We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Clean and Inexpensive Option in Florence”
Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #272 of 420 Hotels in Florence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean and Inexpensive Option in Florence”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel was a good option for a couple on a budget. Rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The windows being open provided a cool breeze and the bathroom was big enough for both of us to get ready in a comfortable fashion.

Short walk from town, but not too bad and it felt safe and well lit at night. Breakfast is not great, but fills you up.

Friendly staff who served us snacks and drinks any time we wanted and let us hang in the lobby with our friends to watch TV and chat. They also participated in some conversations, which was a nice, refreshing attitude we loved.

Only complaint is that a group of teenagers traveling were running up and down the halls banging and causing noise throughout one of the nights. The staff tried to calm this down, but they were spanning three floors and the chaperons were not helping the situation. I'm assuming this is one of the problems with staying in a cheaper hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up and far away from the stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    128
    135
    34
    18
See reviews for
63
123
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Good hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were tidy and they gave us a couple of rooms at the end of the second floor. There was a door at the end which meant we had access to each other's rooms. The only issue we had was the noise upstairs where a group with young kids (a sports team) kept us awake early evening/morning. Otherwise the breakfast was awesome with friendly staff serving every morning. It is a little far from the central CBD which we walked a couple of times. The bus however is not far to catch. Also nearby is a big supermarket to buy any snacks or drinks. Just be aware it closes at 9pm.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the top floor to avoid noise from above. A room also away from roadside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and found this hotel to have very friendly service, clean basic rooms, but no shelves or dressers for clothes. Breakfast was included and was comprised of the standard croissants, cheese, salami, bread, cereal, yogurt and chocolate.

Some nights were noisy with the traffic right outside the window, but I was able to sleep most of the time. It was about a 20 minute walk to the Duomo from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and compared to our hotels in Rome and Venice this was paradise. Hotel is
very nice, staff was great!!! There's a huge supermarket around the corner to buy food and wine and a great coffee bar on the corner. My father had a fever and I bought some soup and staff heated it up for
me in a microwave and gave me a big serving tray too. It's in a quiet part of the city but near a square to
pick up buses or taxis to other parts of the city. I could not say anything negative about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Were overbooked at the Villa Ulivi ( already sent in comments) so we were sent to the Meridiana..................what a lovely, clean. and friendly place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Perhaps my wife and I are easily pleased, but given our professional backgrounds as 911 first Responders ( police and ER nurse), we do not criticize easily and simply loved this hotel. We walked everywhere and found all that we had hoped for. We are about to book another longer stay in May and enjoy a second round of Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent here 3 nights and unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay as well because of the constant noise from traffic in the street and the bad sleeping quality.
We booked at HRS double bed, but we receive two single beds, so we came back to reception and the receptionist gave us the double bed room in the 5th floor sited on the street. We thought that it is more busy than it could be, but we try to overslept one night, unfortunately the traffic was permanent during whole night. My boyfriend did not sleep anymore, I woke up many times during whole night. So in the morning we call to reception and the same receptionist told me (not as willingly) that we can change to other side of the building but there are only rooms with two beds which as he remember we don´t want. I work at 4* hotel in Prague, so I know that this situation can happend, but usually there is some possibility (especially when you have more than 50 rooms. If not for that day maybe for the next one (we stayed 3 nights), but I have to talk with the guest and try to explain. So we stayed in the same room and the next night were completely the same.
Room is decorated nice, bed is comfy, cleaning service is working properly. Just the bathroom... Extremely small shower, sometimes changing of hot and cold water, obsolete hairdryer still falling down the holder.
Breakfast was relatively good, replenished till the end. There is no minibar at the room so we please for some ice at reception, it was always given without any problem.
Receptionist try to be helpful, are polite, but no extra value. One day we asked for possibility to swim somewhere (good compensation of long walking in the city centre). The young man advised some kind of aquapark and wenn we come to the entrance we read that the season already finish (open till end of August). So we came back to hotel, and two other receptionist did not found any other possibility where to swim within whole Firenze. Can´t understand that...
All in all, hotel is not placed well, it´s like 20-30 minutes walking distance from the Duome and the main square. Service at reception is average, cleaning ok and rooms nice.
For potential guest I will not reccomend to stay here as I wrote above.

Room Tip: Avoid to street situated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanka_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiraz, Iran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

the hotel was nive,great breakfast service
the hotel staffs where really nice and polite,the room was clean and neat,the only problem about the hotel was it's position
it was alittle far from the sightseeings,so we had to take a taxi
there was not any public transport stations near the hotel
we had to walk around 20 min to get to Dumo
but entirly all the other things about the hotel were good

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghazaaal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#252 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#214 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#278 of 420 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Hotel Panama
#240 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Property: Hotel Meridiana
Address: Viale Don Giovanni Minzoni 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana is a modern hotel in Florence. It has recently been restructured and is excellent for those travelling for leisure or business, and offers a perfect combination of comfort and convenience. Being situated near the historic centre, everything is within easy reach: the Piazza della Libertà, the Fine Arts Academy, the Duomo (Cathedral), the Uffizi Gallery, the trade fair complex with the Florence Congress Centre and the Fortezza da Basso. The Hotel offers a pleasant environment, with relaxing colours, modern furniture and friendly service which, together with the excellent quality-price ratio, make the Hotel Meridiana the perfect place to stay in Florence, whether for pleasure or business. An attractive restaurant with Tuscan and Italian cuisine is also available. The Hotel has a meeting hall for up to 30 people, as well as an Internet Point service and Wi-Fi coverage. There is also an attended car park reserved for Guests. The Hotel Meridiana belongs to the Panorama group of independently owned hotels. The group was founded in Florence in 1990 with the intention of creating a "panorama" of different options to answer the needs of all types of guest who wish to stay in a prestigious hotel in Florence for either pleasure or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing