We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended - A Real Gem!”
Review of Hotel Rapallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rapallo
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended - A Real Gem!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Based on high ratings on TA we arrived with big expectations but our experience exceeded even that! From our very hospitable welcome by Lorenzo and his colleagues, and throughout our stay, the service was always friendly and dedicated to providing the best possible experience for us, including by way of references to good quality restaurants etc. This modern, very well appointed, and spotlessly clean boutique hotel sustained a very high standard including with the provision of a 'club facility' open from 11am - 11pm offering coffee and drinks, fruit and afternoon tea tarts that we considered to be superior to many supplied by 'big brand' hotels. Breakfasts were of a very good standard. Handy to Florence S.M.N. train station and easy walking distance from most attractions. Very strongly recommended, and we plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
gentlemen, thank you for your comment. it is important for us very experienced travelers who leave us for their comment. and 'a pleasure to read that you were well, and our style of service and' was as you expected, good quality and courtesy. and 'what do we turn always. we will strive for a good quality that satisfied all over the world. impossbile seems an enterprise, in a small hotel like ours power accolgiere all with different styles and tastes. our experience and your judgment help us much. Thank you for supporting us so
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    469
    47
    11
    4
See reviews for
307
1,072
49
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Really good room, with a safe and mini bar. Good breakfast. It's a little away from the main attractions of the city, but nothing to worry about. The staff spoke English and Portuguese, besides Italian. They were gentle enough to make a reservation for us to the academia, which usually has long lines. I would go back if I have to!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
many thanks for your comment. I was pleased to host you for your honeymoon. a warm hug from all our staff and best wishes
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We arrived from Pisa on the train and decided to take a taxi not because of the distance but because of our bags, its only 15 minute walk. The hotel is in a great location you can walk to everything very easily. Alternatively use the bus service. Its a Euro for every 90 minutes, you buy a ticket(s) in a newsagent or bar and when you get on the bus validate it in the machine. NB You must validate it or the fine is E240!! The stops are just down the road by the square. The front of house staff are great in finding activities that you are interested in doing and speak great English. They also recommended some very good restaurants, Giannino in San Lorenzo and Aquacotta(I'll post sepearate reviews for both). There is a afternoon complimentary tea and snacks period which is very nice interlude between your afternoon activities and heading out for dinner.
We also took a trip up to Fiesole a 20 minute bus trip (for a Euro) which is very pretty and has spectacular views back over Florence. Have lunch at La Reggia up by the church where the view is trully amazing and the food excellent. The hotel is beautifully clean, modern and an ideal place for short break. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
our readers will greatly appreciate all the information she gave. a true traveler attentive to everything. thanks for your comment, it's nice to have enthusiastic customers because every trip so makes us milgiori
greetings

lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We booked Rapallo Hotel after reading such nice reviews from other Trip Advisor's comments.
Florence was exceptionally busy and booked In Mid May, but Rapallo had two nights available.
Hotel is nearby the train station, but if you have big bags like we did, probably better to take a taxi there. We walked (about 15 - 20 minutes) mostly because we weren't sure where we were going and went the wrong direction twice. We arrived frustrated, but met by a friendly staff and a quite clean and modern hotel. Our room was on the street side, but really never heard any street noise at all. We had a small fridge with free water, a coffee maker with instant coffee, and a wonderful bathtub, which was much appreciated after a long day of walking to soak in. We got a great recommendation for a late night pizza place one block away with a beautiful garden in back. Special shout out to Lorenzo for making our stay SO special. When we slept in past breakfast time and requested a cappuccino, Lorenzo fixed us a tray with croissants and caps to take up to room. Then when he found out the tour we wanted to take was cancelled, He sat with us and gave us his own interpretation of Florence and it's history and had us mesmerized with his knowledge of the Medici times and the artists and craftsmen that made the city what it is today (not to mention the scandalous stuff that we were captivated with). Lorenzo gave us some great suggestions of places and things to see away from the crowds of the main sights. Hotel is really only a 5-10 minute walk from the Duomo and David. But nice to get away from the crowds.
We really feel like we made a new friend in Firenze, thanks to Lorenzo and his hospitality, and hope to return to Rapallo Hotel. Grazie Lorenzo, wish we could have spent more time!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
you make me move with all these beautiful memories. I'm very pleased that your stay has been made prsticolarmente liked by eul service which I think is the real difference in our work, and that's what it deserves more sepndersi. I believe that in the end what counts the most is the people, and it is around the guest who develops humanism hotelier which I support. a greeting
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Semih Avdan :

We have been in this lovely hotel for our honeymoon for 2 nights. Hotel staff is really friendly especially Lorenzo. He had a great welcome for us with a good bottle of sparkling wine and warm welcome. Hotel is new and rooms are modernly decorated.

We will definitely go to Hotel Rapallo for the next time.

Breakfast was delicious! For people considering to go to Florence, don't look for other hotels. Hotel Rapallo is the best!

Grazie mille Lorenzo!

Room Tip: Room 405 is a nice room with a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semih_Avdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for pointing out your stay with us, and for that important occasion of your (yours) life. still best wishes to you and your lady
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

*stayed 4 nights*

meh. a 3 star hotel deservingly earns a 3 star rating. my wife refers to this place "Hotel Appalling." LOL it's a joke. it's not that the hotel was bad, it just wasn't great. it does everything adequately. the rooms were modern, pretty spacious for italy standards and for even western standards, and clean. the bathroom was nice and new, big and again, clean. but the whole place is just sterile and lacked character. from the decor, the paint scheme, the reception desk personnel, etc. again, the employees were nice and service was good but very different from the warmth and friendliness we experienced at the other 3 hotels we stayed at while in italy. (2 hotels in venice, Park Annia and Hotel Grande Canal, and one in rome, IQ Hotel.)

probably the worst part of the room was the lack of natural light. the one window that was sound proofed, was also small and covered up. not much of a view but the building across the street, even though we had a 4th floor room. but coming from the open, bright, and gorgeous views of the grand canal in venice, both from our room and from our private terrace, our hotel rapallo room felt very enclosed, congested and...sterile.

also, i got bit 4 times and my wife once on the face, by the numerous, annoying mosquitoes buzzing around in our room! my wife didn't get any sleep one night bc the little buggers were buzzing around her face all night long. this meant we had to swat them come waking hours and when we'd get back after a day out, there would be another one that got in (probably when the door was open during maid service.)

another gripe i had w/ the hotel is that on their website, it says under "services" that there are "gyms affiliated" w/ the hotel. for me, that was a big selling point as many of the hotels in italy (minus the big 5 star joints) do not have fitness centers. so, when we checked in, i asked where the nearest gym was and if it would be free. when i asked how much, the hotel staff said he did not know and that i would have to check w/ the gym. if you're "affiliated" w/ the gym, shouldn't you know? after about a 15 min walk, we found the gym. nope, not free. in fact be ready to shell out 30 euro/person to use the nearest gym "affiliated" w/ hotel rapallo, per day. i mean, why even advertise this then?

again, no hate for the hotel. it was OK. but we'll probably stick to our usual 4 star rated establishments from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
congratulations especially for the style. beautiful couple. In both we see the great experience of the traveler. The refinement of choices of places visited, fundamental for a stay in florence, remember in your review are the index of your great cultural interest, supported by an exemplary judgment and elegance in the telling. How sorry I am, therefore, not to have met you during your stay, as I have the pleasure to do with all my clients, I would have learned so much from you. You have a spirit of observation amazing, very out of the ordinary. For this, however, we are glad that our hotel was able to give a strong impression to you, up to the point of convincing you to write a fundamental contribution, which will surely distinguish you more than us in the pages of tripadvisor, friendliness,
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights. Conveniently located close to main train station and within walking distance to everything. Our room was clean, and they have thought of everything here ie: supplying free water bottles in your fridge and tea/coffee and cake every afternoon for free! Very friendly staff, breakfast was very delicious and made our stay in Florence very enjoyable and I would happily return to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
thanks for your comment, we are glad to have left you in a beautiful memory of costra stay in florence, and we hope will be a new opportunity to come back and visit.
an affectionate greeting
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapallo

Property: Hotel Rapallo
Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria, 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapallo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rapallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing