We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are so helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Ranked #129 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The staff are so helpful”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great Hotel as it's so well placed for walking into the centre of Florence.
The busy market outside starts setting up at 5.30am but that all adds to the charm of the area. Breakfast is good although not excellent.
The staff are so helpful particularly Vinceitie, the barman / waiter / breakfast supervisor / information guide, who works tirelessly all hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    383
    177
    30
    11
See reviews for
230
322
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here while on tour with Go Ahead tours. This hotel was so disappointing, first room we were shown overlooked a disgusting, garbage filled alley. To their credit, staff relocated us quickly, with no problem. Had to pay for wi-fi, which I didn't really mind, but for the most part it wasn't working. Location is central, easy to walk to all the sights, but overall, I wouldn't recommend this place. Have no idea really what it cost, since it was part of the whole package.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the front of the hotel, otherwise you may have a disgusting view of garbage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Be prepared to get up early! There is a leather market right outside! The hotel is in walking distance of many monuments, shops and restaurants! The hotel itself was very nice! The room was a decent size, the bathroom on the small side. The morning breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The only negative was that you had to pay for the wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennyloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pew were just there May 2014. First the very minor complaints. The hotel is right next door to the leather mart and the fabulous indoor food market, so if you're not an early riser know that they begin to set up around 5:00 AM. You have to pay for wifi, but they offer usage packages so it's no big deal if being connected is important. The daily room city tax must be paid in Euros and not by credit card. Inconvenient, but plan for it. This is with most smaller boutique-type hotels.

Positives: - We would absolutely stay there again! It's a five minute walk to the train station - felt very safe - breakfast was terrific - very clean rooms and an extremely friendly and helpful staff - check in and out was easy. They do hold your passport for a short amount of time until you get settled in your room - again, typical. The dollar to Euro exchange rate was substantially better than using Western Union or the other currency exchange offices, which basically rip you off. Great location with easy access to all points of interest in Florence Duomo, Academia, Ufizzi, Ponte Vecchio. With all small, boutique hotels throughout Europe, they are just that small and functional.

Nice place. I'd recommend it. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel is literally next to the leather mart. They begin to set up their booths at around 5:30 A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We Recently spent 3 nights here and the only good thing I have to say is that the location was quite central. The rooms were small and quite dark. The first room they showed us to, reeked of garlic and had a view to a garbage-strewn alley. I requested a change to a different room and got a room facing the market stalls in the front of the hotel. The room was still small and dark, but odor-free.

The Corona D'Italia also charged for Wifi, something no other hotel we stayed at for nearly 3 weeks did--at 10 euros for a week (we were there only 3 nights). But the staff were nice, the breakfast included with the room was lovely and the location was quite central. We easily walked to the Duomo, the Uffizi, the Accademia--all the major tourist attractions.

We had an easy walk to the train station with our luggage when we left Florence. I doubt that I'd recommend the Corona D'Italia. Unless you're a fan of garlic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKGoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the hotel, requested a quiet room, after reading reviews, our room was at the back so reasonably quite apart from noisy plumbing when other toilets or water went down the pipes. The room was spacious enough, comfortable bed, bathroom had bath and shower, was clean and adequate, although the bath tap was a bit worn. Breakfast was continental style, with a good choice, cereal, fruit, toast, meats, cheese etc. Location for us was excellent as we arrived by bus from Pisa to the Stazione Di Firenze SNM, approx 6 mins to the main Station, and about 8 mins to the Duomo, you can reach all the main tourist attractions by foot, plenty of restaurants nearby, would stay here again, it is a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Only good thing about this hotel was its location. Loved all the markets being right outside the door, and it was only a short with our suitcases from the train station. Close enough to walk to Ponte Vecchio, Duomo and the shopping precinct. Hotel its self was very poor. I founf the atmosphere to be rather depressing and breakfast not as good as other places we had been in Italy. Also didnt think there was enough room in the breakfast area for the amount of guests that wanted to eat at once, have to sit at tables that were still dirty and people running around manically just trying to put out enough bread. A better system definitely needs to be in place. Wifi was disgracefully priced. Would not stay here on a return to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#74 of 422 in Florence
1,014 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#195 of 422 in Florence
1,137 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#127 of 422 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#144 of 422 in Florence
817 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#113 of 422 in Florence
775 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona D'Italia

Property: Hotel Corona D'Italia
Address: Via Nazionale 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corona D'Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corona d’Italia 3 stars in Florence is set in a three-level, 19th-century palazzo, which features sober and harmonious design, bright and spacious interiors, detailed with marble from Carrara and elegant stucco trim.The hotel staff is available to help guests organize their visit, offering museum reservations, restaurant's suggestions, tours, and guided visits of the city and the Chianti region.The American Bar is ideal for relaxing and planning a visit to the Florence monuments over an espresso or a cocktail, prepared to perfection by our barman.If you desire internet access, the interior of the Hotel Corona d’Italia boasts an efficient Wi-Fi Internet service.Our Breakfast features a delicious buffet, including an extensive variety of cheese, cold cuts, yoghurt, seasonal fruit, fresh pastries and delicious cakes.The hotel also includes the Meeting Hall (max 35 people) for business meetings and work sessions. Upon request, state-of-the-art technical support may be added to the hall's standard devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Corona D'Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corona d Italia
Corona d Italia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing