We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place to stay in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #31 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in Porta Rossa for 5 nights having requested a quiet room we were given a top floor room which was spacious and well equipped. Florence is a busy place so there will always be noise however with the benefit of good beds and quiet, modern air conditioning we slept well. The staff were charming and helpful, the breakfast exceptional. The position of the hotel is ideal for exploring Florence and within easy walking distance of all the major "attractions" which is very helpful when the temperature reaches 36 degrees.
We have travelled extensively and must say this is one of the most pleasant hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcb428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

My Mom and I stayed in this recently renovated hotel in central Florence in September. We loved this hotel! The staff were so friendly and helpful - it seemed that they could not do enough for us - especially Elisa and Laurent.
We loved our room (very clean) and felt very safe there. I loved the modern fixtures, conveniences and decor in the spacious bathroom - toiletries provided were excellent. I loved how the integrity of the old architecture was kept, yet at the same time modern conveniences were added. The quality of the sheets was much appreciated - however, i found the pillow to be firmed than i prefer.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent - with abundant delicious pastries, fruits, fresh juices, cappucinos made to order and wide assortment of hot foods. The room where breakfast was served was very beautiful with the high ceilings and old fashioned decor.
Service from the staff was excellent throughout hotel!
We did find the noise from the street (people in apartments and people walking) quite loud and occurrred very late into the evening/early morning, as we liked to have our window open.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mai-Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I chose this hotel based on reviews. Problem is however that there are always a lot of opinions.
In this case I made the right decision and whenever coming back to Florence I would take the same hotel. In the center of the old town, very nice modern room with bath ( on request) and a good breakfast. Friendly staff. If coming by car it is quit a puzzle to find your hotel in the old town. Somehow I found it and was happy about the car-valet parking service. On the way out they drove me out of town with was a relief! I am a very experienced driver but without this help I would have been completely lost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertbilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I travelled throughout italy with my family for 2 weeks. Staying at the Porta Rossa was the most pleasant experience. The recepcionist, Elisa, was a wonderful guide to make our stay even better. She recommended a great restaurant, La Bussola, right across the hotel, and was extremely helpful with everything. What a kind lady! The location of the hotel was excellent and so were the rooms. We will definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MariaJoseEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had to write a review for this hotel as it really did make our stay in Florence that little bit extra special and we would highly recommend it.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful - a stunning, large 16th century Palazzo with 18th century paintings and stainglass windows. Decorated with a modern finish but still retaining all of its character, it has a high standard of cleanliness, decor and finishings.

It is superbly located in a safe, pretty neighbourhood on the doorstep of the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and all the sights! But with the added bonus of being tucked away in a quiet spot so you escape the noise. We had a 12 week old baby so wanted to be able to nip back to the hotel and could do this with ease.

On top of that, what really made this hotel just that little bit extra special were the staff and the service, in particular Eliza and Andrei. Always smiling, every member of staff greets you and are happy to help, great when they are full of top recommendations - definitely check out nearby restaurant 'Il Parione'.

My partner proposed to me on this trip and all of the staff went out of there way to make it extra special - being in the know, they covered our room in rose petals and love hearts (which they hand cut themselves) and upgraded us to a junior suite (a large room, plenty of storage and finished to a high standard). They made a big fuss of us in that wonderful Italian way!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank littleglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay at the NH Porta Rossa. With having to amend our reservation due to a hurricane delay at home, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accomondating. The location is wonderful, with an easy walk to all of Florence's highlights. The included breakfast was quite tasty and diversified. Our room was very spacious, especially by European standards, with a beautiful bathroom/shower, and bright, open living space. We couldn't have been happier with our experience.

By the way, if you stay here, there is a tiny Trattoria one block down if you make a left out of the back door of the hotel. Trattoria Nella. Try the linguini with truffle cream sauce - best plate of pasta I had in 8 days in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jslotter2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was great right near the Ponte Vecchio. It was a great central location and easy to get to but tucked down a little side street so it's not fully in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel is clean and trendy but has a gorgeous ancient charm and historic beauty to it. It is both impeccably designed and detailed. Our room had a canopy bed and 2 frescos from the 18th century.
The staff was amazing. My boyfriend actually lost his wallet on the train there from Milan and they called the police for us, helped him get in touch with credit card companies and cancel cards and offered anything they could do to help us out. They were beyond amazing and helpful for the entire duration of the trip and we truly couldn't have asked for anything more.
The hotel made Florence even more stunning and amazing of an experience. We will beyond a doubt stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#56 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,285 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 410 in Florence
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa 19 Rosso | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £168 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, NHHotels, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing