We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #50 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel was very close to the train station, which was very helpful for us because we only stayed one night and left on a train for Venice the next afternoon. It is about 5 minutes walk from the main cathedral in Florence and all of the sights. We got two rooms for our family and both were reasonably spacious, very clean, and well-equipped. My bed was very comfortable and the bathroom much larger than expected. The roof area was also very beautiful - we came in winter so the pool was closed but the roof was still open to wander around and look out over the city. My only small complaint would be that the decor of the rooms was relatively bare compared to the pictures on the website.

Room Tip: We had rooms looking over the plaza and it was beautiful. No street noise at night but you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Within waking distance from train station and set on picturesque piazza. We especially enjoyed the bed linens. The balcony room had view of Duomo. Enjoyable, tasty but expensive dinner and room. Full breakfast included.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 401cottagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Florence is amazing and this hotel is in a fantastic location, with views of the Cathedral etc. However, this hotel didn't quite live up to our expectations.

It was clean, functional and the staff were courteous but I felt it lacked the Italian sparkle I've come to expect. The decor was a little tired and old fashioned and I feel as though you are paying a premium for the location alone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you for having chosen our property for your stay in Florence and for your nice words of appreciation of our staff and cleanliness. I am sorry that the décor of our premises did not fully match your expectations. I am just inviting our mutual readers to check the pictures shot by our guests on this same website and those on our website so they can have a precise idea of what to expect. As to the price it is a fact that hotels downtown Florence cannot be expected to be the less expensive accommodation in town, especially in September, but would also like to add that in addition to its very convenient location our hotel features a nice open air swimming pool on its rooftop with really great views of Florence, which is something unique in the city.
I trust you will consider our property for a future stay in our city.

With my best regards,

Filippo Burroni – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Grand Hotel Minerva, my first being 5 years ago during my first trip to Florence. Now, having more hotels to compare it to, I can say that this hotel is a very nice hotel. The breakfast buffet provides a good variety of pastries, cereals, breads, juices, and other items, including eggs, bacon and sausage. The room (207) was large enough with a real double bed (not 2 twin beds locked together), and a pretty ample bathroom, especially by European standards. The light could have been a bit brighter in the bathroom, but was adequate.

The service at the hotel was quite good. For example, one morning, I noticed that my TV was not working for some reason. I told the front desk about the issue, and by the time I came back in the evening, not only was my TV (a good sized flat screen) working again, there was also a tray of fruit on my desk!

The location (very close to the main train station) is a great springboard for further travels in Tuscany, and is very convenient to many great restaurants, shopping, and the historic sites of Florence. Also, being an early riser, the 7 AM church bells (from Santa Maria Novella) are no bother to me. In all, I was very pleased with my 6 night stay, and will likely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryvM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is really great to read that you have remembered of us after 5 years and many hotel visited in the meantime. A special thank for mentioning our service and for your understanding that things may stop working properly and appreciating our house engineer’s work.
As to double beds, I think it fair to advise our common readers that several of our double rooms actually have two twins locked together, so if having a single mattress is an issue, please let us know as early as you can: we will do our best to comply with your request
We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, hopefully before 5 more years pass by!

With my kindest regards,

Filippo Burroni – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Florence, my husband and I didn't use any kind of transport at all!! All landmarks are at a walking distance..
When we checked-in they informed us that we have been upgraded to the biggest Suite in the Hotel, it was a great surprise but once we reached the Suite and saw the view.. OMG!! it was just Amazing, you can see from the window the full Piazza Santa Maria Novella and everyday at around 4:00 or 5:00 PM there was a group of very talented musicians who came and played very nice music in the Piazza :)
The staff is wonderful & helpful, the breakfast was good and the room was huge and even included a Jacuzzi..
On top of the terrace there is a very nice swimming pool
In front of the hotel, there a variety of great restaurants.
The below pictures are the view from our Suite :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a great location, the train station behind, a big open square out front, walking distance to everything and a spectacular view of the duomo from the rooftop terrace which has a small pool. A great place for sunset cocktails. The breakfast buffet is also quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonbons57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel three nights early November. The location is fantastic and about 5 minutes walk fro the Termini and bang next to the Basilica Santa Maria Novella. The square outside is beautiful and some very good restaurants are located just across the hotel. The roooms are big, beds too, good quality linen. The bathrooms too were decently sized and the toileteries of good quality. The staff very helpful and all our requests were met with a smile. The breakfast was excellent and had a great variety. The only problem was that AC's are turned off and we had to keep the window open for some air circulation, which meant that mosquitoes came in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 410 in Florence
1,705 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,885 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#55 of 410 in Florence
1,634 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £118 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 97 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing