We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #33 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

1) Plenty of beautiful hotels in Italy (this one certainly is). Many are well appointed (this one has superb modern design blending with a late meadiaeval building). Some are even clean and mold-free (this one is). But, in my fairly large and certainly long experience, this is the first (in Italy) with trully impeccable service. In Italy, one finds practically anything except service. Porta Rossa is THE exception. The service is beyond simply "dedicated": the staff are CONCERNED for the guest; their helpfulness, attention, punctuality and constant availability go way beyond the call of duty. The stuff are young and sophisticated (even the bell boys) and their professionalism blends perfectly well with charm and dignity. I had another first in this hotel: both the governess who made my child's bed, and the bell-boy who ran to my car under the rain to show me how to come closer to the hotel – refused their tips!!! Sweetly, gently and gratefully refused. Truly amazing in the business where people paid miserable salaries – particularly in Italy. 2) Excellent breakfast, location, design, cleanliness, location, etc. (car park – only 25€ per 24h!). But service beats it all. I'm going back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neptune30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    487
    94
    21
    16
See reviews for
336
1,198
79
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I was hesitant to book this hotel at first because of the price (160 eur at night is expensive for us). When we got there however, we appreciated that it was perfectly located for both sight-seeing and shopping. Moreover, there were 3 good restaurants that were literally at the back of the hotel - Olivero, Desco, and Nella (sequenced from formal to more casual dining) which we all loved.

Downside is that for the price, the service could have been better. The staff is not as warm, sincere, and helpful as others we've encountered. In addition, there is NO free internet INSIDE the rooms. You have to go downstairs to their lobby for wi-fi, which you have to 'reload' every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtc1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We have visited Florence numerous times but we only discovered the NH Porta Rossa hotel during this year's visit and we have to say that this one is a keeper! First of all the location is ideal and the hotel staff is more friendly and helpful than any customer could ever hope for; the rooms are extremelly clean and tidy and decorated in a high-standard mix & match style (minimal and antique). The breakfast offered is also very very good with clean and top quality ingredients. Lastly, we were also happily granted a free late check-out for all three of our rooms by the excellent people in the reception. Overall our visit to this hotel was a truly great experience at an amazing price and we will definately be returning to this hotel in every forthcoming visit to Florence!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delavita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

After being disappointed with our "5-star" hotel in Venice, we were kindly surprised by the NH Porta Rossa. To begin with, the hotel is beautiful in a way that many other hotels just simply cannot be. The original structure was part of the home of a very wealthy merchant that owned the entire block. The original home has now been split by many owners. One section is owned by NH (can you tell I had a very long conversation with the front desk folks?) It was originally built in the 12 century and you can feel it and see it when you enter the hotel. Many of the historic structures in the hotel have been preserved very well but at the same time the hotel has been modernized where need be very beautifully. The staff are wonderfully kind. I loved the breakfast buffet. They had soymilk at breakfast (yay!!!!!!) and they made me a soy macchiato, which is almost sacrilegious in Italy - but nonetheless, it was very yummy. The location of the hotel was perfect for shopping and dining and visiting the Uffizi and Duomo. I definitely recommend this hotel. It was a little pricey, but worth every penny. The only downside is the in-room wifi is not free. There is a daily use charge. I think it was 13 euros for 24 hours when we were there. However, you can use the wifi free in the lobby for 30 minutes per day on your own device. My only don't recommendations are: 1) Don't try to follow google maps to the hotel; the address is wrong; you have to manually type in the address; 2) Don't visit the Tabaccheria across the hotel entrance on the opposite side of the street - its very very expensive and the pastries are not good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

One of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in. My husband and I stayed here for four nights. The hotel was simply perfect. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are decorated in a Danish minimalist style, not quite my style, but the furnishings were top quality. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a wonderful, roomy shower. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel is located within a five minute walk to the Duomo, and a ten minute walk from the train station, so it is centrally located. We had a junior suite, so it was not cheap, but worth the money paid. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed here for 5 days, 4 nights, pre-cruise. We arrived around 10:30am after flying all night, and waited only about an hour and a half for our room, as check- in is later.
Our room was spacious, ecletic, old furniture mixed with modern,clean, a huge marble bathroom, and very quiet. Loved opening the shutters every morning to look upon the city,, after a good night's sleep.
Cannot rave enough about the hotel staff, so efficient, personable, just incredible, making our stay in the city a delight. Breakfast was very good every morning, fresh fruit, cheese, meats, cereals, hot and cold beverages, eggs, fresh homemade bread, , yogurt, and local Italian pastries.
Great location, all sites within walking distance, and train/bus station only about 10 minutes, in case you want to venture out from Florence or to your next destination.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone,,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We spent 3 Nights at this wonderful property... very well located in the centre of the old part of Florence.. we originally were given Room 103 ( to be avoided at all costs ).. had a dreadful night there ( woken up at 5 in the morning with the activities of the Garbage Dumper & Road Sweeper), & complained about this to the management, who without batting an eyelid, upgraded us to a wonderfully quiet room... the reception staff were extremely helpful & could not do enough for us !!! The hotel, though relatively new, has been very well maintained... the breakfast was super... the car parking facilities were excellent too... all in all an excellent stay... recommended & will repeat my stay !!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyinjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#12 of 411 in Florence
280 reviews
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#37 of 411 in Florence
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing