotel Minerva on our visit to Florence, and while pricey, do not regret the decision. The room (family suite) was great for us (family of 4 with 2 teens) and offered plenty of space. The rooftop pool was used everyday in the hot afternoons, and allowed us to re-energize and enjoy the evenings. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was well presented with good variety, and the location was central to allow for walking access everywhere you wanted to go. Only down side would be that the restaurant, bar, etc. was very pricey, even with it being in Florence, but there are plenty of options close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland_Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

After a delayed flight we were pleased to arrive at the Minerva. It is in a central square, and outside was a bench which seemed to attract the locals as a point to meet and picnic, luckily for us our room did not look over the square but onto a small back courtyard so we did not have any noise issues.The hotel is in a great location, it is very easy to walk to interesting sights and good restaurants.The roof top terrace was a lovely feature of the hotel, and the swimming pool a plus after a day sightseeing in Florence.Our room was a standard room it was adequate but the bathroom could probably have done with some updating.The biggest disappointment to me was the breakfast,especially at the weekend there did not appear to be enough staff on, and if you wanted anything you had to ask for it.Items were not replenished as they ran out, no orange juice, no yoghurts no scrambled eggs no bacon all this at 10.15 and breakfast did not end until 10.30. At 10.30 precisely everything was cleared away,This happened two mornings running but on the third a big surprise enough staff, and items replenished. I think for a four star hotel this should happen every day.That said reception and housekeeping staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapdragon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for having chosen our property and having dedicated your time to reviewing us. What you refer regarding our breakfast services deeply surprises and worries me. This is definitely not the standard of service we usually offer to our guests.
I would like to inform our common readers that you have helped us providing exact information on your stay dates and that thanks to your precious help a deep internal audit has already started. We will go all necessary steps in order to avoid similar situation in the future.
I look forward to having you again among our guest.

With my kindest regards,

Filippo Burroni -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Close to everything yet quiet location. Rooftop pool small but lovely. Breakfast nice with best coffee in Italy. I really enjoyed my stay and would return. Great helpful staff with directions car etc!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notadq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#26 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Property: Grand Hotel Minerva
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing