We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #30 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in Florence!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

NH Porta Rossa was great from the process of making our reservation to the day we left Florence! We requested and got a quiet room, but so much more! The NH Porta Rossa was recently renovated, yet keeping architectural and artistic elements intact. The decor combines the Renaissance and the modern beautifully!

The location is excellent, being in the central, pedestrianized, area of Florence. You can walk everywhere.

Unlike many Florence hotels, Porta Rossa enters from the street, not up a flight of stairs, and as an older couple, we preferred not to climb many stairs after coming home from a long day of sightseeing. Their gorgeous reception area was staffed by very friendly and helpful people. To get to our room, we took an elevator to our floor, came out into a spacious lobby area and walked through a beautiful hallway to our sparkling clean and beautiful room. Our room was spacious, the A/C worked extremely well, the beds were comfortable, even though a bit on the hard side (like most in Europe), the bathroom had the latest bathroom fixtures and lots of amenities, including bathrobes and slippers. Even a toothbrush with toothpaste was included!

The breakfasts were good and went to 11:00 a.m., which was nice for us, as we love to sleep in late. The bar area and breakfast room was, again, beautiful! The hotel does not have a restaurant on sight, but Florence has many, many good restaurants. An excellent one, Oliviero, was literally out the back door and a few steps away from the hotel!

The only possible negatives I can say about this hotel (and I hate to even mention them, because the overall experience was so terrific) are (1) the wifi, although free, is not easy to use, because the hotel changes the username and password every 30 minutes, and (2) the brand new bathtub was a bit slippery. One has to be careful not to slip in it.

The hotel is not the cheapest one in Florence, but is apparently in the mid-range of prices, and for the price we paid we got excellent value! I highly recommend NH Porta Rossa!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    475
    94
    20
    16
See reviews for
321
1,174
78
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

On arrival, we got upgraded to a Deluxe room. The room had a very high ceiling with a frescoe painted on it. It was v clean with modern decor despite the age of the hotel. It's brilliantly located & is central enough to explore all the different areas of Florence. The staff were friendly & helpful. There was a great choice of food at breakfast including soy milk & gluten free food too. On check in we'd asked for a quiet room. However, the bin lorries start working v early in the morning. Besides the noise from outside, the hotel itself is quiet but take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. I'd recommend staying at NH Porta Rossa.

Helpful?
Thank melbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed in May 2012 and overall enjoyed the experience. Two points worth mentioning, the bar was not open the Tuesday and Wednesday nights we were there. I understand it is open in the evenings, Thursday to Sunday.
Secondly, our room though quite adequate was very noisy from the street below. Especially between the hours of 1 and 3 AM. I understand from the hotel management that because the building has historical significance they were prevented from installing secondary glazing. Also being there for three nights there was a distinct lack of storage (drawer space) for our clothes and as this was halfway through our holiday living out of suitcases was not enjoyable.
Breakfast was the best I have even eaten in italy-great choice & helpful staff. Great location-walking distance to all the main sight

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldsdav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We arrived in Florence by train, having travelled down from Bologna - what a very different experience from British rail travel. Spotless trains, spot on time! The hotel was minutes from the station and very near the centre of most of the sites.

Slight hassle at check-in, as despite requesting a double room on the booking, we'd been allocated a twin room. But they offered us an upgrade for 30E; as it was partners birthday and I was 7 months pregnant we accepted. Very glad we did, as the room was beautiful.

Room had very high ceilings, with frescos around the ceiling. Large, comfortable bed and separate bathroom with great shower. It is very minimal design, but we thought it worked well and actually spent very little time in our room.

Front desk staff were really helpful in booking restaurants and taxi. We were only here on a flying visit, but the hotel was well located for everything that we wanted to see.

Breakfast buffet was excellent, staff were a little bit frantic as hotel was busy. But most things you could help yourself to.

You are staying right in the middle of Florence, so a bit of noise was to be expected in a historic building. It didn't bother us, but we were exhausted after so much walking.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, then ask reception about quieter rooms. We had a suite room on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieE108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton jct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel was lovely and the front desk staff was extremely helpful and very patient. They made our stay stress free in terms of getting around. The location was also excellent, the rooms large, and the beds comfortable. However, even though we were on the third floor, the noise from the bar down the street affected my sleeping every night. People took smoke breaks and made a lot of noise outside until 2:30 am. So my sleep was interrupted all the time, although my husband had no problem. Other than this, the breakfast was extensive and everything else was very good. The noise level affected my overall rating of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmcenroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelacamillo, Direttore at NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guest,

We regret we did not meet your expectations with regards to the soundproofing of the room. This hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy which has been declared an artistic heritage, therefore it is not possible to make any changes to the rooms of the hotel. Although, we requested permission to install double glazing during the restoration of the building, this was not authorized by the Governement responsible for the historical buildings.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The accommodations were terrible. The room was stark, the noise from midnight to 4 a.m. was so great it was impossible to sleep. We had a first floor room and one staff member told us the hotel was between a bar and a disco which created the problem. They told us it was much worse on the first floor but refused to change our room saying the hotel was full. It is rare we do not find any redeeming quality in a place we stay but this one had none. My recommendation would be to avoid this property. Terrible room, untenable outside noise and a disinterested, inattentive staff.

John N., Pittsburgh, Pa.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there avoid first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelacamillo, Direttore at NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guest,

We regret we did not meet your expectations with regards to the soundproofing of the room. This hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy which has been declared an artistic heritage, therefore it is not possible to make any changes to the rooms of the hotel. Although, we requested permission to install double glazing during the restoration of the building, this was not authorized by the Governement responsible for the historical buildings.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in April. Friendly helpful receptionist checked us in quickly and provided a local map and directions to the main sights without asking! Also gave us a list of local recommended restaurants. We requested a quiet room and had no problems with noise. Room had a high ceiling and decor was modern. The hotel was spotless. Towels were changed daily.
Breakfast was the nicest I have even eaten in italy-great choice & helpful staff. Great location-walking distance to all the main sight. The taxi goes past the Duomo on the way to the hotel-what a breathtaking introduction to the city. The only disappointment was check-out. Only 1 receptionist on (even though it was a busy time for check-outs). He allowed people openly skip the queue. Despite this it was a lovely relaxing stay and a fantastic location. A few minutes walk to the main sights, and also a market selling lovely italian leather bags, scarves etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing