We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filled the expextations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #52 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filled the expextations”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in September, 2013. We chose the hotel based on the location, as it offered good access both from the airport and the railwaystation, both of which we used during our trip. The location was spot on, exactly what we wanted.

When arriving close to the earliest check in time, we got our room immediately without a hassle. This is something one appreciates after travelling all day. It was a nice extra to get a map with some tourist tips to start with. When checking out, this was also handled smoothly, although someone had been dishonest and had given our room number to charge something from the bar. Hope that these guests were honest enought to pay their bills when checking out.

The room was good for us, as it faced the backyard away from the square in front. This was perfect for us, and we were able to sleep tight in this peaceful room. The room had everything that we needed. The only thing that seemed a bit outdated was the bathtub, in which the plug (right word?) did not allow the water to drain fast enough even then showering. The water pressure was okay, but not excellent. Also the faucet was awkwardly positioned as one tempted to kick it with ones knee when showering and turn the water off or change its temperately unintentionally. Otherwise we had everything we needed. The ability to adjust the airconditioning was nice, as it was set too cold for us, as we cannot stand too much of a difference between temperature outside and inside. It is also so unecological to cool the rooms so much while weather is hot.

We enjoyed the breakfast, although in our opinion some of the praises heard were a bit too much to the variety and quality of food. It was good though, and nice atmosphere, too. One morning a young lad (another customer) talking to his mobile out loud and walking back and forth was a little bit of a nuisance, but otherwise we enjoyed the breakfast.

Thanks for a nice stay in Minerva/Florence!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayNeeded63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    583
    140
    52
    26
See reviews for
535
782
74
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel was amazing! The staff couldn't be more helpful, very attentive to all our needs! Room
Cleaned every day and breakfasts were brilliant! Couldn't recommend this hotel more!!!! Views were amazing when swimming in the lovely pool! I'd recommend going in September as we were privalidged enough to attend there end of summer party which was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucielu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I originally tried to book directly with the hotel but it was sold out and it was suggested that I use an on-line booking site. I was reluctant to do so but had no choice since my options were running out.

Once I completed my on-line booking I advised the hotel with my confirmation number and was assured that I would be happy with the accommodations. To my surprise, I was allocated a Junior Suite upon check-in and want to thank Giacomo and Claudia in the reservations department for their help.

Location - This hotel is conveniently located in Piazza Santa Maria Novella and within walking distance to most places of interest in Florence.

Room - The Junior Suite on the 3rd floor was spacious enough with a seating area that had a working desk. The bedroom area was large with a flat-screen TV. Lucky that the air conditioning worked extremely well with 36C+ temperatures outside during my visit. The wireless internet coverage was weak and I had to re-connect several time. This could have been due to the fact that my room as at the end of the hallway.

Hotel - I was warmly greeted at reception upon my arrival and the front desk staff was always helpful. The roof-top pool area has a wonderful panoramic view of Florence. The common areas are well kept and clean. Breakfast was included in my room rate but the buffet selection could have been a little better. Service at breakfast was wonderful and all my requests were attended to.

Overall, I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would gladly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Good location for seeing Florence, only a few minutes walk from the train station. Arrived a couple of hours before official check in but they had a room available for us. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room was clean and tidy on 5th floor. Restaurant was very good excellent quality food served by excellent staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence. Wish we were still in Florence now missed our meal and the friendly staff Last night and tonight. We have moved on to a 5star hotel by the coast but it does not come up to the high standard set by the Grand Minerva. Definitely the best hotel of our trip this year for service staff and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTWEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york/California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is my third time staying at the amazing Minerva. I don't know where to start about the experiences I continue to have here. The staff is incredible, the locations is perfect, the views are priceless, and the pool adds a great touch to the trip. Instead of coming back to the hotel after a day of walking and not having anything to do, the pool is the BEST place to relax, have a drink and to get some sun and swim in.

I am always so impressed with the front desk staff. Our initial room didn't have the view we were hoping for, so we were upgraded to an amazing suite because it was available. No questions asked, no asking or persuading- they just did it. THANK YOU HOTEL MINERVA FOR ANOTHER FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calinyfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Returning happy customers is the greatest satisfaction you can have as a hotel manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence.
Filippo Burroni – General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The duplex suites are huge and easily slept the 5 of us. Parents even had a private room upstairs so we could be left in peace!!. They are fantastic value for money and overlook the square. nice touches of sweets and free water and biscuits coffee and tea making facilities and nice freebees in the bathrooms (we had 2) good showers and effective air-conditioning. Amazing high ceilings with a small balcony onto the square-simply perfect and great value for money.

Friendly staff, good breakfast, rooms always cleaned and turned down at night. The pool on the roof was a winner. WE would spend half the day doing culture and the other half doing relaxation around the pool enjoying the sun and views across to the Duomo which was less then 5 mins walking away. Drinks and food a little expensive but suck it up and look where you are!! then you realise value for money. Pool water was a bit cold initially but after a few lengths could stay in for 30 mins just admiring the views.

Lots of supermarkets to the left of the hotel as you leave and left onto the road no more then 2 mins away.

We ate everywhere, the best restaurants are over the Ponte vecho bridge, turn right onto the road 2 back from the river and walk 5 mins, loads of restaurants all really good and great value. Can only remember Dante restaurant (across from another that was pure class) which gave me one of the best steaks I have ever had Steak Florentine aged 24 months-wow could barely walk afterwards!! 40Euros but worth every penny.

Ice cream shops everywhere-all good.

We all fell in love with Florence and when we return it will be to the Minerva!

Room Tip: Duplex was great value for family of 5. Go up to level 5 and before going up stairs to swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrancombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The pool and its views and its bar were alone worth the stay. The service was amazing and the location could not have been better. It was a five minute walk from virtually everything including the train station.

Room Tip: the views from higher floors are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 422 in Florence
1,273 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 422 in Florence
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Property: Grand Hotel Minerva
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing