We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with lots of extras!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel California Florence
Ranked #258 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location with lots of extras!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We are finishing our week here and have loved it! Baffled by the towel complaints. 100% cotton yes thin, but absorbs and drys quick, definitely big enough too.
Big bonus is the breakfast- lots of protein options- eggs, yogurt, meats and cheeses as well as the traditional pastries. Terrific espresso machine as well.
The roof top deck- bar- restaurant serves good food for a fair price and you can't beat the view of Il Duomo!
There are many little terraces on different floors, great to grab a gelato from a few doors down and eat it here.
Our room is beautiful, our kids love it too(11&13) front desk staff extremely helpful and accommodating.
The only negative has been the spotty wifi. 10 euro/24 hours for two devices. You have to sign in each time and can't charge devices when you leave room- electricity goes off.
Overall, pretty, classic, clean and friendly with perfect location- 2 minute walk to il Duomo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 811avalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    208
    133
    61
    38
See reviews for
116
207
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location of this hotel could not be any better for seeing the major tourist attractions in the old town. It is located between the Academia and the Duomo, about 50-100 yards from each.
There is a parking structure (Italian standards structure, not american) right under the hotel. The charge was 28 euro per night to park.
The hotel has charm however it is extremely dated. The beds were basically rollaways brought close together and called a king.
The bathroom was supposedly updated but it was done poorly and cheaply. Lots of cracks in the tile. The one thing I noticed in this as well as a few other hotels in Italy was that the shower had a half door. Half of it was closed while the other half was open and water would splash everywhere (I believe that this is a French design). There is probably something that I am missing but I really hated this design.
The room was clean and we did not have any noise issues from the street.
Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about.

As far as the TV, there is a button under the on/off button with a circle and roman numerals I and II. You can use this button to switch between Italian and English for the language on some of the channels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanzdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I did not actually book directly to the Hotel California. My original hotel had overbooked my room and made a reservation at the Hotel California, which had availability while every other hotel in Florence was booked (that should tell you something). First, the positives - relatively clean room and a good location in the middle of Florence. If the Hotel California was rated a 2-star budget hotel and charged $200/night, it might be a good deal. The problem is, it was not $200/night and it was rated 4-star (by the government - methinks a bribe might have been involved, this is Italy after all). This is most defintiely not a 4-star hotel. The breakfast consisted of cheap, stale pastries, less than 100% fruit juice and very overcooked eggs. The room was tiny, with cheap furniture, a rock hard bed and two tiny little pillows that wouldn't support the head of a baby. The bathroom was about 2 meters square (all marble - money would have been better spent elsewhere) and the towels were thin and more like big napkins. Again, that might cut it in a 2-star, but not a 4-star. I would highly advise you to check out other hotels before booking here. If you can get a room at the Hotel California for under $200 or a larger room for under $300, it might be a good deal, but no way I would pay more. Better yet, Florence is a rip-off in general, try Siena and take the train into Florence for a day visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeniceNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

London ,W4
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Comfortable hotel in the city centre. Easy to walk to all the main attractions.
Breakfast not too great but adequate. Front desk staff very helpful. There is a car park next door albeit rather pricey!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softailtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Staff surley unfriendly to the point of being rude. Never gave you the time of day. We are great friendly tourists (as aussies usually are :). We never complain as we travel 'budget' and do a lot of camping - this was a real treat for us but we were very disappointed.
Breakfast - stale bread and sweet slices/cakes all stale. Bread was wafer thin - toaster very old and just squished it even further so it was like eating wafers!
Fruit platter empty when we went down on second morning half way through the breakfast period so i asked for more fruit and was bluntly told "there is fruit in fridge". I asked for the sliced fruit on the empty platter and was given a huff then waited for 15 mins before a plate of just rockmelon came out. By this time I had eaten my cereal so was not interested. Only Two tubs of yoghurt left in fridge - unfortunately not the flavour i wanted. Fruit bowl in fridge was nearly empty and not replenished and I grabbed the last apple and it was old and soft. Plenty of kiwi fruit left! Tables not cleared - we saw 4-5 tables we liked to sit at but still had dirty plates on etc 20 mins after we arrived. smallest tables I have ever seen for a setting of 4. Hard enough for two med sized adults.
bathroom - lovely except shower VERY small and bath towels nothing like we are used to - these were like linen table cloths - I kid you not!
ROOMS - clean and our beds were very comfy. Lots of noise from kitchen or something. Room in fridge - not even a complimentary bottle of water.
No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Never had this before. Dying for a cuppa. On second night went up to Bar on third floor and asked for a cup of tea - €2 and only a weak brand.
Room compendium - nothing in it basically - very poor. Nothing about the services, if they had room service or even a dining room serving dinner - wouldn't know. Saw a sign at reception which had "dish of the day" but had no idea where that was! Luckily you could eat out for very cheap or bring back some bread, cheese, salamis and a bottle of red wine (plastic cups only in bathroom) for a "dine in" if too tired to go out for dinner.
Lastly but not least - HAD TO PAY €10 INTERNET FOR 24HOURS which constantly varied in strength so dropped out all the time. if you are out and about during the day this works out to only be really a few hours Internet access in that 24 hour period (as I presume most people also sleep) so this is just a blatant rip off!! Most hotels have free wifi!!!!!!
THE BEST THING IS THE LOCATION. could not get any better. But for your money - shop around!!!!! We got a good discount on the room at last minute so were not crying when we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel doesn't look too great outside but it is beautiful inside. The rooms are big and it's like living in an old palace. Beautiful ceilings and the beds are comfortable. We had a balcony that overlooked the Duomo. It's centrally located and you can walk to all the sights and to the train station. The price was great too. I highly recommend this hotel and would come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluevic2542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Florence is a small compact city, so I'm sure lots of hotels have amazing locations. The breakfast was very good and the bed was comfy. The only "problem" I had was trying to leaving at 6:30 in the morning. the front doors were still locked at the street level and there was no light down there. Solid place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#131 of 411 in Florence
597 reviews
San Lorenzo
italhotels ginori al duomo
italhotels ginori al duomo
#247 of 411 in Florence
541 reviews
San Lorenzo
B4 Astoria Firenze
B4 Astoria Firenze
#141 of 411 in Florence
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#189 of 411 in Florence
640 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#122 of 411 in Florence
923 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#242 of 411 in Florence
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Florence

Property: Hotel California Florence
Address: Via Ricasoli 30, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing