We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Good Location and Nice Place To Stay”
Review of Ungherese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ungherese
Ranked #215 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We were lucky to find this place as we hadn`t booked anywhere. Domenic was very helpful and we got a great deal for three nights. The room was clean, small and the bathroom tiny but we were able to cope anyhow we didn`t come for the room but Florence.
We found the staff to be very helful and the breakfast a good start for the day. There are plenty of places to eat down the street. The bus was close to go into the centre of the city.
The courtyard very pretty and suited the little palace. Loved the old paintings on the walls.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front and higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

I used to live in Florence for many years and therefore instead of choosing a noisy city centre hotel, we opted out for "out of the city" location with has green areas and many local stores.
It was supposed to be a memory trip for us, which unfortunately due to the low standard of the hotel Ungherese turned out to be a nightmare!
I do not even know where to start:
the room was full of mosquitoes and other insects which is not normal for Florence in October.
During the night it was so freezing (i have no idea how mosquitoes and insects survived) i had to put most of my clothes on and still i was unable to sleep trembling out of the cold.
We could hear every word , not only from the lobby but also from a room next door due to the big whole under the door which also brought so much light into the room you could even read with light off in the room.
Not to mention a space which was supposed to be a bathroom. The shower was literary over the toilet spraying in all direction so everything including the toilet paper any any clothes you would bring with you, got wet.
The cherry on the cake was the breakfast. I asked for a cappuccino (parlando in italiano!) and i got a milk with some tasteless coffee with no schiuma.
Although we made a booking for some days, we basically ran away from the hotel as we couldn't stay there any minute longer... It took us some time (and additional money spent) to find another hotel in the city center but we wanted to keep our good memories of Florence, which the Hotel Ungherese almost destroyed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SerenissimaSempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We did a world trip and were impressed with this place and the helpfulness of the owner and his family. Would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radpolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We had a twin-room with an external private bathroom on the 2nd floor above the reception for 2-nights, and overall we are quite happy. The room has its own balcony overlooking the street which allowed us to keep a close watch over our rental car parked opposite the street. The room was quite spacious, and also has a sink so having an external bathroom was not too inconvenient. Plus, the bathroom was just next door, wholly private (as the other 4 rooms upstairs are all equipped with a bathroom each) and kept in a spotless condition. The furnishings were a little out-dated, but they were clean and neat. The staff don't speak much English, but they were generally helpful, and the restaurant they recommended was indeed good and great value. Have to say the breakfast was nothing special, it was in the basement. However, given the hotel rate (approx. EUR60), we consider it's okay. So we will recommend this hotel to people who are not keen to stay in the heart of the touristy area, and even better for those who drive, just look out for the stadium sign once you are off the Highway R1, and hotel is not far off. Lastly, the hotel has a very lovely backyard, only if the breakfast can take place there, instead of a gloomy basement, that would be a true Tuscany experience

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bondi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Georgiaalbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellyna5499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#194 of 410 in Florence
654 reviews
Hotel Ferrucci
#217 of 410 in Florence
518 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#170 of 410 in Florence
331 reviews
Hotel Jane
#196 of 410 in Florence
616 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#98 of 410 in Florence
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ungherese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ungherese

Address: Via Giovan Battista Amici 8, 50131, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#77 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ungherese 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ungherese is located in the quiet San Gervasio residential area of Florence, right off the lower slopes of the picturesque hills of Fiesole. Part of this enchanted surrounding, the hotel is a typical palace of the early 19th century. This hotel is a good choise for business travellers and also for tourists fascinated with the unique beauty of the art and architecture of Tuscany's main city.Antique furniture and pictures enrich the interiors of this most characteristic hotel, which has preserved the name given to it by its founder, a Hungarian gentlewoman whose historical memorabilia are still displayed in the halls: the coat-of-arms of the house of Austria and Hungary, the portraits of Prince Ferenc II Rakoczi, Hungarian hero and Elisabeth of Wittelsbach, the Empress of Austria and Queen of Hungary famously known as Sissi. Our hotel is only a few minutes bus or car ride away from the historical centre of Florence, and just a short distance from the Campo di Marte Railway Station and the main sports venues of the city, such as Artemio Franchi Soccer stadium and the Palazzetto dello Sport, venue of the Nelson Mandela Forums; also from Hotel Ungherese, the Saschall Tent Theatre can easily and conveniently be reached, and the same can be said for reaching the Foretezza da Basso, which is the venue of conferences, trade fairs and shows. You can suitably park your car in the immediate vicinity of Hotel Ungherese, or you can use a garage just around the corner at special rates for our guests. The staff is friendly and professional, and the hotel offers plenty of comforts to its guests, that are welcomed into a relaxing place where the familiar atmosphere is coupled with care for all details of interior decoration and furniture. Whether you want to call a taxi or you want to make a reservation or theatres, museums, planned excursions, air flight or train, the staff will always be at your disposal. Hotel Ungherese also offers wireless internet access that will allow you to use a high speed internet connection right from your room. All rooms have private bathroom, colour TV, direct telephone, safety box, hair drier, air conditioning and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ungherese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ungherese Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing