We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel in Florence”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #31 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great central hotel in Florence”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

NIce uniquely designed Hotel interior. Good rooms, warm, great bed. Very Helpful staff: Federico of the reception, and the breakfast staff. We were staying on the Christmas 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianSarwono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    512
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
560
1,150
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,425 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,798 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have been travelling to Florence for more than 30 years and have visited at least once and often twice a year. We have stayed at accomodations from modest 2 star to 5 star luxury hotels. Several years ago, we stayed at the #1 ranked Hotel Davanzati. We thought the room, the staff, the servce and the location was the best ever at il Guelfo Bianco.

The excellent service began when I sent a total of 8 e-mails asking about the different types and sizes of the rooms in order to decide which one to book. Various staff members responded to my e-mails - very patiently describing the amenities, the decor, the location, the bathrom type and the the size of the room. Daniele seemed to understand what I was looking for - a quiet room with character and charm - and she suggested her favorite room, #226.

We could not have been happier. The room, a deluxe double, was beautiful. It had coffered ceilings that seemed to be 15 feet high, with brick arches separating the bedroom from the sitting room which had a sleeper sofa. My husband kept saying he wanted to buy an apartment just like this hotel room. The king sized bed was very comfortable. There was a huge gilt mirror on one wall and a tapestry on another wall. The furniture throughout the hotel is beautiful and either antique or antique style, while the walls are adorned with tasteful modern art. It is a very nice combination. The bathroom appeared to be brand new and was very attractive, clean and functional.

Upon arrival, we were given a welcome package of a professional, informative Florence guidebook, plus a drink and "nibbles" at their restaurant. We were offered any beverage we wanted and chose a glass of an excellent Chianti wine. The snack was very tasty - bruschetta, fresh, picquant pecorino romano cheese and flavorful salami.

We were there for 3 nights and I looked forward to breakfast every morning. In addition to cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, fresh fruit, homemade jams, freshly baked cakes and various crossants and rolls, they had bruschetta, focaccia, fresh Parmigiano and bufala mozzarella cheese, their own olive oil - which was so fresh and delicious - and crema di balsamico (creamy, thick balsamic vinegar to drizzle on the cheese.) Plus, you had your choice of made to order coffees or tea.

Our room in the back of the hotel was very quiet. Via Cavour, where the hotel is located, now has very limited traffic. There are barriers preventing traffic most of the day, so I would imagine that rooms in the front facing the street are also quiet. There are 40 rooms in the hotel. We were able to see several other rooms when the doors were open for cleaning. Each room seems to be different, but they all seem to be charming.

We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel highly. I am very glad I read the many positive Tripadvisor reviews and booked a room at if Guelfo Bianco. I look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and e-mail staff regarding room type, quiet location or other preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were a large party and only one family not perfectly happy with their room (only ones on the first floor). Rooms lovely and very individual, quiet, hotel perfectly located, service warm and friendly, breakfast very nice. Bathrooms were very nice, and beds comfortable.
All the rooms were just lovely and for Europe, spacious for a couple, some triples a little small, others spacious. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Second floor was great, first not as spacious for the room we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great: just a few minutes from the Accademia, and not far from The Duomo and Uffizi. The rooms we had -- a triple and a quad -- were gorgeous. Ours had a fabulous fresco painted across the enormous ceiling, beautiful furnishings, and a spacious, lovely bathroom. We loved the charming breakfast room and delicious breakfasts (not just pastries and breads, but yogurts, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, etc. and all local, organic, fresh). The small bistro is so warm and inviting with its old brick archway, intricate ironwork detail, and great art. And, last but not least, the art throughout the entire hotel is arresting -- modern in counterpoint to the ancient passageways and warrens of the building. I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiavannaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

That was our third visit to Florence. We stayed at two different hotels before, this time we spent 3 nights at the Hotel Guelfo Bianco, we liked the hotel very much.

The Hotel occupies an entire florentine building. It is elegantly decorated and furnished. We had a superior room, which was very big. The bathroom is also good size with quality amenities provided daily. It is a very solid buidling, so as other florentine buildings. It was so quiet that we had a very good sleep everynight. The breakfast was also a highlight. High quality food is sourced from local tuscan producers, i.e. eggs, cheers, olive oil, ham, etc.

Our room rate includes welcome drinks for two. We went to the bristro after checking in. They provided a platter consisting of cheers, ham, olives etc, complimentry!!! WiFi is free.

The location of the hotel is wonderful, a 5 minute walk will take you to the Duomo, a further 5-10 minute walk will take you to the central station. It is also near Piazza San Marco, where you can catch a local bus to an etruscan town, Fiesole outside Florence, very convenient.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The only improvement I would suggest is to provide tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, or at least a water kettle. I give 4 star rating to the hotel, although it is rated as 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdPinoTrollFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

From the moment we arrived (and were reassured that it was okay to double park on Via Cavour until the garage picked up the car) the staff at IGB was friendly, courteous and helpful and soothed the stress of arriving in Florence by rental car. Our room was very spacious, perfectly clean and immediately ready, with two large triple glazed windows overlooking Via Cavour and providing morning sunlight and fresh air when desired. The building was comfortable, quaint and interesting. Housekeeping was prompt and thorough. Included daily breakfast buffet was attractive and delicious with a nice range of choices although it did not change much from day to day. We used it every morning. Sarah provided pleasant service and a melodious Buon Giorno every morning in the breakfast room.

The desk staff was helpful with directions and suggestions, and the location was no more than 5-8 minutes from the Duomo, San Lorenzo, Accademia, Ospedale degli Innocenti, Medici-Riccardi and Cenacolo D'SantAppolonia. It was convenient to all of the Centro Storico with no more than a 20 minute walk.

We didn't discover the in-house cafe, Il Desco,until our last three nights. Shams created an antipasti/appetizer plate for my wife, daughter and I that night, which we enjoyed with excellent wines by the glass, and we came back for similar happy hour snacks and wine the next two nights. Sarah was there for us both nights, with great service and a recommendation of the chocolate cake with pears which she had baked herself. It was delicious! Although we never ate lunch in Il Desco, it was the smell of a Tuscan stew prepared for the mid-day meal which prompted us to try them for antipasti. Try them early in your stay.

We will definitely return to Florence and Il Guelfo Bianco.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but our room (118) one floor above street level, was quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in Nov 2011. This hotel is within easy walking distant to the major attractions in Florence. Our room was spacious and clean. I sure wish there was a shower curtain or glass door on the shower because the water got all over the bathroom floor. Good breakfast. The staff was helpful, even kept our bags on our last day until we needed to leave for the train.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMM0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,690 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,919 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 411 in Florence
1,743 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#47 of 411 in Florence
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing