We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Nearby Hotels
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
US$241
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$587
US$461
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$323
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$261
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$358
US$297
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$335
US$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hermitage(Florence)
US$329
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$546
US$528
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,269)
Filter reviews
2,269 results
Traveller rating
1,620
513
98
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,620
513
98
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationjunior suiteponte vecchiobeautiful hotelan upgradefront desk staffold buildinghigh ceilingswalking distancemodern amenitiesloved this hotelstreet noisebeautiful roomour honeymoonmajor attractionscentral locationold world charm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 2,269 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stayed there from 23th to 24th August with my daughter. During these two days, the staff showed me their positive attitude to each guest - helpful, knowledgeable and passionate. To a pure Hong Konger, the Italian language is rather difficult and cannot be easily understood. The staff taught me a few Italian greeting words. To my 13-yr-old daughter, she learnt where could buy a cup of valued-for-money gelato and rent a segway from a beautiful young lady called Anna Ezia there. As for the morning breakfast moment, we did enjoy the interaction with those staff in the breakfast room. They would not interrupt my dialogues with daughter but indicated their caring say simply asked "one more expresso for you, but how about your baby?.." A kind lady called Evelyn came across my mind right now...
As for the environment and facilities, I think it is extremely valued-for-money in terms of the price. Modern outlook and spacious toilet plus bathroom. If I will visit Florence again, I will definitely consider NH Porta Rossa as a "must" hotel for either personal or business trips.
Grazie Mille.....every smiling face in NH Porta Rossa.
Shirley Woo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldassare S, Responsabile reception at NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for the trust you have placed in our chain NH Hotel Group first of all and for having shared your experience with us regarding your stay at the NH Collection Porta Rossa.

We care a lot about our guest’s experience and want you to know that we hope to have you back again in our hotel soon. For this reason please contact us directly and we will take care about you personally.

All the Team at NH Collection Porta Rossa is willing to assist and make sure you will get great experience during your stay.

Just for your information the NH Porta Rossa seems to be one of the oldest hotel in Italy and it is under the care of the Fine Arts.The hotel was re-opened in March 2010 after two years of renovation works.As you could see many frescos were recovered from the past.

The Hotel is recently part of Preferred Boutique and since April 2014 has become NH COLLECTION hotel, so many new amenities and attractive services.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you and kind regards,

Baldassare Schembri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have stayed in many major cities and towns in Europe & always check in with limited expectations. For a city break, NH Porta Rossa is perfect... No it doesn't have the pool of some other hotels but in this price range you can't go wrong. 95 of us descended in Florence for a wedding, so I have a considered view & wouldn't hesitate to recommend.... If your budget is considerably higher, please see my other review of Villa Cora.

Concierge / reception couldn't do enough for us - booking restaurants, booking attractions, suggesting things & just generally having a smile on their face regardless of who was on shift. My wife wanted to have a nail appointment, we required a printer - NH went out of their way to find them for us. (Particular thanks to Anna & Baldo).

Location is a 5 min stroll from palazzo vecchio, therefore meaning that you are in the centre of town. You don't need a car if you are in Porta Rossa nor do you need to really use a taxi.

If it's not too much extra, add the breakfast to your room - egg station, fresh bakery, salads, cereals - I couldn't have asked for more... We even decided to have some prosecco as part of the breakfast on our last day.

There is a cool little cafe directly outside the front door... Just be careful if you sit in to have a drink... €10 for a beer (but this is nothing to do with the hotel). La Bussola, however, does a fantastic Tuscan pizza - also v close to the hotel! The hotel recommendations are good... But, there is only one which I would personally recommend - il parione (see separate review).

If NH Porta Rossa is on your list then do not hesitate to book - but if someone from the hotel is reading - you need to do something about that guy who hangs round outside.

Be careful of your bags in florence... We lost a bag at Moyo bar & a wallet at Palazzo Vecchio - but this didn't spoil what is one of my favourite cities in Europe.

Room Tip: All rooms have an espresso machine but you get more room in a junior suite...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sully_Caffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is very central. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.
The decor is superb, it looked a bit like a museum, and they have artwork and antiques on display, in the rooms and common areas. The breakfast was really good. The rooms are larger then normal, and modern.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupesh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

When you stay at NH Porta Rossa, you're not just an observer of Florentine history, you're part of it. As the oldest hotel in Florence, with parts of the building dating back 1000 years, this beautiful hotel effortlessly blends the modern with the past. There's interesting architectural features and pieces dotted throughout the hotel which add to the charm and interest.

We stayed in a deluxe room which featured a large, stylish bathroom, a modern take on the four-poster bed, a high ceiling with elaborate, focal-piece chandelier and original stone steps leading up to the windows. It really was a beautiful room.

The breakfast was first-rate as was the overall service, the staff being friendly, helpful and attentive throughout.

Following a jaunt around Tuscany we came back to Florence, but had pre-booked the Gallery Hotel Art. To be honest, I wish we'd gone back to NH Porta Rossa.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are in a different league from the standard ones.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's always such a luxury to have a courtesy tray (complimentary coffee & tea facilities) in a European hotel as it's not always the norm. Located near the river Arno, NH Porta Rossa is close enough to all the landmarks on either side of the bridge.

We had no issues with noise. Our only fault with the hotel was that our room did have a dank smell that kept emanating coming from the drains in the shower which made it unpleasant if the windows were closed for too long.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews