We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and cute patio bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel California Florence
Ranked #261 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I couldn't imagine a better location if you want to view the Duomo and Michelangelo's David. We were a family of four (two small kids) and were comfortable here for several days. Easy to hear through the walls though (we had some very happy honeymooners upstairs from us and it was a little awkward!).

I would not rate this 4 stars - more like 2 - but still very clean and comfortable. Staff was not terribly helpful or considerate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Sorry to say but this hotel is not by any standards a 4 star...but store bought breakfast__ stale bread and American breakfast without the eggs,Coz the food warmer is broken...
This hotel reminds me of my hostel..its that bad...everywhere you see signs of "if you do this we will charge your room"....wifi is expensive 10 euros per day and their server kept dropping every 30 min...furniture is century old and queen bed splits into two....not to mention Dollor store dustbins...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank soho567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked into Hotel California with very little notice. The hotel is close to a lot of the sites and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very limited. Seemed to be out of most things causing us to eat items as/or if they became available. We had to pay for Internet, and even after paying, only two devices could access it which was definitely a cause for turmoil amongst the kids. The bathroom was very dated with a tub that had a shower hose, however, you could not stand while using it. It got the job done but not in the greatest of fashions or comfort. The door/window to the patio could not be closed all the way allowing for a lot of mosquitos to invade overnight which resulted in a lot of bites by morning. All in all, the stay was okay and we were there for only two nights.

Room Tip: I think there are probably better choices of hotels available for the cost if you have the time to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKeatings_ofCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After being duped by two other hotels in Florence Hotel Duomo and Palazzo Ruspoli we were finally accomodated by Hotel California which is a decent hotel.Although they call themselves a 4 star which they are not.The common areas are very pleasant and bright and that's what made our stay pleasant.The bathrooms ,surprisingly are nice ,bright and refreshing.The rooms on the other hand are very basic.You have to pay for everything seperately,wifi,water etc.Only breakfast is included.The breakfast buffet is a nice spread and dining area is nice.They also have a rooftop bar which opens in the evening and is decent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prernasinha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we booked it online at booking.com two days before arrival. very easy, no problems checking in. convenient location to Academia dell bell'arte and the Duomo, easy walking distance of the center of the city

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank CupcakeQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in a real hurry working on patchy wifi in Pisa - you get the picture.

Google maps got us there perfectly without any trouble and the bonus of having a parking garage literally right next door to the hotel was great. On the same street as the Academia that houses Michaelangelo's David and the Cathedral at the end of the street - location is perfect.

Staff were really friendly and helpful - we extended the booking (from one night) on a very good rate and they helped us locate another hotel for the final night of our stay when they were fully booked.

Rooms were clean and bathrooms better standard than most - although it did appear that our bath leaked it was fine with a bathmat and we were too busy exploring Florence to remember to tell them.

Breakfast was fine but wifi is extra and extremely patchy we ended up doing most of our planning at restaurants over meals, which wasn't ideal.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Contentnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. The hotel has an excellent location, Is very clean, has very helpful staff and is quiet . Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is good and plenty of coffee and expresso is available.Hotel will call you a taxi , if needed, and it will show within 5 minutes. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 409 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#87 of 409 in Florence
1,853 reviews
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#117 of 409 in Florence
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#130 of 409 in Florence
817 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#146 of 409 in Florence
823 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#99 of 409 in Florence
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Florence

Address: Via Ricasoli 30, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £66 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel California Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing