We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rapallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rapallo
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a few problems with booking this hotel in that the hotel directly advised me (via email) there was no availability for the days we were to be in Florence, however on the online booking system there was availability. Upon making a booking online, I had to email multiple times before I got an answer to confirm the booking. Before our arrival, via email, I asked the hotels assistance to pre-book tickets to Academia to see the Statue of David. The hotel swiftly confirmed that the bookings had been made. However, upon arrival at the hotel, we found they had booked tickets to Uffizi. The gentleman who checked us in was not apologetic at all and in fact argued with me. Luckily I had my email on hand which clearly requested Academia tickets and not Uffizi. Because of this mix up, we had to wait in line for tickets at the Academia gallery which we were not impressed with. Standard rooms are modern, clean but quite small. The breakfast spread was ok, but the breakfast room was very awkward with most people whispering and it wasn’t a pleasant environment. I feel that the location of this hotel, while close to the train station (I wouldn’t walk with suitcases, we caught a taxi), is a ittle out of the central area of Florence and we found it pretty quiet at night and didn’t feel 100% safe, compared to other areas of Florence at night closer to the Duomo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NB_86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
dear guest, I apologize if there was some mistake in his museum reservations, it is also true that our reception staff is concerned at his disposal to make them a reservation at the time any museum she desiderasse.Invitiamo our guests to use every service receipt, and to have confidence in the labergo and the city. the best way to know a city we do not know, especially a complex city of history and tradition as Florence, is to do it through the people that give you hospitality. essentially do this work because we like to do it, between good and perfection, we try to do well.
a warm greeting
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    461
    47
    11
    4
See reviews for
303
1,051
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Rapallo 4 nights while in Florence and were the benefactors of their attention to detail from start to finish! From the warm welcome, to sincere, helpful suggestions for dining, to the wonderful breakfast and snacks each day, Lorenzo, Mauro, and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome and made our needs a priority! Property was nicely renovated and very modern and clean. Our home away from home while in Firenze! A class act all the way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment, we are enthusiastic. a warm goodbye to florence
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel Rapallo is a great hotel for families. The cleanness of the rooms was remarkable. Hotel personnel was always friendly. Location of the hotel is very convenient, with the Academia being about 5 minutes of walking distance and the Duomo being about 10 minutes of walking distance. A couple of good Italian authentic restaurants also close by.
I sincerely advise it to everybody. You get a 5 star room for the price of a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
thanks for your comment, we are pleased to have made you appreciate florence in the best way with our service
say hello to your beautiful family
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

so well managed, it shows in every way, - a sparkling hotel, friendly staff who look after the comfort of clientele. Such a good choice for the weary traveller, an oasis of tranquility. It is not far from the train station, the decor is sophisticated and simple, the breakfast room is open all day for snacks and coffees.

Room Tip: upper floors with terrace and bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear customer, we are pleased that you found in the hotel Rapallo a quiet oasis where you can share a good hospitality with the pleasure of new discoveries.
This is in fact the recipe of our sparkling hotel.

Regards,

Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We chose Hotel Rapallo for our last night in Italy before departing from Pertola Airport. It was an excellent choice. The room was clean and spacious. We had two balconies overlooking the street. We arrived 2 hours early due to our transportation schedule and were immediately accommodated with a room after only a 5-10 minute wait. Lorenzo was apologetic about the delay even though we created the problem by arriving early. He took care of us immediately even though he could have asked us to wait.The location was great. Close to everything we wanted. We were glad we chose the Hotel Rapallo and will definitely stay there longer next time. Our check out was very early, but prompt and efficient. Security was good. The rooms are modern and well decorated. We had a seperate area for luggage with armoire, dressing table with mirror, and view. I highly recoomend the Hotel Rapallo.

Room Tip: A standard room was above the level of others we experienced in Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
dear guests, thank you for your comment, for me and my staff has been a pleasure to serve powers. ceck in at the hotel and 'from two in the afternoon, but it is often easy to get rooms a little' ahead of time. I'm glad when this is possible, because I understand, as a traveler, it is nice to arrive in a place and take possession immediately.
a greeting
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Rapallo is well located being close to the station, the shops and restaurants but not too close! A little park nearby was a great spot to watch the world go by. The décor was superb and the room spacious. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Really liked the afternoon tea and drinks in the dining room and breakfast was very good. Perhaps the breakfast area was a bit cramped at times and I did have to wait for a table one morning but not a major issue. There is everything you need including free wifi, comfortable bed, plenty of storage, nice toiletries and plenty of space in the superior double room. Fellow guests were easy to meet and staff were helpful too. We would definitely stay again - just lovely for our 5 night stay.

Room Tip: Room 107 superior double room away from stairs and has French doors opening on to a balcony courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jagk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comment. And for having chosen our hotel. we give a suggestion to our customers, the breakfast in the hotel can be done, in your room or in the living room, with choice of menu, ask for this service.
a greeting and see you soon
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Small, modern and friendly hotel. Rooms are spacious, new and very comfortable. Every staff member was really friendly and helpful. Easy walk to and from main attractions. I had a great stay. The street below can be a bit noisy but not a big problem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
dear guest thank you for your comment, I'm glad that you found good in our hotel.
a greeting lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapallo

Property: Hotel Rapallo
Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria, 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapallo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rapallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing