We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stopover”
Review of Hotel Sempione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sempione
Ranked #146 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night and it perfectly met our needs. The convenience to train station and all the Florence sights is it's best selling point. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean and adequate. Breakfast was ok. Our only issue was street noise at 2am but since Italy won its first game in the World Cup that night I can't blame the hotel for the noise.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2genes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room is not very clean. I can find mosquito at room and washroom. Toilet paper stand is not fixed so that paper always slip down to floor. The room photo of website is better than the true picture.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jones L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Super friendly staff, excellent wi-fi, close to everything Florence has to offer, lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. Windows that open to let fresh air in was a plus, the bed was very comfortable. Easy walk to the station for those travelling by train. Breakfast decent albeit limited! would stay here again/recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with the hotel - the location is undoubtedly its best point. It is only 10-15 mins walk to all the main attractions, and 5 mins walk from the main train/bus stops. This means that you can easily come back to the hotel during the day and rest/ drop off your purchases of the day!

The hotel itself is a nice 3-star - it is quite simple, but very clean and comfortable. The beds were nice (Italian beds always a bit on the firm side as we found, but perfectly fine), there was a wardrobe in the room but not much more. The bathroom was very small with a small shower cubicle, but again all nicely decorated and very clean.

The staff at the hotel were really helpful, they replied to my e-mails quickly, and they all spoke very good English.

The breakfast was ok, choice of toast, some fresh fruit, cheese, jam, hard-boiled eggs etc. However, the breakfast room is very small and the tables are very close together, so this is not the time and place to take a leisurely breakfast and lounge, as it gets quite busy if everybody comes down at the same time. Nevertheless, this didn't bother us, as we just wanted to have a quick breakfast and get going to explore Florence.

We arrived in Florence really late at the airport so missed the last bus (which leaves at 22:30) and had to take a taxi to the hotel, which ended up costing 28 EUR. However, on the way back, we just walked over to the bus stop (5 mins from the hotel) and took the airport shuttle. The journey takes about 20 mins, the bus is really comfortable, and the trip cost 6 EUR per person. The bus goes every half-hour.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, it is great value for money, and a perfect base for a few days in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it.
The location is good, 5 minutes walk from the railway station and from where the buses from Pisa Airport drop off. Most of the main sites, such as The Duomo and The Uffizzi, are within 10-15 minutes walk. There are lots of shops and restaurants in the vicinity, as well as the market.
The staff was all friendly and helpful.
The hotel is very clean, and pleasantly decorated.
The breakfast was adequate and fresh, though not a very extensive choice.
The main problem for us was that the room we were allocated was very cramped. Also, the dining room was often too busy for everyone to be seated, and also rather cramped. The tables were very small and close together.
I would however recommend this hotel and consider using it again, but only if there was a room available bigger than the one we had this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

3 star hotel with a high value for money., Very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms, very good breakfast, excelent location in walking distence from all the attractions of Florance - Museums, Churches markets and retaurants.

Room Tip: We asked and got an inside room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in Hotel Sempione for 3 nights during April and we enjoyed it very much.
Excellent location, very clean, good breakfast and very kind and helpful staff.
The location is 5 minutes from the old market and 10 minutes walk to the Duomo.
The room & bathroom were very tasteful decorated and well functioned and very clean.
We will surely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are little smaller but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,285 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#175 of 411 in Florence
1,390 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#64 of 411 in Florence
823 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#108 of 411 in Florence
925 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#112 of 411 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempione

Address: Via Nazionale 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
#126 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £51 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempione 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempione, is located in the historical centre of Florence just 100 meters far from Santa Maria Novella train station, the Congress Palace, Fortezza da Basso (main exhibitions center) and just a few steps from the cathedral and the most important Florentine museums and churches. Our rooms, furnished in the classical style with parquet floor or Florentine “cotto” are all soundproofed and equipped with mini bar, safety deposit box, satellite television, free wireless, direct line telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning/heating, private bathroom with hairdryer, bath tube or shower, linen warmer. The Hotel has a lift and two rooms designed to suit the needs of handicapped guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sempione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempione Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing