We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION! GOOD SERVICE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION! GOOD SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in late October. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were polite, friendly, and helpfull. People working in the restaurant and during breakfast hours were very pleasent and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and could satisfy any taste. The cheese they serve during brakfast was delicious.

We only had two concers during our stay: 1) the wireless internet wasn't working in our room, so we had to seat on the hallway next to our door every night to use our devices. 2) the walls were so thin we could hear guests next door talking to eachother or on the phone.

In summary, we were happy during our stay. You can reach every attractions by foot from the hotel and enjoy the night life in Florence.

Room Tip: some rooms have very small window. If it is important to you, make sure you request a bright room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitrablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Mitrablue,

thanks very much for your review especially for the nice words you had for our staff. We do our best to guarantee a lovely stay to all of our customers and we are happy when they appreciate our job :-)

Regarding the wireless, I already wrote a couple of answers to reviews written by our customers and I am sorry you had some problems. Usually wirelss system is working very good but in the last weeks we had some problems in some floors: the wireless access points didn't work in the right way but our technician worked on it and it seems now everything is fine. It's very important for us to know immediately when soem wirelss access points do not work so we can be very quick to solve the problems.
Regarding the small windows: our hotel is housed in a late 15th century building and all teh rooms ar edifferents but every rooms has large windows. Some rooms overlooking the street and maybe are more brighter than other but all of them have large windows.
Regarding the noisy you hear from the room next to yours I please you to send me more details (I need to know the room where you stayed) so I can check it. All of our rooms are soundproof that’s why I will be very helpful for me to know which was your room.
Hoping for welcoming you again in the future, I remain with my best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    490
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
538
1,102
77
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

If your looking for a cosy warm place to stay in Florence, this is it. We spent 5 nights there and could not have been more satisfied! Really nice complimentary breakfast, excellent service and helpful staff were all there to enjoy. But the real plus was the location. A 5 minute walk to the Accaemia, 7 min. to the Duomo and 3 to the Central Market. Maybe 15 min. to the Uffizi. Plus a ton of great restaurants nearby! We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here with family and small children on a long holiday weekend. Instead of booking multiple rooms at another venue, we stayed in the apartment (at a higher price, but well worth it). The apartment had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette, and very large living and dining room with additional pull-out beds. Very clean and spacious with traditional furnishings and original artwork. The room was streetside with an obscured view of the dome of the duomo. Some noise from early morning street cleaning and garbage crews, otherwise quiet. Despite the holiday weekend and typical throngs of tourists in the city, the hotel was not over-crowed and maintained its charm and character.

We arrived by car and used the valet parking service offered by a partner garage. It was convenient and hassle-free for 3 1/2 days at 90Euro. As mentioned many times, the staff is very helpful, friendly, and English speaking as well. As a small hotel, there is usually only one person on duty, thus a little patience is required if other guests are checking in/out or monopolizing the helpful services of the desk. We were provided helpful dinner recommendations and also reserved our Accademia and Uffizi visits (when we made the hotel reservation) to avoid longer lines. They also helped book a Tuscan bus tour, but I recommend booking tours in advance as we were lucky to find an available group at the last minute.

The great location is easy walking to most everything. It is roughly 1 block from Accademia and San Lorenzo Church/Medici Chapel and outdoor market, not quite 2 blocks from the Duomo & Baptistry, 3 from the Palazzio Vecchio & Uffizi and 4 from Ponte Vecchio. My children also appreciated the adjacent McDonald's. The train station is about a 10 minute walk (with a good map) and is the departure point for most bus tours.

Breakfast was included and quite nice. Typical pastries, cakes, breads, salami, prosciutto, cheeses, fruits, and yogurt. Terrific bruschetta and mozzerella was a nice bonus (I can still taste the super sweet tomatoes). Coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, etc. are made to order.

We will definitely stay here again and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Really, the title says it all. The hotel is in a great spot, close to the Duomo, Accademia, and Central Market. Our room was very clean and very large compared to many of the hotels we stayed in Italy. The breakfast was very good serving the standards, but also coffee to order and some fun little treats. The staff at the desk and in the café were very friendly and helpful. The WiFi worked great in the lobby, but not so good in the room.

If you are looking for a hotel in Florence, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtomlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Mtomlins,

thanks very much for your review. We are very happy you like our hotel and thanks also for the nice words you had for our staff. As I already wrote answìering to a review of a coupel of days ago we did have some problems with the wi/fi system in some floors. Now our technician replaced the wi/fi access points and the wireless signal works everywhere. When you arrive here at the hotel we giev you a a password for your computer or smart phone. In case teh password stops to work you can always stop here at the desk and ask a new one. The service is free of charge.

Hope to welcome here again, bye bye.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is by far the best hotel experience we had on our trip. We were in Vernazza in late October 2011 when it and Monterosso were destroyed by a mudslide, causing us to lose all our luggage. Consequently, we showed up in Florence a day late. The staff was so friendly, understanding and accommodating and adjusted our reservation days for us showing up a day late, and having to leave a day early, at no charge. Also appreciated is that all the staff speak English, which is NOT the case other places we stayed in Italy. The room was beautiful and they had free wi-fi which enabled me to catch up on communications. As to location, it's a 10 minute walk to the main cathedral. Four stars out of four in our book.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobR771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Located conveniently to the Santa Maria Novella train station; Close enough that you can walk with your wheeled luggage or backpack. Also within easy walking distance to the Duomo, Academy, and the Uffizi. The rooms were nicely appointed with modern clean bathrooms. We stayed two nights a week apart and had two different rooms. Both furnished with antique accent furniture which nicely complimented the rooms. The rooms are not huge, but adequate, especially considering the downtown location. The staff is very helpful and the common areas are also very clean. The breakfasts are very good, with a nice eating area with plenty of seating when we were there for breakfasts. As with many places in Italy, the Wi-Fi is only available in a limited part of the hotel, but works well and is free for guests (with provided password)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stokessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is ideally located near the Duomo and is close to everything. The room was adequate, the bathroom very modern and the staff extremely helpful. The breakfast was great.

My one complaint was the inadequate Wi-Fi supplied by the hotel. The signal in the room was inadequate, and it was never easy to log on. It did work in the lobby.
Roberta, Oct. 2011

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLM5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Roberta,

thanks very much for yoru reviw. I just wish to inform you that we did have some problems in some floor with wi/fi connection because some access points wirelss stop to work. Two days ago our technician checked all of them and he replaced some of them because they didn't work. Sorry for the inconvenience. Now everything is working in the right way.
Hope to welcome you once again at our Hotel.
Grazie :-)
Bye bye
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing