We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Florence sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #74 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Florence sightseeing”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent three days here last week on my first trip to Florence. Beautiful views from the breakfast room over the city and hills, lovely location just over the famous Ponte Vecchio bridge. Helpful staff, my friend's single room was a little small and lacking a bedside light so they showed us an alternative immediately. Beds a bit too firm, hence the average rating for room. Buffet breakfast could have been more inspiring, 'wet' processed ham and cheese not appealing though lots of alternatives. Also beautiful unused reception area on first floor with big picture windows would have been lovely if the bar had been relocated there, instead of being in the breakfast room, which didn't have the right atmosphere in the evening with no comfy seating. However, as a base this hotel was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolRBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time to write this review and thanks for your kind suggestions.
We hope to be your choice again when you will come back to Firenze.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    717
    169
    47
    14
See reviews for
274
915
67
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arthog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have just returned from out third trip to Florence, and our third stay at this lovely hotel. Neither the city, nor the hotel, ever let you down. The hotel is a simply lovely building, very sympathetically modernised within its centuries old outer wall. It is also in an ideal location at the southern end of the Ponte Vecchio; this means that everywhere within the old city is in easy walking distance.

The hotel offers comfort, charm and extreme cleanliness. The public areas are very attractive with plenty of seating. The first floor lounge is particularly appealing with the nice addition of a small library of books available to borrow during your stay.The bedrooms are a good size, well furnished and decorated with excellent lighting and ample storage space. The bed was comfortable with good linens (changed each day). Our room (514) on the fifth floor had the benefit of a balcony big enough to sit on and enjoy a glass of wine while admiring the view across the terracotta rooftops to the impressive clock tower of the Palazzo Vecchio. The bathroom was well-equipped (bath with shower, bidet, loo, sink unit) - again with excellent lighting, good towels, and toileteries that were changed and topped up each day.

The restaurant was on the 6th floor so the views were even better and included Brunelleschi's Dome. We sat outside on the roof terrace on several mornings to enjoy the excellent Continental breakfast buffet. But whether seated inside or out on the terrace, the tables were tastefully laid, again with good linens that were immaculately clean. The service of the staff was faultless - clearing away used dishes efficiently and answering queries with patience.

In fact, all the staff in the hotel were professional, friendly and helpful with a seemingly inexhaustable range of languages to call upon. The hotel is also a participating member of the Life Beyond Tourism initiative so the small information pack and map you are given at check-in is very useful - introducing new places and itineraries which even people familiar with the city would find useful.

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor looking toward the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Liz,
what an accurate and passionate review of our hotel! Thank you, thank you very much!
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stays with us over the years.
We are particularly delighted to read your appreciation for the Life Beyond Tourism initiative. We feel like it is something very important and precious to share with all our guest and we feel truly contented when we read such a commentary. Thank you, we hope to see you again in Florence.
Our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff, the room, the service, in short the hotel is an excellent one. You go to its terrace restaurant and you get a breathtaking view of the Florence city. Another beauty of the hotel is its strategic location (from a tourist's point of view.). You can take a leisurely stroll to Piazza Della Signoria, Pitti Palace, Duomo, Uffizy Gallery - they all are within 10 - 20 minutes walking distance. We even enjoyed a 30 minutes walk to Piazza Michael Angelo to see the panoramic view of the city. There are countless eating joints and shopping centers to cater to all tastes. An excellent place to stay in an amazing city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalin_thakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your words. It is always a pleasure to read such an enthusiastic review about our hotel and the city that we love so much. We hope you'll take the chance to visit us again!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markle, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I'm giving this hotel a higher rating than I would give it had it been located anywhere else. The service at the rooftop bar was so, so and the rooms are a little tired and outdated. The room itself and the bathroom were adequate. That said, the location at the foot of the Ponte Vechhio and steps from Pitti Palace and the Ufuzzi is unbeatable and the view!! What can I say, the view is just incredible. Panoramic vistas of Palazzo Vechhio, Ufuzzi, and the Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kspahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your comments! If you have loved our hotel for the perfect location, I'd like you to know that before spring will hit Florence again, we'll be done updating all the rooms, so maybe you want to plan your next visit to our marvellous city!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Hotel Pitti Palace is about as near to all the main tourist attractions as it's possible to be. It is literally across the street from the Ponte Vecchio and a short 10 minute stroll to the Uffizi Gallery. Our room was very clean had a large comfortable bed and well equipped with air conditioning - something we didn't expect to need at the end of October! The hotel is situated in the centre of the city, so as we expected, our view was of the street below. The views really come into their own when you visit the Breakfast Room/Restaurant area. Our breakfasts were a special treat with a superb choice of continental breakfast and a stunning panoramic view of the Florence cityscape. In short, if you need a hotel to see Florence and do not insist on swimming pools or gymnasiums, then this should be you first choice. All the hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. We had no trouble getting to the hotel from Florence Airport by taxi or returning, paying a fixed fare of about 25 euro’s. We hope to return there one day and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor and well above any street sounds. Any noises were not invasive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks Malcolm for taking the time to write this review. We are especially glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful city of Florence.
We hope to see you again in our hotel! Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent a very pleasant three days staying at the Pitti Palace. The situation, at the end of the Ponte Vecchio, was excellent. You could enjoy the bustle from the street below if you left the windows open, or shut it out completely with them closed. Our room was a good size, and the king-sized double bed was so comfortable. The rooms and bed were beautifully made up and cleaned each day. The breakfasts were on the roof top room with terrace, from where you got superb views of the Duomo and Giotto campanile. We walked up all the flights of stairs our first morning but took the lift straight into the terrace room thereafter, having tired ourselves out walking round all the wonders of Florence.
The food was very good with a lot of choice. The catering staff were very friendly and helpful, as indeed were all the staff we dealt with.
We would certainly use the hotel again if we went back to Florence - and it is certainly worth another visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels have better view and are further from street noise - though double glazing cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony9-2-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. As you say Florence is definetely worth one more visit, so we hope to see you again over here to enjoy all its beauties.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect spot. It is close to attractions and easy to get to. The rooms are clean and spacious and the service is superb without breaking the bank. We have been here multiple times over the years and will definitely come back when the chance arises. It is not a fancy pancy place (sorry for that) but for the price you would be very hard pressed to find a nicer, cleaner, better hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unathan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you very much for you review but especially to be such a faithful guest. We are very happy you enjoyed to stay with us and we hope to have you here again and again!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Property: Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#98 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing