We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, lots of personality and charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Palace Hotel
Ranked #150 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, lots of personality and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for our first trip to Florence, and absolutely everything was perfect. The fun quirky charm of this converted villa hotel immediately captivated and wowed us. The room was spacious and beautiful - ours was on the side with private veranda/balconies, and furnished with gorgeous antiques.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side of the hotel have a view of Florence, and rooms on the other side have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    123
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
72
148
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel is located in a beautiful neighborhood with lots of trees. Their garden is modest and the pool would be nice on a hot day. If staying in Florence without a car I would recommend staying closer to downtown, the hotel is located at least a 45 minute walk from S.M.N. Train station. If in fact you do stay at this hotel and do not have your own transportation the easiest way to get there is to take the #12 or #13 bus. The bus ride is about 35 minutes but it saves you from having to walk up very steep hills and climbing a ton of stairs.The ticket for the bus is only 1 euro 20 cents that can be purchased in the trian station from the duty free or newspaper stand. If you take the #12 bus get off at the Galileo #5 stop and the hotel is about 50 meters, to the right. If you take the #13 bus get off at the Fort Belvedere stop and you'll be located on the same side of the street just head to the left when you exit the bus, the two stops are virtually across the street from each other. Use the cross walks as the road is very busy. We only had breakfast once at the hotel since we had to get such an early start walking in the morning, the breakfast was a standard European breakfast, a mix between pastries and cold cuts. The employees were also very helpful although the cleaning ladies do not understand English. The ladies at the front desk were very nice and extremely helpful with directions. DO NOT go to the Piano Bar/Restaurant down the street from the hotel, they charge 8 euro for their cocktails and the food is substandard, take the bus into the city and get yourself a real meal. Overall the hotel was nice, the room was a little dated and we definitely paid way more than what we should have. We stayed in the 'Bellavista' room, it connects to another guest room which is nice for children but we didn't travel w/ kids so it was a little intruding. The showerhead also was broken and didn't work, the water pressure also was overpowering, it literally stripped skin off, make sure you turn the shower on as little as possible. Maybe find a cheaper place located in the city.

Traveled October 2011

Room Tip: Use the mass transit to and from downtown bus 12 stop Galileo 5 or bus 13 stop Fort Belvedere. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Recently returned from a 4 night stay in Florence 2 nights of which were spent here as Hotel Berchielli was full after our initial 2 nights. To be frank I do not see the attraction of this hotel. It is 10-15mins from the centre and with few restaurants nearby. We would even have had to book for a meal here! Our "superior" room was really dismal and a bit shabby. The communal areas are nice but during our stay used as extra office space! Yes there is a modest and nice garden and cold pool but if one is in Florence for sightseeing I think it far preferable to be in the centre where everything is including plenty of super restaurants!
I see reference to good breakfasts but I disagree entirely as I think they were adequate with the only cooked item being a boiled egg eaten in an overcrowded room.

Not really for me and not a patch on the Berchielli at roughly the same price.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gollWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Hotel is in a great spot, very convenient for local public transport, quiet with exceptional service. Will go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arossny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights in June. Had a large room away from the main building which was fine. Room was clean and comfortable with on suite bathroom. Found the staff friendly and breakfast were excellent as were the evening meals when we chose to eat at the hotel.

The main building was a little tired looking but had plenty of character. Eating on the balcony was a pleasant and relaxing experience overlooking the garden and swimming pool.

Although this hotel is not central to Florence it is located on the hill near Boboli Gardens south of the river. Getting to and from the hotel is easy as a bus stopped outside the hotel entrance which is set back from the main road. The trip from the hotel to the main station took on average 10-15 min. You can walk to the center of town which takes you down the hill, through a narrow street to the river coming out near Ponte Vecchio. This takes about 20 min. Walking back after touring around Florence would depend upon your level of fitness ... we caught the bus!

The attraction to us was the location of the hotel. After spending the day in Florence walking around the sites and the hustle and bustle of the city it was nice to relax in a more natural shady environment and have a dip in the swimming pool. A great peaceful end to the day.

We would certainly use this hotel again if we return to Florence and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcopoloEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here for a romantic getaway and found the superior room we were allocated quite tired and old. The bathroom required updating although everything was clean and the staff were friendly.
I think this would have been a fantastic break had we been allocated one of the renovated rooms but unfortunately this was not the case. The boiler also broke down and we were left one night without heating or hot water.
It rained all week when we were there so an English speaking Channel on the TV (apart from the news) would have helped with the boredom.
Also the restaurant was closed becuase it wasnt peak season and we were sent down the road to another which which charged us 6 Euros each for table charge!
I would rate this as a 3 star and not a 4.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wholenut13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here for just 1 night. Had an attic room called 'Alcove', which had an absolutely tiny window like a prison cell. Staff friendly, breakfast good. The only thing that put us off (apart from the tiny natural light source) was we had to pay 8 euros on departure on top of room rate for city tax - thought that was a bit cheeky. About 35 mins to get to hotel from station on no.13 bus, but only 10 mins back into town, 2 euros for each trip- good value. Receptionist gave us a short cut to walk into town about 18 mins downhill, but of course up hill back!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ritaod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#193 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#172 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Palace Hotel

Property: Park Palace Hotel
Address: Piazzale Galileo 5, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Florence
#87 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#106 Family Hotel in Florence
#109 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Palace Florence
Hotel Park Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing