We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #52 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The rooms are comfortable, nothing special for the high price you pay. But the location and terrace are extraordinary. Rooftop pool is amazing. The most incredible city view we've ever experienced. Nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    576
    139
    51
    26
See reviews for
526
762
70
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel with a good location!! The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly especially the peruvian guy, he was the best!! Very good breakfast. It is very well located, very close to the train station and the little streets around the hotel have many cool restaurants. The best feauture about this hotel is the AMAZING panoramic terrace!! It has breathtaking views for pictures and an awesome pool and little seats and tables to chill for a while. I totally reccomend this hotel, great job!! Give a raise to the peruvian guy, very friendly guy best in the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ceciliabeatriz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our first room here was light and airy but the air con did not work very well, so we were moved to a smaller room for one night before moving to a room with a view of the piazza the next day. The staff were very good during all of these changes, and a huge plate of fruit was put in our room for the inconvenience of having to move. We were also given free drinks in the the bar for our troubles. The way our problems were handled was so polite and so easy that I can only think positively about the hotel. It is in a fabulous location, 5 minutes walk from the train station, 5 minutes walk from the Duomo, and 10 minutes to a beautiful park in which we went jogging each evening with seemingly half the Italian population of Florence. Breakfast was a nice enough buffet (plain croissants would be a nice addition), and the bar on the roof had excellent views across the red rooftops. The view from the pool was great, out over the Duomo and surrounding towers. The pool area was always busy, but well-kept and even if I had to lay my towel out on the floor rather than get a lounger it was no problem.
We chose this hotel because we it was close to the train station and it had a pool. It did not fail on either of these things and we take away only good memories.

Room Tip: A view of the square is nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here recently and enjoyed our stay. We had booked a suite and on arrival we were given a suite on the first floor (old style, frescoes on the ceiling, antique furniture, canopied bed etc). Unfortunately we just didn't like it, 1) it was very dusty and my asthma started playing up immediately, 2) the décor was not to our taste at all, 3) it had a shower over the bath, 4) it was just above where the ambulance station appears to be on the square. Fortunately we were able to be moved pretty quickly to another suite on the 5th floor and we were much happier here with more modern amenities, and was as we had expected from our booking description.

Breakfast was included which was good and plentiful. The restaurant staff in the mornings were very pleasant and welcoming.

Loved the rooftop pool and bar.

There is quite a bit of noise from the square early in the morning as cleaners come by to pick up rubbish etc.

Overall a very happy stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrf1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

No information about the roof top terrace and pool being closed upon reservation nor arrival, despite this being the main attraction of this old, worn-down hotel. Room located next to storage and cleaning facilities made my visit very noisy (6am wake ups every day) and I was prized for a 2prs stay, despite only being me. Location not ideal and only upside was the breakfast salons and the helpful staff here - and the fact that it was a business trip. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank _soffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I am really sorry that your stay at our hotel has proved so unsatisfactory. Let me try to address your points for what I can.
Pool closed: our website (as well as those online travel agencies which support this kind of information) was stating that our pool this year would be open from June to September (while it normally is from May to September). The pool was actually opened some days in advance during the last decade of May. Instead we were hoping to have the rooftop terrace available long before the pool was ready. Unfortunately this has not been possible due to unexpected technical reasons and our communication regarding this point has actually not been timely and complete. I would like to apologize to you and to all those who have suffered a similar inconvenience.
As to the noise reaching your room, I am sorry that this has troubled your sleep. I wonder if you had a chance to talk to our staff at reception to see if there was a quieter solution available. I am pretty sure that they would have been able to help you there (by the way, thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff at breakfast.)
Regarding your bill I would really like to better look into this issue. We have several rate plans or rooms categories where there is no difference between single and double occupancy or where you cannot change the reservations details (for example if a non refundable rate had been chosen). Of course mistakes can always occur and if this has been the case and you have not been refunded, we are of course ready to do it right now. Please, do not hesitate to contact me at fburroni@grandhotelminerva.com at your earliest convenience.
I truly hope you will give us a second chance when in Florence, if not for staying with us overnight, at least to check our brand new rooftop terrace and pool. I would be obliged to invite you to a drink at our 360 lounge bar and let you enjoy the gorgeous views on our city that were unjustly denied to you during your stay.

With my warmest regards,
Filippo Burroni – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here one night on first night of a 2-family vacation to Italy. Hotel gave us adjoining rooms with two separate bedrooms and balconies overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Location couldn't be beat, and valet parking was very helpful (though it was cool but intimidating to drive onto a pedestrian piazza to get to the hotel's front door and drop off luggage). Roof-top pool was a huge treat with terrific views and a decent bar. Staff were also terrific on restaurant recommendations. Hotel is also right behind the main train station, 3 blocks from the Duomo, so super easy to get around on foot. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, especially those with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently had 4 nights at this fantastic hotel. We booked two superior rooms (rm 204 & 206) overlooking the beautiful Piazza. We didn't find the noise from outside disturbing. The rooms were very large and in the room with queen bed we had a very large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. The beds were very comfortable and rooms came with kettle, (unusual for Italy) tea, coffee and biscotti and a fresh bottle of water each morning. The pool on the roof is gorgeous and the view is amazing. To be able to sitting in the pool and look out over the rooftops of Florence and see the The Duomo is magical. And the bar at the pool is great with fab cocktails.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful and it is a perfect location for visiting Florence. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the Duomo. There are plenty of good restaurants on the Piazza and a great gelato shop right on the corner.

We loved our stay and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had rooms 204 and 206 overlooking the piazza. They were both large and very comfortable. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightnBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Property: Grand Hotel Minerva
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing