We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the front desk manager awesome support”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel California Florence
Ranked #260 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the front desk manager awesome support”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

room is cozy , breakfask is ok , and the manager LENO is so support when i ask some help due to my car problem and some reservations (i can only speak english in italy).
it makes me have a awesome trip in Florence without any worry and uncentaintly ! that is the best thing for a traveller!!! betten than some 4 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needacozybed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    207
    133
    60
    38
See reviews for
115
205
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A great hotel in Florence!!! Very central and the rooms are big for European room sizes. Breakfast was good enough, service, and cleanliness was good too. There was a beautiful rooftop terrace on the 2nd floor. A good place to hang out. Would stay here again for sure

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights, but was very disappointed, given this was suppose to be a 4 star hotel. We could not fault the location, as this was close to both Duomo and Galleria dell'Accademia. The room was clean and we had a balcony with a view of the Duomo, plus there was a jacuzzi in the bath tub, which was a nice touch, but unfortunately the good points stop there. There was also a shower in the bathroom, but no shower curtain or socket on the wall to position the shower head, so you got to sit in the bathtub!! The staff where the least friendly people we met on our week long tour of Italy. The breakfast was well below par (for this level of hotel), plus wifi was extra. I would expect this to be included within the costs, especially for a 4 star, everywhere else we stopped in Italy we never had to pay!! The hotel tries to market the great view on the 3rd floor, but this was also disappointing, if you want to see a view of Florence, then there is no substitution to go to the top of the Duomo. Florence is a beautiful place, and we would like to return, maybe during the summer time, but for these reasons above I doubt we will not be stopping in this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I couldn't imagine a better location if you want to view the Duomo and Michelangelo's David. We were a family of four (two small kids) and were comfortable here for several days. Easy to hear through the walls though (we had some very happy honeymooners upstairs from us and it was a little awkward!).

I would not rate this 4 stars - more like 2 - but still very clean and comfortable. Staff was not terribly helpful or considerate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Sorry to say but this hotel is not by any standards a 4 star...but store bought breakfast__ stale bread and American breakfast without the eggs,Coz the food warmer is broken...
This hotel reminds me of my hostel..its that bad...everywhere you see signs of "if you do this we will charge your room"....wifi is expensive 10 euros per day and their server kept dropping every 30 min...furniture is century old and queen bed splits into two....not to mention Dollor store dustbins...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soho567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked into Hotel California with very little notice. The hotel is close to a lot of the sites and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very limited. Seemed to be out of most things causing us to eat items as/or if they became available. We had to pay for Internet, and even after paying, only two devices could access it which was definitely a cause for turmoil amongst the kids. The bathroom was very dated with a tub that had a shower hose, however, you could not stand while using it. It got the job done but not in the greatest of fashions or comfort. The door/window to the patio could not be closed all the way allowing for a lot of mosquitos to invade overnight which resulted in a lot of bites by morning. All in all, the stay was okay and we were there for only two nights.

Room Tip: I think there are probably better choices of hotels available for the cost if you have the time to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKeatings_ofCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After being duped by two other hotels in Florence Hotel Duomo and Palazzo Ruspoli we were finally accomodated by Hotel California which is a decent hotel.Although they call themselves a 4 star which they are not.The common areas are very pleasant and bright and that's what made our stay pleasant.The bathrooms ,surprisingly are nice ,bright and refreshing.The rooms on the other hand are very basic.You have to pay for everything seperately,wifi,water etc.Only breakfast is included.The breakfast buffet is a nice spread and dining area is nice.They also have a rooftop bar which opens in the evening and is decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prernasinha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#132 of 422 in Florence
592 reviews
San Lorenzo
italhotels ginori al duomo
italhotels ginori al duomo
#252 of 422 in Florence
535 reviews
San Lorenzo
B4 Astoria Firenze
B4 Astoria Firenze
#145 of 422 in Florence
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,119 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#238 of 422 in Florence
668 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Florence

Property: Hotel California Florence
Address: Via Ricasoli 30, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing