We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #276 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

good location is only 15 mins walking to main sites or 1 bus ride. Close to the main train station as well. room as clean bathroom was small, however room was comfortable. Staff is friendly but will not accept late check out. No free internet. If you are a light sleeper request room not facing the street as it is a main avenue with cars going on all day. Value of the breakfast is not worth it you may get cheaper version outside the hotel. Not many maps available either so i recommend taking on at the train station or airport.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    125
    134
    33
    17
See reviews for
61
120
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just an average inn with average rooms. Pretty scant breakfast. Helpful but not smiley stuff. The location is at the outskirts of tourist attractions. Wi-fi is not free, but you can log in and out to save the browsing time you bought.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

hotel meridiana in florence was really the worst hotel i have ever been to in my life!!!
the pictures of the hotel do not reflect what it really looks like!! everything is old and smelly, so many bugs too!!! so baaad!! the shower is also a big problem... so small and the towels were not clean... bottom line:
WARNING!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!
it is THAT bad!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank revital n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Meridiana as part of our Cosmos tour.
Continental Breakfast was average - Cereal, Cold Cuts of meat, Croissant etc.
Included Dinner was quite good - Salmon with Vegetables and Bread.

Out of all the hotels we stayed in through our tour, this hotel is the one I liked the least.

I found the bed comforters were dusty which triggered off allergies. My tour friend found her room dusty as well.

I didn't like the idea that the only way to lock the hotel door was by manual key lock (no latch). We left our room key in the door just in case we there was a fire emergency and we had to evacuate from the room quickly.

There were no English channels on our TV. When I complained about it to the front desk he said there's a problem with their cable TV connection, however when I asked others on the tour whether they had English channels, everyone else bar from one couple seemed to have CNN and BBC English Channels. Consequently, I raised the issue with the front desk again, they concluded that the issue was due to the brand of tv I had in my room (Philipps TV)... I was like 'what tha?!?'.. TV issue was never rectified.

You had to pay for internet access, which was relatively expensive compared to other hotels. There were stores close to the hotel if you needed to get essentials such as a bottle water and a snack.

Overall, hotel experience was average. I suggest you scope out other hotels in the area first.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I found this hotel to be suitable on my recent visit to Italy. Some of the front desk staff were very nice, but others were rude and unhelpful. The room was small, there wasn't enough room to walk between the edge of the bed and the tv table. The beds were also small, and our feet hung off the end of it. The hotel was on the outskirts of the city, but an easy walk to sites, markets, and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Marie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel was a good option for a couple on a budget. Rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The windows being open provided a cool breeze and the bathroom was big enough for both of us to get ready in a comfortable fashion.

Short walk from town, but not too bad and it felt safe and well lit at night. Breakfast is not great, but fills you up.

Friendly staff who served us snacks and drinks any time we wanted and let us hang in the lobby with our friends to watch TV and chat. They also participated in some conversations, which was a nice, refreshing attitude we loved.

Only complaint is that a group of teenagers traveling were running up and down the halls banging and causing noise throughout one of the nights. The staff tried to calm this down, but they were spanning three floors and the chaperons were not helping the situation. I'm assuming this is one of the problems with staying in a cheaper hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up and far away from the stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCF83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Good hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were tidy and they gave us a couple of rooms at the end of the second floor. There was a door at the end which meant we had access to each other's rooms. The only issue we had was the noise upstairs where a group with young kids (a sports team) kept us awake early evening/morning. Otherwise the breakfast was awesome with friendly staff serving every morning. It is a little far from the central CBD which we walked a couple of times. The bus however is not far to catch. Also nearby is a big supermarket to buy any snacks or drinks. Just be aware it closes at 9pm.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the top floor to avoid noise from above. A room also away from roadside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#254 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#233 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#116 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#284 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Malaspina
Hotel Malaspina
#263 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Property: Hotel Meridiana
Address: Viale Don Giovanni Minzoni 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana is a modern hotel in Florence. It has recently been restructured and is excellent for those travelling for leisure or business, and offers a perfect combination of comfort and convenience. Being situated near the historic centre, everything is within easy reach: the Piazza della Libertà, the Fine Arts Academy, the Duomo (Cathedral), the Uffizi Gallery, the trade fair complex with the Florence Congress Centre and the Fortezza da Basso. The Hotel offers a pleasant environment, with relaxing colours, modern furniture and friendly service which, together with the excellent quality-price ratio, make the Hotel Meridiana the perfect place to stay in Florence, whether for pleasure or business. An attractive restaurant with Tuscan and Italian cuisine is also available. The Hotel has a meeting hall for up to 30 people, as well as an Internet Point service and Wi-Fi coverage. There is also an attended car park reserved for Guests. The Hotel Meridiana belongs to the Panorama group of independently owned hotels. The group was founded in Florence in 1990 with the intention of creating a "panorama" of different options to answer the needs of all types of guest who wish to stay in a prestigious hotel in Florence for either pleasure or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing