We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Florence center!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #31 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Florence center!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed 2 night in this very beautiful hotel, ideally located in the heart on the city. It was only 5 or 10 minutes from any attraction. The hotel service is great, the personal is very kind and willing to help for any request. The room was beautiful, high ceilings, like most old building in Florence, very good lighting and view on the roofs. The breakfast buffet was good, plenty of choice. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    472
    93
    20
    15
See reviews for
321
1,167
77
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights during a trip to Florence- great access from the train station, great location relative to the sights in venice. We were not able to check in early but the hotel held the bags and had them already in our room when we returned.

Great access to all the sights, good breakfast, cool old building.
Bathroom was large, had a great towel heating rack that I used to dry some socks I needed to wash- Rick Steeves would be proud!

The bed was pretty good, but we itched like crazy each night we slept here. I don't want to speculate on what was causing us to itch, but both the wife and I felt it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyOwnBobblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a great hotel, a mix of old and new, chic and eclectic. Modern touches fit well into the beautiful building which has a great feeling of space. The staff are friendly, the location is great, the rooms are spacious and well equipped, breakfast is a delight. Can’t fault it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noplacelikehomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I chose the NH Porta Rossa in Florence for our honeymoon back in May 2013. We couldn’t have been happier with our decision. We booked a deluxe room being that our budget wasn’t huge. Upon arrival, we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite because it was our honeymoon. The room was just gorgeous. I believe the building is an original but the hotel uses modern furnishings. There were two bathrooms, one bedroom, and a living area. Our windows overlooked a cute little street that made for great people watching from the comfort of our room.

The location is fabulous; walking distance to all that Florence has to offer. We found that it was closer to the more “upscale” side of Florence. All of the designer boutiques are literally around the corner. The bridge that crosses the river and provides a gorgeous view during sunset and otherwise is less than a block away.

The included breakfast is the perfect way to start the day although we would have liked to see some plain croissants instead of only the filled variety.

The complimentary Wi-Fi was relatively fast (we were able to Skype with it).

No complaints. NH Porta Rossa is the perfect place to spend your Florence vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in NH Porta Rossa for 4 days and wow what an amazing spot. Everything about it is on point. Location was fantastic, hotel is off to a quiet street but very close to all the main streets. It was a quick maybe 10-12 min cab ride form the train station

Check in was nice, easy and quick. The check in staff was great, very professional and I watched them switch between several languages just in servicing the guests. Quite impressive!

Once we got our keys, we took the elevator to our room. Right outside the elevator was a huge landing. It didn't have a hotel feel , more like being in a mansion somewhere- I guess that holds true since it used to be a palace.

The rooms were nice and spacious. Very clean. Very modernly furnished- red, black, and white. The beds were nice and comfy. It also had a nice big bathroom. The shower was HUGE with a nice garden shower head. Surprisingly there was a lot of closet space, i mean a lot which was nice to have. Wifi was also free and strong.

Breakfast was plentiful and included in our room rate. There were so many options in the breakfast. Delicious and fresh. The cappuccino was sooo good! we had a couple of those every morning at breakfast.

I'm glad we chose to stay here. Everything was great. I don't have one bad thing to say about this place. I've recommended this place to a couple friends who have stayed here and they had nothing but great stuff to say.

I would 100% stay here again in a heart beat. Other than the cab ride to/from the train station, we walked everywhere.

You must check out Slowly - a bar/lounge a few doors down. Its a great place to have a drink, apertivo, or dance the night away. The staff is incredibly friendly. As for Gabby the bartender, he will take care of you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MondeTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Tris is a great hotel, so Wellington located, near all the historical places, the rooms are nice, clean, big and quiet. People in the front desk is really kind and the they also help as to make reservations for the museums. I recomend this hotel for great vacations in tuscany.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank clarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had a wonderful 3 night stay here in Feb. Our room was on the fifth floor. The hotel is a historical building newly renovated but kept the architectural highlights. Our room is perfect with contemporart styled furniture - white, sleek & clean. The bathroom is modern & clean, well equipped. Bed was quite comfy and the room was quiet. We couldn't even hear people in other rooms or walking pass.
The location was perfect and convenient. Walking distance to SMN central station and all sight seeing destinations. I also preferred location like this so i can drop by the hotel to rest from time to time.
The breakfast was superb, with great choices of everything - bread/pastries, ham/cheese, fruits, juices, teas, etc.. There are just little things here & there that made this breakfast excellent.
The room rate is relatively higher than other hotels, but it includes a very nice room, breakfast & wifi, and overally good customer serivce, so I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golligosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing