We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Hotel”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #27 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is ideally located near the Duomo and is close to everything. The room was adequate, the bathroom very modern and the staff extremely helpful. The breakfast was great.

My one complaint was the inadequate Wi-Fi supplied by the hotel. The signal in the room was inadequate, and it was never easy to log on. It did work in the lobby.
Roberta, Oct. 2011

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLM5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Roberta,

thanks very much for yoru reviw. I just wish to inform you that we did have some problems in some floor with wi/fi connection because some access points wirelss stop to work. Two days ago our technician checked all of them and he replaced some of them because they didn't work. Sorry for the inconvenience. Now everything is working in the right way.
Hope to welcome you once again at our Hotel.
Grazie :-)
Bye bye
Antonella Rocchini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

Very nice hotel close to the Duomo. Small but comfortable single room with authentic Tuscan furnishings. Wonderful breakfast included...don't miss it. Staff were cordial and helpful with arranging a day tour of Florence. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our first trip to Florence and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect location, nor a more perfect hotel. Within walking distance to all the major sites, our trek was quite easy. We requested a room away from the street and it was exactly as we had hoped and expected... complete silence. The staff was amazing and very accomodating. Upon our arrival, we requested last minute reservations to the Academia and the staff wasted no time making a call. Will definitely recommend to friends and will definitely book again when in Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

First trip to Florence and we really enjoyed our stay at Il Guelfo Bianco. We had a room on the 5th floor - there are only a few - and it was spacious (almost like an apartment) with a huge bathroom (by European standards) and a view of the Duomo out one of the windows. It almost felt like a loft. We also appreciated the free Wi-Fi in the room although it could be spotty at times. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We loved the location as it was very easy to walk to everything and nice to come back to a quiet space at the end of the day. The breakfast was very good- (great bruschetta) and served in a pleasant space next to the Caffe. Overall I would recommend Il Guelfo Bianco and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was in Florence in October and must say the staff at IL Guelfo Bianco to be very knowlegdable and friendly. I stayed at the top of the hotel and the view was fantastic. The accomendations were execellant and the staff was very helpful in helping me find places i needed to find and places to eat. Francesco and the hotel manager were able to answer all my questions. I hope to make it back to florence, I will be sure to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was our second stay at Il Guelfo Bianco. We returned because we loved the location and found the hotel to be even better than on our previous visit. The service was lovely...friendly and accommodating. The new Caffe Bistro provided us with a pleasant pause in the courtyard while we sipped our prosecco each afternoon. The rooms were comfy. The air conditioning was a welcome treat during our unseasonably warm stay. The breakfast was adequate. The hotel's location, just a few minutes walk from the Duomo is a bonus. We'll return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Recently travelled to Florence with my husband and best friend. We stayed in the apartment suite and were blown away be what we found. Two large bathrooms, a kitchenette, dining room, washing machine. It could have easily slept about 7 people. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was fresh and wonderful, the bistro was equally marvelous and the location could not have been better. We hope to have the opportunity to return one day. Grazie to the staff and to my travel agent for recommending it in the first place! ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollyH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,836 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#84 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing