We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, steer clear of restaurant”
Review of Park Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Palace Hotel
Ranked #173 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place, steer clear of restaurant”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very nice hillside villa with nice views. Street it is on is a little busy with cars and mopeds. We had the room for 4 above the entrance. Super nice for 4!
Pretty far to walk to downtown but the 12/13 bus is about 1E and is timely.

Just stay away from the restaurant for dinner. The only dinner worse than this was on the plane.
'fresh handmade tortellini' was frozen Bertolli ravioli. Salmon was dried (microwave). Service was awful. Deliver appetizers,waitress disappeared for 20 minutes to have a smoke, still no plates, reminded her, 10 minutes later, reminded her again.....and so it went. 300€ for 4 and it S***ed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    124
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
73
151
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The location is great though it is 20 minutes walking tom the center. The hotel looks like a real palazzo, looks more expensive than it's in reality. The room was spacious but aircon not working properly on the third floor?
However definetely value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markku m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The location is nice though it's 20 minutes walking tom the center - real 20 minutes, full speed. The hotel looks like a real palazzo, looks more expensive than it's in reality. The room was spacious, but the view was on construction yard. A little bit noisy because of the road nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plushkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Located just outside of main city on top of hill
• Hotel full of history and enjoyed eating in dining room with all its history
• Smoking allowed on the terrace which floated into the dining room one morning at breakfast which was not pleasant
• Food Menu limited but nice
• Free wi-fi in room
• Twin beds were extra wide and lovely and comfortable
• Lovely to sit in an armchair in the room
• Swimming pool and lovely gardens
• Lovely quite location.
• Taxi’s easy access to city and not expensive approx 7 euro
• Antique furnishings
• Excellent shower, best we have had at a hotel on our Italian journey.
• No safe provided

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parisdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

November 2007 I found this hotel very charming with its distinct personality. My teenager noted immediately that it smelled old "like Papa Frank's office." The bedroom was enough. The grounds were nice. Loved the main rooms and architecture. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast/brunch was delicious and aesthetically inviting. We loved the view and the walks. Drove into town each day. I believe the price was around $130/night plus all the taxes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thgnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two weeks and was expecting a little more in amenities, etc.

The hotel is quaint but has limited parking..be sure to have reserved your spot (which is Euro 10 per day), otherwise you will end up parking outside the hotel for Euro 1/hour! You also, whenever you leave, have to give the room key to the front desk - this felt very weird for me - but I found throughout Italy it was the same.

There is no room service or lunch ability at the hotel. You have to hike down Leondardo Street (a windy, cobble stoned walk that runs alongside the hotel into Florence) to Florence to find something to eat.

There are no kettles, irons or effective hair dryers in the suite. This was a problem for me. I had to iron my clothes downstairs in the bar! I had to ask every night for some hot water for tea - good think I brough my travel mug!

The restaurant at night was ok. There is a limited menu so I had to endure eating the same thing several times during my stay - sometimes I didn't want to travel into florence for eating.

The grounds are close to Piazzale Michelangiolo and Basilica of San Miniato in Monte (which was the first chruch to be built in Florence - not the Basilica downtown).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a view - if that's important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpau1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Let's face it. Florence is crazy busy and a taxi ride should come with a last will and testament. And traveling with elderly parents was a challenge in itself. Enter Park Palace Hotel where we felt like stepping into Enchanted April. Yes, she is what I would call vintage Italy. But the gracious sitting room was tastefully decorated. We had two triple rooms for four nights on the second floor protected by a stately cedar. Our bathroom was completely updated, the bedroom clean, and very quiet. The location convenient with stops for the red hop on/hop off in front. The staff- Sabina, Uliana, and Natalia- always smiling, always responsive, and ALWAYS accommodating. Dinner was served at night. Great menu and great prices. And they were patient with my Italian even though they spoke English.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#185 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#170 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#231 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Palace Hotel

Property: Park Palace Hotel
Address: Piazzale Galileo 5, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Florence
#92 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#106 Family Hotel in Florence
#109 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Palace Florence
Hotel Park Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing