We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Florence visit”
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boccaccio
Ranked #218 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent just over a week here in April. The room we had was large and comfortable with a jacuzzi as a bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful and you got a nice continental breakfast.

The location was ideal, not too noisy but near the station (we arrived in Florence by train and had a day trip out to Pisa), buses to Piazzale Michelangelo and Pisa airport also left from outside the station. It is also only a short walk to the main sights around the duomo.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were very pleased with our room. We had a nice shower, could have used a little more pressure, but very clean. The air conditioner was quite nice, although it emitted a mild scent, not bad necessarily. We didn't notice any noise as we didn't need to open our window. There was a lovely terrace right outside our door. Our room was on the 1st floor (meaning one floor from the ground floor). There was an elevator and a nice staircase. The breakfast was great. We found a lot of variety as there were juices, meat, cheese, fruit and roll. And the coffee was the best. Served by the ever busy hostess, we could have cappuccino or café latte, what ever we wanted. And the breakfast room was very pleasant. In the lobby there was a computer to use and also we had wifi in our room. The location was one block from the train and bus station. We enjoyed taking side trips. Especially Fiersole! Which was recommended by the front desk staff; and Siena and Pisa. I was a little skeptical about the location being safe but after we (my daughter and me, her mother) realized the close proximity (a few blocks walk) to the river and the central historical area of Florence we were really pleased and found everyone to be kind and helpful. There was 24 hr. staff on duty. We want to thank the hotel for the 15% discount at their recommended restaurant. Which, btw, was delicious and in a nice spot. FYI check your restaurant bill and make sure the waiter has discounted your bill.

Room Tip: "1st floor near terrace"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figuraspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had a great time staying at this hotel - the staff were really friendly and told us everything we needed to know on check-in and provided us with a map of Florence. Great location too - just over the road from the station so not very far to drag your luggage at all.

The room was very nice - free wi-fi and air-conditioning and a nice bathroom - no complaints at all. Breakfast was also good :)

Florence is so compact this hotel was in easy reach of all the attractions - 5 to 10 minutes walk from the Duomo, same to Ponte Vecchio. It's easy to pop back to the hotel for a rest or drop off your shopping or whatever.

Would definitely stay here again - thank you Hotel Boccaccio! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaynorthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you plan on visiting other cities, such as Pisa, Sienna or Bologna, this hotel is ideally located close to the station.It is also a short walk to all of the main attractions in Florence.
We stayed in a superior room and the room was clean and of a good standard. Breakfast buffet was adequate but with a limited choice. We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful.
The hotel offers a discount at their restaurant, which is not on site and not in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If you were planning on getting any sleep in this hotel you will be sadly mistaken! The beds are 2 singles pushed together to make a double and the mattress is terrible! We unfortunately had to stay here for 5 night and it was the worst nights of our lives! My partner and I got barely 3hrs of sleep on the first night and I'm sure as all travelers know after days and hours of traveling to your destination all you want is a good bed to sleep in.

The next day we went to talk to their staff asking if there were better beds or if there was any alternative. The man behind the counter just looked at us and was very rude on saying all beds are the same in a tone like 'what do you want me to do about it' after much convincing he allowed us a couple of extra pillows and blankets so we could 'soften' the bed.

After we attempted to make the beds slightly more comfortable we ventured out about 1pm still trying to catch up on any sleep we could on the concrete hard beds and had a bike your around Florence which was beautiful until I was sick due to the lack of sleep the night before and had to end the tour early. NOT IMPRESSED!

The following nights since then were terrible to say the least! Both of us waking up constantly due to hips and shoulders aching (keep in mind were in our mid 20s) because it actually feels worse then concrete!

So not only are the beds terrible but add on top of that Mosquitos! We had to go out and buy bug spray for the nights.

I've done a lot of traveling in my life and this isn't my idea of a holiday! Having sleepless nights getting bitten all over and rude staff! This isn't what I signed up for!

On the plus side which isn't very big is that it is very well located able to walk to everything which was handy.
There were heaps of hotels in the same location my suggestion if you are looking at this hotel would be to go on google street view and look at the other hotels!

Please avoid hotel Boccaccio at all costs! Not worth it! If you want a good nights sleep don't look here!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hotel is within block of train/bus terminal. Staff at front desk was most helpful. My room was small, but clean and wonderfully air conditioned. Very nice breakfast selection. Only complaint was poor Wi-Fi connection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Location is perfect-easy walk from train station. Once settled an easy walk in to center of Florence. Staff is friendly and helpful. I love the enclosed terrace great place for a drink and snack before dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#191 of 410 in Florence
701 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#163 of 410 in Florence
396 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 410 in Florence
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,486 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#168 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#157 of 410 in Florence
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via della Scala 59, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing