We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in Florence"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #30 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Florence"”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Excellent location. Excellent hotel, 14th century, very old but with everything inside modern and up to date. Delicious breakfast. Free wif fi in the rooms. Beautiful,big and different rooms.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

No bad points.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    475
    94
    20
    16
See reviews for
321
1,174
78
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were greated by a very warm nice person and the rooms great! large bed that was very comfortable. Great loction to everything and the buffet breakfast was outstanding. Cant wait to stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank FishGuy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is centrally located, which was perfect for us. The receptionist who checked us in was friendly and pleasant. Our room was modern and minimalist. The decor of the hotel is modern with original features and touches, such as impressive ceilings, beautiful staircase and bar.
The breakfast here was good, with a wide selection for all tastes.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed there for 4 nights. The location is great as it is walking distance to all major attractions but it is an a quiet alley so you dont get too much noise.
The rooms are decent size for Florence with all needed amenities. The breakfast is also fine though nothing much to talk about.
The only problem we had was that of the service levels. Its not that the individuals had a lack of knowledge or interest but I think they were just overworked and were tired. It always took us approximately 10 minutes to get to them as there was usually a que of people who wanted their suggestions and sometimes even more! They should have atleast two people manning the concierge/reception desk usually but there was only one at most times. I did see people loosing their patience standing behind people for 15 minutes and then just walk out to ask someone on the street for directions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Porta Rossa in early September. Not quite easy to find with the car, but that is on account of the car's navigation system. Once found the staff was very helpful in unloading our bags and providing space for the car in a (separately managed) guarded garage next to the hotel. Registration was swift but very friendly: the lady immediately offered to get us slots for visits to the Uffizi and the Accademia Galleries and gave us a list of recommended restaurants which proved to by quite helpful.
Our room was large, comfortably furnished, very clean and - above all - very quiet, or - during the night - as reasonably quiet as you can expect it to be in a hot summer night in central Florence.
The beds were quite comfortable, so we enjoyed two peaceful nights.
Breakfast was a very well stocked buffet.
The only negative point that comes to my mind is that although the WiFi is free it's terribly complicated to get access to it and connection is lost quite frequently. We finally gave up. Listening in to a lengthy and quite heated conversation of an elderly couple with the front desk manager we concluded we were not the only ones experiencing that problem. Really, that could be done better, but it's a minor point in my view and we enjoyed our short stay at the Porta Rossa very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macatawa, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location for this lovely hotel but seriously!! the mangers at the front desk as well as bellman need some basic service training in order for this to be a 4 * hotel. Bellman rudely threw down our bags outside the room change when first room had not A/C. No one ever opens the smudged frontdoor to the hotel for you. We had to ask if there was a bellman to help with luggage while he stood there looking at some paper. The worst though was the guidance we were given as we left hotel to retrieve our rental car. Two hotel employees told us to park in back garage and we could load our luggage. We knew that most of Florence is a pedestrian area but we did not know that it would cost us 90 Euros to enter with a vehicle to load our bags for a few minutes---not only did TWO front desk people neglect to tell us this but they refused to offer any assistance. It was not until we rented the car did we find out the cost of picking up our luggage from the hotel. A walk back and taxi ride with luggage solved this issue but c'moooooon!! There is a reason why travelers ask the best way to do things and this hotel is severely lacking in customer service. Don't expect any help. Clueless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This beautiful, historical hotel is centrally located in the old town of Florence. Minutes walk from the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi, and the main designer shopping areas, the hotel could not be located better.

The rooms are magnificent, and bathroom clean and spacious enough for location.

Inclusive breakfast is very comprehensive. Lots of lovely dining options nearby. Only suggestion would be to request a room on a higher floor, as there is some noise from the street early in the morning. But you get that being located where this hotel is. Highly recommended and would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylieanne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, NHHotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing