We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location though room for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ascot Florence
Ranked #363 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very close to main train station and city centre. Ideal if travelling by train and want to visit other neighboring cities. The meeting point for any group tour is very close, outside the main train station, making it so convenient. Marco the receptionist was very helpful in booking the tours for us. Thank you very much for that.

Clean rooms and hotel in general, though needs some refurbishing...light fittings were minimal and these available were loose. A/C and mini fridge were ok. Didn't like the ensuite much as quite small and need to evacuate from everything or else will wet personal belongings. Breakfast was very basic and room for improvement. WI-FI is free and available in the lobby so that was fine. Will try and find something better in the vicity next time as quite expensive for the service given.

Room Tip: Room at the first floor, near the breakfast room is best as can access WI-FI from room and have wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnMarieMalta_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very conveniently located. 3 minute walk from SMN rail station.

The meeting point for any group tour is 3 minute walk.

The central shopping area is 5 minute walk.

Indian restaurant is 4 minute walk.

Room is very basic. No toiletories.

The breakfast is very basic.

Room Tip: Very Good conveniently located hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankajgarg1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We traveled as a couple around Italy and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We were moving from Venice to Rome with a stop for 2 nights in Florence to see the town and Toscana region. We needed a hotel very close to the train station and close to the historical centre of the town. So, location is just perfect. 3 min walk from the train station and 5 min walk from the Duomo. We were satisfied that we had a shower and toilet in our room (as there were offers with shared facilities too). The price we paid was also ok. I'll underline again the perfect location of the hotel. Beautiful Florence with cozy cafes and majestic Duomo and Palaces and the famous bridge are very close. These are the advantages. We arrived in the evening, checked in and got our tiny room. We spent that evening oustide sightseeing. The next day we went by train to Piza and Siena and we were back quite late at night. The next day we left the hotel around 4 p.m. to take our train to Rome. Disatvantages are: tiny room, you couldnt open a balcony door, because there was a closet next to it; a very small bed for a couple, old... very-very old furniture, rooms and hotel itself (needs renovation). the curtian in the shower didnt prevent from water coming out. But that was again ok, because we spent just 2 nights there. About breakfast: we were not sure that we wouldnt have stomach problems, so we chose only croissants and coffee, though it was not good, the rest we were afraid to touch. THough the staff of the hotel was polite and helpful. What else I can say.... I knew about the quality of the hotels in Florence, so I expected smth like that. But I would give it 2 stars max and the 3d star is only for the great location.

Room Tip: I believe whatever you get would be the same. And no good insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena and Nikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very disappointed as they gave me their worst room, an overflow emergency room, which was a mystery as I had booked some time in advance. It wouldn't take much to improve this room. No curtains on the windows. No safe, No TV, musty smell in room, mattress very uncomfortable, phone, fridge and bedside light did not work. had to get to room via an outside balcony. carpet was a trip hazard. On the plus side, the view was good, the shower was good, the staff were very helpful and friendly even though they said it was not possible to move me to another room. The other rooms looked basic but reasonable, I could see as doors were wide open for cleaning. Breakfast was ok. Very close to train station and central Florence. This hotel was a blind booking through Hotwire who gave me a full refund as the room I was given was most unsuitable.

Room Tip: Be sure you don't get the overflow room, the other rooms looked basic but ok compared to mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It's a mystery how Italian hotels get 3-star ratings. They certainly would not in England. Although the location was ideal for the train station and central Florence, the hotel has little to offer in the way of amenities and the rooms are Spartan to say the least. Very small and very cramped, with empty mini-bars which could not even be used as cold stores, air-conditioning/heating which seemed temperamental to say the least, plumbing which looked like something out of "Waterworld" and paper thin walls which offered little protection from noisy school parties. Breakfasts were sub-standard and the only redeeming feature apart from the location were the charming and helpful staff in reception.

Room Tip: If you have a cat and fancy swinging it, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Chosen for it's location the best thing I can say about this hotel is the bed was acceptable and the included breakfast was only just ok. The only 3-star part of this hotel is the foyer. I doubt whoever rated it went past the entrance. Cramped room with "en-suite" - we only used the bathroom for the toilet. Certainly could not bring myself to use the shower or even brush my teeth. This hotel is only for the desperate if nothing else has any vacancies.

Room Tip: Helpful room tip? - Keep walking to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nytha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Main reason we booked at Hotel Ascot was its great location, few meters away from the Santa Maria Novella station. The distinct features of this hotel are the unpleasant smell right after you enter and the uncultured female receptionist (the male receptionists were friendly and helpful). We were fortunate because our room was at the second floor, misfortune for those at the upper level because the elevator is blocked at night till morning and have to use the stairs. Our room was appropriate for couple and an extra bed for a kid. Complimentary tea were found at the room but sad to say its disgusting because the water boiler clinged with hair. Century old TV with useless remote control. Great because free WI-FI and nice heating system.
Another disappointing matter was the breakfast:
1.prosciuto cotto (cooked ham) tastes old,
2.filthy coffee because as i finished, residues settled at the bottom of the cup.
3.The pastry-croissant looked like a work of a 5 year old toddler played a clay dough plus its burnt.
I can't suggest but if your looking for a place near the train station to spend overnight, its not bad to spent 44 euros and leave before 6am. But if you're looking for a comfort and enjoyable hotel experience then look for a better 3 star hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MigsDeManille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 410 in Florence
245 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Genesio
Hotel Genesio
#349 of 410 in Florence
223 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#228 of 410 in Florence
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#160 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#151 of 410 in Florence
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot Florence

Address: Via Nazionale 8/A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ascot Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ascot Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing